We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$1,014
eDreamsUS$1,014
FindHotelUS$1,013
Agoda.comUS$1,013
EtripUS$1,013
Expedia.com
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
328
19
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
328
19
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews billy's lodge wine cellar the river land rover african wines new friends treated like family safari experience once in a lifetime small touches no idea what to expect african bush exceeded our expectations behind the scenes every staff member panorama route south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2022

We had a fabulous time at the River Lodge. Anj and Craig and staff were excellent. Answering all of our questions and allowing space as needed. The guides and drivers were awesome as well. Totally helpful and educational. Learned tons.

The room was incredibly comfortable and had everything needed with style.

Food was great! And plentiful.

This was our first safari and absolutely plan on coming back.

Room tip: Couldn't say enough wonderful things.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tericaprio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa Saad, Owner at Ezulwini Game Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2022

Dear tericaprio, thank you very much for letting us know that you had a fabulous time at Ezulwini River Lodge, thank you too for your lovely comments.

It was our pleasure to be your hosts and we have let everyone know that you felt comfortable, looked after and learned a lot during your stay. The staff will be very happy to know that they have made your time there so special.

Please do stay in touch, you will be welcomed back to the Ezulwini Family should you wish to return at some point in the future.

Take care and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2022

We were treated so well by Lauren the Hospitality was out of this world from start to finish we were pampered. The game drives found several very interesting encounters and the knowledge of the Guides was awesome.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank mackenziewalker2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa Saad, Owner at Ezulwini Game Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2022

Dear mackenziewalker2020, thank you very much for your kind words and for letting us know that you had a great time at Ezulwini it is appreciated.

It was our pleasure to host you at our lodges and we will ensure that your lovely comments are passed on to the staff, they will be very happy to hear this.

Do keep in touch, and you will be very welcome back to the Ezulwini Family should you wish to return at some point in the future.

TVery best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2022

River Lodge is located within a private reserve where landowners cooperate allowing guides to go off road for greater access to viewing animals. (Kruger Nat'l Park does not.) River Lodge has all the amenities in clean private suites. Managers Ange and Craig are professional, knowledgeable and super friendly. Ange is a talented photographer and extremely helpful with camera questions. We traveled with another couple who had not been on safari. Hector & Richie are the best guide/tracker we've encountered anywhere in East or South Africa. We saw the Big 5, wild dogs and every animal we hoped for. Beyond that they taught us about tracks, dung, plants, behaviors, and shared amazing tales from their interactions as guides. Hector & Richie accepted our eagerness to learn. We played spotting games and laughed at silly jokes. Our game drives were seriously fun and allowed us to bond in a way we've never experienced on other safaris. These guys are special people and true professionals that will give you a life changing experience. Billy's lodge hasn't reopened but it looks beautiful too. Stay at few nights at both. Trust me, the Ezulwini experience is special.

Date of stay: April 2022
Thank Bagsrpacked882
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa Saad, Owner at Ezulwini Game Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2022

Dear Bagsrpacked882, we were delighted to see that you had an amazing time at Ezulwini and really appreciate your kind words, thank you.

It was an absolute pleasure to host you at River Lodge and we have made sure that the staff see your lovely comments, which we will also treasure, we are already, and they will be so happy to know that they have made your stay so enjoyable.

Please do keep in touch, you will always be welcome to come back to the Ezulwini Family should you wish to return at some point in the future.

Take care and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2022

This was our first safari so we had no idea what to expect. This far and away exceeded our expectations! We saw so many beautiful animals -- from big game to other bush wildlife. All of them were fascinating and wonderful: elephants, giraffe, lions, leapords, hyenas, rhino and more... Our guide Hector was extremely knowledgable and taught us so much. Our tracker Ritchie spotted so many things we never would have found without him. And both of them made every game drive so much fun.... even on the slower drives, when we didn't see as much, we learned a lot and had a wonderful time. We were also very impressed by the respect they showed the animals and we always felt very safe.

The accomodations were also great. I wanted to be comfortable, but I didn't want to feel like I was staying at a hotel. This struck the righ balance of comfort and authenticity. The staff and service were phenomenal! Ang, Craig, Sue provided top notch hospitality and the food was excellent.

We also really appreciated the help Frances provided in the run up and planning of our trip.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maryannepintar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa Saad, Owner at Ezulwini Game Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Dear maryannepintar, thank you very much for letting us know that you had an amazing time at Ezulwini and very much appreciate your kind words.

It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we have ensured that the staff are aware of your lovely comments, they will be thrilled to know that they have made this an amazing safari experience for you.

Please keep in touch and you will always be welcome back to the Ezulwini Family should you wish to return at some point in the future.

Take care and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2022

After a 2 year delay, this trip did not disappoint! From Frances assisting with the planning (incl everything needed to enter SA), Craig & Ange onsite, Leonard & Shedi guiding us and Sue with all things food; my high expectations were exceeded. Nestled in a private reserve, thus limiting the number of outfits touring the land, we saw the Big 5 plus so much more without crowding and mostly relaxed animals. L & S were amazing guides, tirelessly scanning the bush for wildlife, with an extensive knowledge of both birds and beasts. The guides all collaborate among outfits to ensure guests experience everything. Almost all of my photos posted are from inside a vehicle taken with an iPhone - we got that close. The covered vehicle shielded us from sun and rain (not much) to allow for the highest quality photos in comfort. Not all outfits had covered vehicles.
The staff and amenities were first rate, the food incredible, the small touches lovely, and generally great Wi-Fi although please don’t expect to work while far in the bush. From morning coffee breaks and sundowners of our choice just outside the vehicle, an amazing array of bird and wildlife to spark awe, a wide variety of animals to be seen inside the property, conversations around an amazing bar to drink & chill and share with other guests, and all the small touches to accommodate the dietary needs of our whole party; I could move in tomorrow. Trip of a lifetime is not a cliche to describe Ezulwini as ‘places of paradise’ - there are no appropriate works.
Thanks, Ezulwini for ensuring my first trip to Africa was so special that it is sure not to be my last.
Note: We did see Billy’s lodge from the road but, as it was being renovated during the low season and post-covid slowdown, we stayed exclusively at the River Lodge. Absolutely not a hardship.

Room tip: All rooms are great but spend up for the views for the downtime.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TrailingLael
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa Saad, Owner at Ezulwini Game Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2022

Dear TrailingLael, thank you so much for letting us know that you had an amazing time at Ezulwini and also your very kind words are appreciated.

It was our pleasure to host you at River Lodge and we have shared your wonderful comments with the team, they will be delighted to know that they have made your time there so special.

Please do keep in touch, you will always be welcomed back to the Ezulwini Family should you wish to return at some point in the future.

Take care and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews