We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tremisana Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Baluleni Safari Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Naledi Game Lodges(Balule Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$491
US$453
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ndzuti Safari Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)
Booking.com
View Deal
Rio Dos Elefantes River Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Struwig Eko-Reserve(Balule Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Swadini A Forever Resort(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$732
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$1,010
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$679
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emhosheni River Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
297
145
30
13
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
145
30
13
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviva safarisday safarisunset drivemarc's treehousebush walkkruger parkbush braaithe breakfast arearehabilitation centremorning walkguest houselong drive from johannesburginsect repellentboma dinnerbalule reservestewwalking safari
Filter
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My daughter and I had a great time last month at this lodge as well as Marc's Tree House. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. We did the 5 Day Safari and saw a lot of animals on all days out on safari. The trip was very well planned with little down time. We like to be on the go and this provided that rate of activity. I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants an economical trip with some comforts. The grounds are well maintained and the rooms are very clean. The bar service was a little lacking so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: If you want a unique experience, stay at the Marc' s tree houses at least a couple of nights.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I did a 3 day safari experience at Tremisana lodge recently and it was fantastic from start to finish. The tours are well organised and the guides are highly knowledgable. Bongani took us on the Guided walk and that was the highlight for me...walking near the Oliphants river seeing fresh tracks and Hippos nearby was quite exhilarating. The amenities are super clean and comfortable, the food is great and the schedule is also good allowing for relax time in between adventures. Hard to fault!!
Paul - Australia

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Really enjoyed or 5 days there. Well orgaised trips to make the most of the game park experience. Friendly staff and guides.. Accommodation was in good condition and beds made up dailty (amonst our clutter). Food was good and wholesume - but seemed to have a 3 day rotations - and being there 4 nights - we had the same menu twice.
We would go back there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We did a three night/four day safari based at Tremisana Lodge with Viva Safari and it was a brilliant experience. The lodge is a really nice compromise between a luxury safari and budget camping. If you are looking for the height of luxury then it isnt for you but I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for good value safaris. The rooms are very clean and well cared for, the bedding was very nice which I think is important!

There was plenty of food and it was nicely done (I could eat those soups all day long) and the staff were really pleasant and friendly. It's all nice homecooking style and the one piece of feedback I would give is to not ahve such a big gap between the cold and hot breakfast.

The guides were absolutely brilliant, they clearly care about their surroundings and are incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. A special mention has to go to Bongani - without his experience and understanding of wild animal behaviour we wouldnt have witnessed what is one of the most thrilling experiences I've ever seen (a cheetah/lion/leopard battle!) Bongani - no need to retire yet your eyesight is brilliant!!! Of course you can never guarantee seeing anything on a safari but we saw plenty on the Balule reserve as well as in Kruger. Make sure to ask your guides questions about the landscape, trees and birds (I cant speak for other gudies but Ashley and Wes know lots) as if there are no animals around they know some really interesting stuff.

The early starts are tough but ultimately if you are going on safari to see animals then you've got to do it! There is quite a lot of driving but again you just have to be prepared for that unless you can afford to pay big bucks to stay right in the middle of the action.

I would highly recommend Tremisana Lodge and Viva Safari.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaybug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Hi

Thanks for the great review ! I am pleased that you had such a good time with Viva Safaris.
We have taken heed of your comment re delay in bringing out the hot food. With immediate effect, the hot food will be cooked in front of the guests at the Lapa. This will save time in bringing out the food from the kitchen.
Thank you for your constructive criticism.
Kind regards
Piero
General Manager, Viva Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

As a mature ( 60 year old ) couple, we would like to encourage people in that age group to consider a trip with Viva Safari’s. If you love people, enjoy the outdoors, are looking for a “REAL” African experience and can manage without 5 star frills for a week, then this is guaranteed to be your trip of a lifetime. Tremisana Lodge is comfortable, Patrick and Bongani and the other guides go out of their way to ensure that you see as many animals as possible, whilst also giving loads of interesting info about all things African. Delina is a perfect hostess, the food is nourishing and the warm freshly baked breakfast muffins are legendary!! The dawn river walk, anxiously peering at the slithery trails made by crocodiles, whilst being accompanied by two good looking armed gentleman was definitely a highlight for her. Tshukudu Game Lodge is an unforgettable experience, you may be lucky enough to be offered the wonderful experience of stroking a wild cheetah, the highlight for him!!! We also stayed in Marcs’ Tree House; yes, they do have some with basic ensuite facilities for those of us whose bladders are past their prime! We now have new friends from China, Belgium, Scotland, Canada and America, thanks to our meals around the bonfires.
This will be the best value for money African experience that you could ever have, with people who know what they are doing and can alter the itinerary to suit your individual wishes. Viva Safaris also offer a transport service from Johannesburg Airport, which is reliable and very convenient.
As Aussies who have dreamed of our safari holiday for many years, this could not have been more perfect! Thank you so much to all at Viva Safaris.

Merrawyn and Lindsay Williams

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews