We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient to Everything!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ruidoso, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beverly B
Cypress, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient to Everything!”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed for Spring Break. Great location to base our vacation out of. Went to Ski Apache for two days, Roswell one day and White Sands one day. I was pleasantly surprised with the cabin. It was much nicer than the photos and very clean. The section of the neighborhood where this cabin is situated is very crowded. However, since it is on the corner with an empty lot adjacent, it was fine. LOTS of deer show up in the afternoon around 3:00. They will come right up to you. Would definitely stay here again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie L
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and service.”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family enjoyed staying at this cabin. Although I was a little creeped out at all the spider webs on the ceilings, fans, and corners (I don't like spiders); the cabin was very nice and we had a great time. We enjoyed seeing all the deer and even got to see a huge bull Elk right outside the front door! The DVD player didn't work, but we were able just to watch regular TV shows at night. We would definately stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the deer
Liked least: spider webs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Those darn spiders love to use our cabins just as much as the people seem to. We have gone up with some spray to help keep them away. The Dvd player has been fixed correctly and should be working (I'll see if I can get a copy of Arachnophobia up there for guests to watch). We just love the deer/elk in the area up there, they will come right up and ask for a snack with no fear. Please get in touch when you are ready to come back and we will get you taken care of.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Upper Canyon Retreat in Ruidoso very much. The cabin was clean, well organized, and very well stocked with all the needed items. The size of the cabin and the location were perfect for us and our two 4-legged babies. We enjoyed very much watching the deer that came up behind and across from the cabin in the evenings. We look forward to coming to Ruidoso again and will most assuredly stay in one of your cabins.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the cabin.
Liked least: nothung
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lil place in the upper canyon.”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week. And it was a really nice place to stay. Had 3 grand children with us. Plenty of room every thing worked. Hot tub was awesome.love the smell of the outdoors.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren K
Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice little cosy cabin”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I came here with my husband, mom and dad, three year old daughter and teenage brother for a long weekend. It was small, but had everything you really need and was nicely kept. The hot tub in the back was in good condition, the rest of the house was very clean and comfortable. Everything was in working/good condition although the house and furnishings were older. Bring EVERYTHING if you're planning on preparing meals as there is nothing in the cabinets except utensils/cookware. Only downside was that there was no wi-fi available and it takes a while to get from the office to the cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review of The Upper Canyon Retreat. We hope you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your feed back and I will be inspecting the kitchen and it's inventory this week. The cabin is probably due for some new pots and pans and I want to keep it in good shape. Please come back and see us and call us right away if you need anything at the cabin. We are happy to supply to you during your stay with what may be lacking or in need of replacement.
I will let the owner know that WiFi would have made your stay even better!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing