We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel set in tropical gardens with excellent staff”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #14 of 149 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Attentive staff, comfortable bed, complimentary fruits, bottled water, shuttle, afternoon high tea, free internet, nice pool,Compact gym. Walking distance to shops and many spas, dining spots. Aditya the photographer did a great job at the complimentary photoshoot. Very beautiful manicured landscaped gardens in traditional surrounding. They also have the traditional dance on one of the evenings. Beautiful sunset from the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SanchoRamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear SanchoRamuk,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi during your recent trip to Bali.

We greatly appreciate you taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor forum and we are delighted that your stay with us was memorable. Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for us as we try to achieve even higher standards of service and care.

If you ever return to Bali, please do be in touch. I will personally look after your reservation details and arrangements while you are here.

Kind regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We have just spent 6 nights at the Oberoi Bali and what a wonderful experience we had. Our Lanai Garden Room was spacious, with a beautiful bathroom, comfy bed and pillows. Daily housekeeping and a nightly turndown, with fresh fruit and ice brought to the room every day. Every single staff member greeted us with a beaming smile and remembered our names. The surroundings are like a beautiful garden oasis, with fountains and ponds with fish. We loved just lazing by the pool during the day, and the service by the staff there was exceptional, fruit sticks and frozen jellies were on offer during the day and we were always provided with bottled water.
The a la carte breakfast was to die for, so many choices, different cuisines and when I asked if they happened to have some Vegemite (I had an Aussie craving) out it came.
Every afternoon there was a complimentary afternoon tea, where you could witness a traditional activity. We enjoyed drinks at sunset at the Frangipani Cafe, which also has a great selection of light meals, and we loved the traditional dance on Saturday night.
Busy Seminyak with its many restaurants is only a 7-10 minute walk away, we dined out a couple of nights, but we were always so happy to be able to come back to the peace and beauty of the Oberoi.
All in all a highly memorable stay at the beautiful Oberoi Bali.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Paul B,

It was our pleasure to have you stayed with us at The Oberoi, Bali while celebrating your 50th birthday and we are delighted to learn that the experience was perfect for you.

We are delighted that our Lanai room with its amenities, Housekeeping services, gardens, pool services, breakfast quality and delivery, afternoon tea, drinks quality, resorts location and warm services extended by the team members here have all met with your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for staying with us, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the future.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

On January 4th this year we returned to Oberoi in Seminyak after a 12 year gap.
Unlike us who had aged 12 years, Oberoi had remained beautifully preserved.

Oberoi is an oasis in seminyak, the staff are superb and the service is second to none.

You can watch the sunset from the bar, eat delicious food by the pool, being spoiled in the spa or watch traditional dancing in the historic amphitheater. No matter what you do at Oberoi, it will be just wonderful!

What I love the most about the Oberoi is that I never feel I have to leave the hotel.... just heaven!
I look forward to returning to the Oberoi Soon.

❤️

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kensingtonyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Kensingtonyogini,

Thank you for again staying at The Oberoi during your recent trip to Bali, after your previous stay with us 12 years ago.

We are delighted to learn that you found the hotel to be still as beautiful as you had remembered and we greatly appreciate you taking time to post your review. Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for us as we try to achieve even higher standards of service and care.

We look forward to have the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Beautifully landscaped property with nice lanau rooms and lovely villas. the Lanau rooms are very luxurious with a shower and sunk in small tub. also if it rains one can have a shower in the open.Rooms are plush and very comfortable. Some of the villa rooms have their own private pools.
The beach area facing the hotel was clean even though the beach other than in front of the hotel was pretty dirty.
Breakfast is included and is Ala-Carte and quite magnificent. The only shortcoming was in the taste of the indian food in the menu at dinner time.

Room Tip: if one can afford it then go for the villa room with the private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kunal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Kunal B,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi, Bali recently and for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor forum afterwards.

We all here are very happy to read that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you were satisfied with most aspects of your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding Indian cuisine served during dinner time. We do try to have some basic Indian dishes and do conduct regular training with the Indonesian chefs on how to prepare some Indian dishes. We are sorry that you found the quality to be below your expectations and thank you for identifying an area where you feel improvements can be made.

Thank you once again for sharing your constructive feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali once again.

Kind regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

This really is a beautiful, albeit older, property, with the loveliest setting. The staff is very friendly and efficient. We did experience very good service while staying at the Oberoi. However, two people of our party got sick (diarrhea and vomitting), and considering we did not take any meals outside the hotel, we do believe it to be the hotel’s fault. We heard from some of the staff we were not the only ones experiencing similar problems at the time. We communicated this issue with the management who assured us they take all the necessary precautions to guarantee absolute food safety. However, based on our experience there was a flaw in these procedures.
Other than this the beach (even though really beautiful from the distance) was not clean during our stay. I do understand this is a part of a larger problem of waste management and sea pollution in Bali, but still, if you like to spend time playing in the waves, be advised the ocean is not really swimmable (unless you enjoy plastic floating next to you while in the water).
On the brighter note I have to say the a la cart breakfast was really wonderful, and among the best while on the island. The afternoon tea with cultural activities was also lovely.
Overall, even though this is a really nice property, we would probably not return, as we believe there are better places in Bali.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank LittleMissSmith_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear LittleMissSmith_2010,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi on your recent visit to Bali and for posting your review on Trip Advisor forum.

We are delighted to receive your compliments on the resort’s setting as well as staff attention and courtesy extended to you during your stay. On the contrary, we are truly apologetic to learn that two people in your party were ill while staying here. The local hospitals have reported that a virus has been sweeping the island and many people (guests, foreigners and natives) were effected. I assure you that the health and safety of all of our guests and staff who serve them is paramount. All certifications and training in regards to hygiene are regularly conducted and tests carried out on all food handlers. I am truly sorry that two of your party were ill whilst staying with us.

We are sorry to note that the beach was not to your expectations. Each year, usually in December, trade winds shift and start blowing on to Bali from the west. Additionally, heavy rains begin at this time of the year and flush out Bali’s rivers and ravines where illegal and improperly discarded rubbish from all corners of Bali ends up in the sea and on beaches. This mismanaged waste problem and the pollution of Indonesia’s beaches is indeed sad. Indonesia is only second to China in marine pollution offences. We assure you that The Oberoi, Bali is at the forefront of educating the community, lobbying the government and doing our best to keep up with the rubbish washing on our beach. We are very sorry about it.

We are sorry to learn that you feel there are better places in Bali. However, if your travel plans bring you to a place where there is another Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in other parts of the world, or you change your mind about Bali, I would appreciate you letting me know. I would be delighted to offer you my personal attention with your arrangements.

Sincere regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 149 in Seminyak
3,624 reviews
0.6 km away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#10 of 149 in Seminyak
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#7 of 149 in Seminyak
1,847 reviews
0.5 km away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.3 km away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 149 in Seminyak
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $437 - $684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing