We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day visiting W resort”
Review of W Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Bali - Seminyak
Ranked #20 of 149 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Went to see this property as a day guest. It is beautiful. We were able to use the lounges and pool as long as we purchased drinks. They give you a wrist band and a pool towel and you are able to swim I the pool. It was a great few hours we spent, lovely and spacious grounds,staff attentive. I had the yummiest mocktail, beat the heat, and we were all having such a lovely time we had lunch here as well. Servings were generous and food quality amazing. Yes pricy for Bali,but well worth a day treat and a little luxury !!! Loved it. Recommend arriving by 11am to ensure you can get towels and a lounge!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward001, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Hello Megan M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak as a day guest. We hope to welcome you back to stay as well next time around.
All the best,
Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,413 of 3,621 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2015

I visited the Ice bar on Saturday night as per the website's advertised 2 for 1 cocktail and canapé package "Sunset on Ice". I was thrilled to be able to experience this stunning resort as I was staying at a nearby property catering more closely to my budget. The staff were extremely friendly and cocktails were delicious, however, despite our two enquiries there were NO canapés on offer. I wouldn't usually be too worried about such a small detail but considering the rave reviews and the 5++ status this resort commands they should be cautious of false advertising.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward001, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Hello there MayLiana,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak. Sorry to hear that you were not offered canapes at Sunset on Ice - especially since this is a part of the daily menu offering. Please note I have taken this up with the team to ensure this does not happen again in the future.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best,
Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I'm SPG Gold for Life near platinum for Life and been to many W properties including W Koh Samui and this is hands down one of the best run resorts out there. My wife and I travels were initial planned for April and had to rebook for June and working with the GM Craig was nothing but the most pleasant experiences. He was so personal and took care of us. We travelled in June for my wife's birthday and upon arrival we had a beautiful dinner setup overlooking the beach and the whole staff came out to sing happy birthday and even up in the room had cake and a lucky balloon to send off our balcony sung by Tyo and Hendy. It all made her feel so special. During out whole stay Tyo and Hendy ensured we were taken care of everyday. We had beautiful cabana overlooking the ocean everyday and you truly can do as much or as little as you want to enjoy your stay here. Breakfast was as all the other reviews advertise for Platinum and it's a must to partake in this feast. They have so many options and if there's anything you don't see they'll do the Whatever Whenever and try to make it for you. The location is great in Seminyak still plenty of restaurants/bars nearby to try but away from the Cancun type feel of Kuta. Pool staff was amazing and you get little buzzers to page them when needed so never in your face or pressuring you like other hotels.

We stayed in a Marvelous Suite and there's only 4 on property but one of the best views of the Indian Ocean and watched the airplanes landing at airport in distance and sunset by evening.

Very secure property with security always out on beach during day/night to keep non-guest or hawkers away and a security checkpoint off the main road as well.

The beach is also as advertised as quite dangerous especially during high tide and would not recommend for swimming. I went up to waist and could feel strong pull but beautiful nonetheless to hear the waves crashing during the day/night. But we went for nice beach walks in morning and beach is fine for walking.

Internet was great for Bali expectations. I was able to stream the Blackhawks live during the Stanley Cup anywhere in the hotel. Watched from our beach cabana with no issues.

We also took the arranged airport shuttle for $29 the driver was there with clear W sign and had no issues and was much easier than dealing with all porters and cab lines. As of June they waived the airport arrival tax when we arrived we did not have to pay the $35 fee pp upon arrival (only for some countries the US & UK for sure) but this was brand new as of our arrival but nice surprise nonetheless.

On checkout we couldn't do a late checkout in the same room since we were heading to Ubud for another week but they arranged for us to have a garden room so we could enjoy our last day and have place to change before checking out.

Pro's:
-Staff was the friendliest we met compared to Thailand their English varied but was quite strong overall and they never were not smiling or eager to help and we just enjoyed talking with them to learn about the Bali culture overall and they are happy to talk and learn about the U.S. as well.
- Large pool with large rafts available to lie on
- Platinum Breakfast buffet one best out there
- Cabanas on first come first serve basis
- Buggies to drive you to/from the main entrance to the hotel
- Fast Internet
Con:
- Can't control it but definitely not a swimming beach but can walk down to Kuta is prefer more safer waters for surfer etc. is ~45 min walk one way but nice morning walk

Room Tip: Marvelous Suites are worth the points/costs but anything with Ocean View will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward001, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Greetings Patrick S,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your detailed, enthusiastic feedback. I am delighted to hear that you and your wife truly enjoyed your W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak experience and that the talent helped make for a memorable stay. We are always thrilled to help contribute to special occasions and create lasting W memories. We do hope to welcome you back for more wow moments soon.

All the best,
Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Me n my friends were staying here a month ago, we got a beach view room and quite happy with the view. The pool is also nice and refreshing. What we don't really like is the room, it's too ordinary for the price that high, the interior are minimalist and the bathtub is too simple...Ooh n the spa also so so... However, we also like the toiletries, it's very complete and smell wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deeana_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward001, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Greetings Deeana_L
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad you appreciated the ocean facing view and enjoyed your poolside experience. I'm sorry to hear you were not wow'd by our guestroom design concept which are often a highlight for our guests. Design is a passion for the brand and is a modern interpretation of Balinese design. However, we do hope to welcome you back for more wow moments soon.
All the best, Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the "marvelous 1 bedroom pool villa" for 2 nights. They were definitely the best 2 nights of our trip. Not only is the villa impeccable- the pool, day bed, King sized bed, bathroom- the service truly made our experience memorable. Staff was so friendly and willing to assist you at all times. W have a policy of "whatever whenever" and this really is the case. They are happy to escort you around the hotel and do anything to make your stay comfortable. Our villa was cleaned twice a day with all amenities replaced. They also provide you with 8 drink bottles daily which was so handy. We had a massage at the W away spa and it was the best massage we have ever had. The fire restaurant was great, as a vegetarian I found it difficult to find some great food that didn't make me sick. Fire bar has its own vegetarian menu - just another small tick on a large list of positives that W provides that sincerely increases expectations. 5 stars. Booking again as soon as I get home!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Emmadavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward001, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Greetings EmmaDavenport,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your positive feedback. It sounds like you were truly able to experience all that W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak has to offer. We do look forward to welcoming you back for more wow moments soon.
All the best, Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.1 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#10 of 149 in Seminyak
1,631 reviews
0.3 km away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 149 in Seminyak
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#14 of 149 in Seminyak
1,746 reviews
2.5 km away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.7 km away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#7 of 149 in Seminyak
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bali - Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $359 - $806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing