We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“KRAAL HOUSE AT BASTIAANSKLOOF NO TV NO wI-fi NO...”
other traveller has booked this property
India House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
India House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
India House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wellington, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bobby G
Capetown
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“KRAAL HOUSE AT BASTIAANSKLOOF NO TV NO wI-fi NO PROBLEM”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Kraal cottage is a self-catering, one bedroom cottage, which has been decorated to a high standard – great for a romantic escape! It is situated in one of the loveliest parts of the 2500 hectare estate with access to all the hiking trails and river pools on the property as well as having its own private river pool.
We were welcomed by the staff and introduced to the facilities etc. The cottage was spotlessly clean and so was the barbeque equipment.
Plenty of fire wood was made available, only stayed for one night but felled refreshed, good to get away from cell phones and TV for at least a day and hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness, private and no cell phone reception or TV
Liked least: price
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A secret hideaway in Bainskoof - magic setting!”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a long weekend here with friends at the end of June. This gorgeous house accommodated two adult couples in the two main rooms, and two double bunks in the smaller third room for our children.

It is a little piece of heaven in Bastiannskloof Private Reserve.

Our hubbies did loads of mountain biking over the Bainskloof Pass, into Wellington, and went as far as Doolhof. Even us girls went on a freeeezzzzzziiinnnngggg ride up and down the pass one morning. What a beautiful way to experience a most impressive feat of engineering! We felt like such heroes in the cold rain!!

The house is magnificent. Spacious rooms, BEAUTIFULLY decorated! A huge fireplace kept us cosy in a lovely lounge, with loads of books and magazines to read. There is also the most fabulous, well appointed, self-catering kitchen with a Gaggenau built-in coffee machine, Le Creuset pots and pans, and Kitchen Aid appliances, plus a stash a fabulous recipe books. This is a true foodies retreat.

There is a gorgeous pool, which the kids tried! But freezing in Winter naturally, will be magic in Summer, especially being able to chill on the loungers overlooking that gorgeous view. We did a lot of exploring within the game reserve. You feel like you are the only people on earth when you stay here, despite another tiny cottage being nearby.

The only drawback was the amount of load shedding we experienced that weekend (obviously out of management's hands), but then on top of this, the electricity went off all day on the Sunday due to ongoing council maintenance. Something we think the management was aware of, as apparently they received an e-mail about it, but the message didn't filter through to us.

We also had problems with lack of hot water and the solar geysers had to be reset a few times, possibly due to load shedding. Fortunately there is a big gas cooker for meals, and a Le Creuset kettle so you can have a cup of tea while load shedding occurs. Being all day without electricity though was not fun. I would suggest a schedule of the loadsheddding for the area be placed on the fridge, as we found it difficult to figure out which of the areas the property fell into, Breerivier or Wellington.
We will definitely return to this little bit of heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djjenson
Middle East
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Hard To Find South African Experience”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Kraal cottage for two with our baby on our way from The Karoo to Stellenbosch. The cottage is very cool, lovely interior, while the actual views and surrounds are so good and best of all zero tourists. The owner arranged a picnic basket and even meats from CT. We enjoyed the picnic by the private water hole. This is an experience very hard to replicate and so unique, that I would say its a must for CT visitors. (Note the odd spider kept my Wife on her toes, but that's the pice for seclusion)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BjideO
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I visited India house for lunch as part of. a large group. Lunch was excellent, prepared by the chef. She used many herbs and plants available on the Bastiaanskloof estate, and served up a 4 course meal that was innovative (at least to us) and delicious. The owners' dedication to preserving local flora and fauna is admirable and should be supported.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing