We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian options”
Review of Field & Fork

Field & Fork
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Field & Fork derives its name from the culinary vision of bringing locally sourced quality produce from the field to your table. Chef and owner Francois du Rand serves these ingredients with a great passion for food and a dash of French flair. Field & Fork is located in Swellendam's heritage area and forms part of the Drostdy Museum. Steeped in history and oozing character, this restaurant brings you modern style bistro food with panache. The menu is small and changes often but caters to all palates. Our wines as our food, are only sourced locally from award-winning wineries. Welcome to the Field & Fork.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great setting and wonderful service. Staff very pleasant..would be good to expand with regards to vegetarian options.
Good luck for the year ahead

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank 583machelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2021

I visited with a friend a few days before New Year. Staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. To start with I ordered smoked salmon and my companion venison carpaccio. Portions were small but of course those are pricey items. For the main course I ordered trout with warm nicoise salad. Very well executed except there was probably too much of an abundance of potatoes and not enough of the other vegetables, My companion ordered the lamb rib chops which were excellent in all respects, tender, juicy and full of flavour. Definitely a venue to visit in Swellendam.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peterbD3015JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020 via mobile

Our second visit to F&F. The wine list is concise but a bottle of red, white and Rosè from a neighbouring wine estate are offered.

The menu comes with 3 options; 1,2 or 3 courses to opt from.

The value is fantastic and service professional but endearing.

Paulette was opinionated and well versed about the area, wines and what the chef would have us eat. We trusted her judgement when choosing each course and she couldn’t be faulted.

Food is pleasantly presented but not “fussy” classic combinations are used for the courses.

Think Salmon Nicoise and Duck with Pomme Purée.

A recommended spot for any visitor. (Bill came to R891 including 10% gratuity) a steal for two people.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank HospitalityHedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2020

Arrived late one night after a long drive. The kitchen was actually closed. They opened it up again, and served a generous and tasty meal. Definitely going back.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hankvonhelvete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020 via mobile

We are in this charming building , part of the museum and had beautifully prepared food served by friendly people. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank ElaineA643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Field & Fork also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Field & Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.