We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very enjoyable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Cottage

View of Hottentots Holland mountain range from property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Hottentots Holland mountain range from property
Dining room table with comfortable seating for 4 Lounge with aircon, flat screen TV, Ipod docking station and DVD player
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View of Hottentots Holland mountain range from property
Dining room table with comfortable seating for 4
Lounge with aircon, flat screen TV, Ipod docking station and DVD player
Kitchen with washing machine, microwave, large fridge, oven and stove
Queen size bed with percale linen changed every 5 days
Dressing table with roses from the garden
Heated towel rails
Proudly South African luxury Charlotte Rhys toiletries
Ensuite shower room with heated towel rails
Private patio in summer
View of the cottage from the driveway
View of cottage garden (winter)
View of nature reserve from our road
View of Helderberg mountain from outside our gate
View of nature reserve from our road
View of nature reserve from our road
View of kitchen garden and Helderberg mountains from cottage
Flowers on the patio
Flowers on the patio
Entrance to Alfie's Cottage
Jasmine covered trellis in private garden in summer
Views from private garden in summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Somerset West, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Cacela1
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We spent a very pleasant and comfortable few days at this property. Jen, the owner was most welcoming and helpful in every way which was much appreciated. She gave us lots of suggestions of where to visit etc. and did her very best to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately, due to the drought things are very difficult with regards to any water usage and of course all gardens/outdoor spaces are suffering.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
Thanks so much Jackie and George. We loved having you staying with us and want to thank you so much for your understanding of our dire water situation. Hopefully by next year we would have had some much needed rain! Please visit us again when you are next in the Cape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1960bt
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
“A really comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I really enjoyed my extended two month stay at Alfie's cottage. Really a comfortable cottage with beautiful views of the nature reserve. A truly tranquil setting. The hosts, Jen & Charlie are really friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thanks for the feedback Brian. You were such a relaxed and easy guest we loved having you here to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D
1 review
“Back to nature”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Most enjoyable stay. We used to live in the neighbourhood many years ago, so it was sort of being back home.
The cottage is very centrally located but a car is essential.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thanks Marc and Michele for your review. We loved having you to stay and was so special seeing you relive your memories of the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice place to stay longer”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Me with my wife spend three weeks Alfie Cottage. The accommodation was brilliant for us. Our hosteess Jen and our host Charlie were really nice and helpful. In no case, can not forget about the housekeeper Melody, she was invaluable to us. Greetings from the cold in Finland, Kari and Fluffy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Melody has read it too and says thank you so much for the kind words - it means so much that her efforts are appreciated. We hope to see you again - sending some sunshine your way!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisnab2...
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
“A home away from Home”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed at Alfie's cottage for 3 months while i waited for my move to come down to Cape Town. Typically it wasn't a vacation, but it sure felt like one. Waking up every morning at the foot of the nature reserve, surrounded by the most beautiful mountains, was a blessing.

Jen, the owner, went out of her way to make my stay as comfortable and as memorable as possible. The cottage was neat, fully equip and had a warm homey feel to it. (the bed might even be better than my own one).

On the lonely nights, Abby (the family's dog) would keep me company.

I was actually sad when the 3 months had past and i had to be on my way. I arrived there as a guest, but left feeling like family.

Jen, Charlie, Chloe,Tom and Melody, thank you for making my first 3 months in CT warm and welcoming. I couldn't ask for better, and will recommend you to anyone!
you guys are awesome!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The homeyness and the beautiful surroundings
Liked least: that i had to leave
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;