We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Houtbay landmark with a view and fantastic quality”
Review of Mariner's Wharf

Mariner's Wharf
Ranked #6 of 57 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Mariner's Wharf is the first harbourfront emporium in Africa and consists of the upstairs 360 seater Wharfside Grill restaurant, the downstairs fast- food Seafood Bistro, nautical gift shops, Bakery and Fishmarket.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Mariners became a historic landmark in Houtbay over the years and continues to serve fantastic, fresh and tasty seafood that makes it a must-visit. Edgar, in the photo will be one of the team giving you service with a smile (behind the mask)

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank MaesonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun B, Marketing at Mariner's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear MaesonM. Many thanks for the positive review. We appreciate your custom and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Tricia Francius, PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,651 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

The battered hake and chips is fabulous family treat.

The food and magnificent view and setting is indescribably beautiful.

A must visit

4.5/5

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank abkarolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

Tried the chilli prawn soup, which was good. The seafood curry was the disappointing dish. Definitely not a curry but seafood thrown into a tomato sauce.

Note that the restaurant is called 'the Wharfside Grill'. There is no mariner's Wharf restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank doublefrangelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
590shaunb, Director at Mariner's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello

You are quite right, the restaurant is Wharfside Grill @ Mariner's Wharf. The seafood curry is one of our top selling dishes which has a light curry with a tomato base. We have asked our chefs to add more spice and cook it longer so it can fuse better as a curry should. The customer who likes a stronger curry can ask the chef to do it to their taste and he will oblige.

Regards

Shaun Bloch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020

Mariners Warf, Hout Bay, Cape Town the ladies toilets were discusting, the sanitary bins were over flowing and stinking

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Jeanclarkcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
590shaunb, Director at Mariner's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jean

Thank you bringing it to our attention and sorry for the bad experience. We assigned extra cleaners to the toilets to sort this out over season. I trust your meal was good though and you can return knowing our toilets are clean.

Regards

Shaun Bloch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2020 via mobile

It’s best restaurant for me in houtbay. Grilled Kingfisher prawns with garlic. O meu deus)). It’s definitely recommended

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank qim_mota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariner's Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Mariner's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.