We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
512
114
35
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
114
35
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country kitchen merlot room richard branson wine tasting our honeymoon cap classique welcome drink hotel restaurant complimentary mini bar stunning hotel stunning views hotel guests cape town main restaurant overlooking the valley cellar tour complimentary shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018

I rate this place with 4 stars - which means it is still very good - but is is also not cheap. I understand the rooms are soon being renovated, what makes sense. Very nice location overall, although not exactly in the centre. But they offer shuttle service. Nice pool area (but cold water). Breakfast was ok, not overwhelming (not that much of a choice of cheese and meet). Staff is very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sharkdive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Sharkdive1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your four star review, we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mont Rochelle! The team were delighted to hear that you thought they were friendly and attentive, and we all wanted to thank you for your comments on the setting and pool. Thank you too for your feedback on the breakfast and the rooms, and please rest assured that we take all guest feedback on board to help us improve in the future. We really hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Room was beautiful, excellent décor, amenities, mini bar, cleanliness, everything was perfect. The room was cleaned and serviced twice daily with mini bar replenished, Lighting is outstanding, bathroom décor, towels, etc was excellent. All needs were catered for.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marlize K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Marlize K,

I don’t think we could ask for a more perfect review, thank you for sharing it with us! The whole team were delighted to hear your kind comments about your room and that all your needs were catered for. We only hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back one day soon!

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Really a perfect experience with beautiful rooms, premises and good food. The service is excellent with very welcoming and helpful staff. Close enough to town for a nice walk. We went for the Franschoek Bastille festival and this was a wonderful event and perfect hotel for this weekend.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Riekie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Riekie S,

I don’t think we could ask for a more perfect, beautiful and excellent review so we wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing it! The Bastille Festival is one of our favourite weekends of the year, so it was only a pleasure to host you during the celebrations. Our favourite part of your review was hearing that you thought the team were welcoming and friendly because that’s exactly what we aim for! On behalf of the whole team, we hope to see you again one day in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Mont Rochelle for one night on my own. The welcome on arrival by the reception staff was wonderful and warm and set the tone for a fantastic nights’ stay.

I had an incredible massage by Bronwyn at the spa. I swear I could hear angels singing when Bronwyn started working her magic on my back!
So very worth it.

Dinner at Miko was perfect with a fine dining atmosphere, service and food but prices that are reasonable given the location and experience. The food at Miko was incredibly tasty without being overly fussy as fine dining can sometimes become. Brilliant dinner and service.

My room was wonderful, extremely spacious and with spectacular views. Staying at Mont Rochelle truly feels like staying in a very luxurious private home but with all the services of a 5 star hotel. It is an intimate and extremely welcoming environment made extra special by the extraordinary team of people who work here in all areas of the hotel.

The only negative (which I suspect is unfortunately beyond the hotel’s control) was the incessant barking of dogs belonging to a nearby/adjacent farm. The barking was non-stop day and night and given the tranquility of the Mont Rochelle property and surrounds, sound does travel. I was in room number 30 facing said adjacent farm/tennis court side. Perhaps a room on the other side of the hotel will not have this issue?

Meeting the resident cat Blom on my departure more than made up for my interrupted sleep and I can only hope to return to this gem of a hotel soon. Thank you for an unforgettable experience!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
Thank Hellokitty1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Hellokitty1020,

Thank you for taking the time to share this stunning review, it was our pleasure to welcome you to Mont Rochelle. The whole team shared a huge smile when they heard your fantastic feedback, and no one’s smile was bigger than Bronwyn’s! I don’t think anyone has ever said that they have ‘heard angels singing’ when she works her magic, but that’s certainly a compliment she will remember for a long time! We always hope that our guests will feel at home during a stay with us, so it made our day when we heard that this was exactly how you felt. The pleasure was truly all ours, thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience. We too very much hope that you will return soon, and perhaps we can tempt you to stay a little longer next time.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights from 9 June as part of our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. I really wish we’d had chance to stay longer and am already thinking about opportunities to visit SA again and come back here!

The hotel and rooms are beautiful with lots of nice touches. I think we had a room upgrade (they didn’t mention this but I’m pretty sure) - it was lovely with a nice outside area with a great view, and a large bathroom. There were also lots of practical touches - eg lots of plug sockets, umbrellas provided and a sensor that turned on the (fairly dim but useful) toilet light if you got up at night. Everything just seemed very well thought out (as well as looking great).

We also made use of the gym (small but ok) and the lounge area in the vineyard wing (nice to have these extra spaces for guests away from rooms and the main bar). The weather wasn’t great when we were in the hotel (though it was lovely and sunny the day we used the wine tram!) so we unfortunately didn’t use the pool but imagine this would be lovely in SA summer months.

The staff were all so friendly and we loved the ‘lady of the manor’ Blom (may have spelled that wrong!) the cat :-) she’s fairly mature & chilled though so wouldn’t bother you if you’re not a cat fan!

We really enjoyed the breakfast, the free wine tasting over at the Country Kitchen (would suggest getting the free shuttle as we walked and got confused / rained on!) and the free wine in our room. We actually took the wine with us to the Hussar Grill restaurant in town on our second night as they allow you to BYO wine at no cost - we really enjoyed this and it was a good way to appreciate the wine.

We also had dinner at Miko on the first night and really liked our meal there.

We mostly got around by using the hotel’s shuttle (free at certain times) but we walked into town to get the wine tram and it’s only about 20-25 minutes from the hotel itself (it takes 10 minutes or so to leave the MR grounds).

We really loved staying at Mont Rochelle and we would love to go back!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma_and_James1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Emma_and_James1,

It was a true pleasure to welcome you to Mont Rochelle during your honeymoon, thank you for choosing to share such a special trip with us! The whole team really enjoyed reading your superb review and we wanted to say a big thank you for your kind and thoughtful feedback. We have to agree that the lounge in the Vineyard Wing is one of the best places to cosy up, so it was lovely to hear that you made the most of this during your stay. We think no trip to Mont Rochelle would be complete without some wine tasting, so we were all so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the wines during your stay! Our favourite part of your review was hearing that you’d love to come back, the whole team (including the Lady of the Manor, Blom!) would love to see you both again and we just hope that we won’t have to wait too long.

Kind regards,
James Basson
General Manager
james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews