We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
75
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la cle butler service private pool pool attendant breakfast each morning own bathroom bedroom villa free laundry service mountain range spectacular views amazing place wonderful hosts main street stayed for nights peggy braai luxury
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Recently refurbished to an excellent standard, style and quality this is a wonderful place to stay. As a couple, with friends or a family it works for all variations. Lovely open dining table for guests to mix and chat, excellent pool, loved the brai in the garden and sundowners views are top rate. Informal staff who are proactive and will do anything to make the stay personalised and perfect. Loved our 5 days and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathryncarter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayLaCle, Manager at La Cle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear kathryncarter2014,

We wish to thank you for such a wonderful review and know that we strive to ensure that you and all our guests have a wonderful and memorable stay with us. We at the La Cle' family look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and please do stay in touch with myself so that I may personally open the doors to the tranquillity in the heart of Franschhoek for you again.

Kind regards,
Scott Shepherd
opsmanager@lacle.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

It was a wonderful way to start our first trip to South Africa staying at La Cle. Stunning interior design, grounds and the couple who manage it could not have been more helpful. The breakfasts too were delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank doogle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

La Cle Des Montagnes is a wonderful villa! The property was in immaculate condition and the rooms were spacious and impeccably decorated! Peggy and the Staff, John and Ian and team were phenomenal! We rode bikes, ventured into town and toured two vineyards! A great stay-- highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JohnJNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy K, General Manager at La Cle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Mr Norris - What a lovely review - so very much appreciated by the entire team at La Clé des Montagnes and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

The grounds of La Cle were immaculate and beautiful. Our villa was spacious and nicely furnished, including a private pool. The staff was extremely attentive and our breakfasts were amazing. Easy walk to town and short shuttle or cab ride to several vineyards.

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy K, General Manager at La Cle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Robert H- thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of La Clé des Montagens on Trip Advisor. We look forward to you return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in one of the larger villas. The room standard is that of a 5* hotel with daily housekeeping and turndown service. The common space is huge and nicely maintained, our private pool and surroundings were superb.

The location in the city is great (3 minute walking distance from the main street and several great restaurants), nevertheless there is a free shuttle included when you want to go out.

The front desk arranges all kinds of tours according to your interests.

Breakfast is great even though the butlers do not seem to be professionally trained hospitality employees, but they do make up for this with a very positive attitude and a high service orientation.

Another plus: the free laundry service which is of a much better service quality than in most 5* hotels.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 620kerstenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy K, General Manager at La Cle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of La Clé des Montagnes and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews