We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
112
83
39
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
83
39
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla overlookingwashing machinehotel roommountain rangesmall lakebeautiful settinghoneymoon suiteattention to detailexcellent stayclose to towncape townsouth africadambedroommountainsaccommodationchapel
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2015

I recently ran a conference at the venue. The hotel is situated in the most exquisite setting. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with luxurious finishes. The service is outstanding and the food is good. The venue is also great value compared with other luxury hotels in the area

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are stunning
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Dear Marc

Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

50th birthday weekend. Upon arrival we were greeted with flutes of champagne which we enjoyed on the picturesque patio.
Our two bedroom villa was very elegant and extremely spacious. Some housekeeping issues could do with a little attention though.
The breakfasts were more than adequate to start the day. A little something for everyone from a continental breakfast with the best lemon poppyseed muffins to hot options. Coffee could be warm and fresh.
The staff are quietly attentive but mostly invisible.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia03Paarl, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback on your experience.

The comments are well noted and the issues raised will definitely be addressed with the various departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Wife and I stayed away for a relaxing weekend. We loved the villa facing the lake and mountains. Very spacious and comfortable accomodation. Staff is very helpful and friendly and the breakfast is great.

Room Tip: Choose villas facing the lake
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergiocarol1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015

We stayed at L'ermitage the night before and night after our wedding (held just close by) and made arrangements for all the wedding guests to stay as well. This was a little daunting since arranging had to be done from overseas, however I was pleasantly surprised how well this went. The management and staff were great in assisting with arrangements (difficult for 29 people when one is not sure who wants to stay where and gtting decisions at one time is difficult).

Romacha was wonderful - I made bookings for 10 of us under a group name and everyone else set up individual bookings under the same group name. We negotiated good rates for the group.

Accommodation was very good - unfortunately our a/c didn't work in the main building - supposedly the condenser had burned out as a result of load shedding. I organised a braai for the party and this was spectacular - great food prepared and served in a friendly manner.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Not knowing what to expect except a fabulous winter weekend deal, we had such an amazing weekend. The accommodation was perfect as is the setting and the environment. The service was fantastic from arrival to ice being brought to our room until the end of our stay.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms were stunning!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

It is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming the group back again soon.

Kind regards

Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews