We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
152
23
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
23
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue manor house wedding coordinator pool house beautiful venue the cottages beautiful mountains world class cape town three nights tasting room estate guests wine vineyards accommodation lindt
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in Barbere cottage. Great for families with children. Excellent service from staff. Very nice breakfast and coffee at Lust bistro included to value
of R140 that is more than enough. Perfect location for exploring the winelands. Best looking wine tasting room!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pieter-Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Stayed just one night for a wedding, but have to say the surrounding landscape is simply magnificent. Right there in the vineyard with the majestic mountain backdrop. The staff seemed efficient for the most part, although one in particular was quite disinterested that we were wishing to check in. In fact after waiting 45mins for her to return, we eventually just took our key and checked ourselves in. Perhaps they were short staffed or attending to the wedding function itself, but instead of feeling welcomed we felt like we were in the way. Our room was top class, modern and very clean; away from the hustle of the estate it had a lovely unobstructed view and was very spacious. The catered dinner was delicious, and the breakfast was fresh with a decent selection.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sampanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We booked two of the new vineyard suites. The room was so light that I found it hard to sleep. There is a spotlight on the patio right by the bed that can't be switched off by guests. The block out behind the curtain isn't great and the blind on the one window also lets in a lot of the bright light. Traffic from nearby busy road can be heard. When we came back from supper at a nearby restaurant we found the gate to our rooms locked and no key to open. Luckily another guest who had a key arrived. All in all it just seems poorly managed. Theres a fridge in the room but nothing in it. Shower is tiny and poorly planned, the whole bathroom floor is wet after showering. Breakfast options at the Bistro are limited and over priced. R140 breakfast per person is included in the room rate which was sufficient but I did feel that charging R78 for a bowl of oats was outrageous.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank TracyS76Pta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbuys, Owner at Vrede en Lust Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Thanks for the feedback Tracy

We have looked at the front bedroom veranda lights and we will move them further out. We will also see what we can do to make the blinds darker for light sleepers like yourself. We have already ordered new glass shower doors. The showers measure 1m x 1m or more so not tiny by most measures?

The keys to the security gates was our bad. The main gate remotes we give guests normally have the gate key on too and that night they used the remotes without the gate keys. It has been addressed.

As for the bar-fridge - there is a check-in option to stock the mini-bar or not. If guests elect not to stock it it will be empty so they can stock it as they please. That was your choice.

Re the breakfast at Lust Bistro & Bakery. As you mentioned, R140 worth of breakfast is included per guest. The breakfast menu contains 9 items with a number of additional options. Not sure how many you expect? The R140 will cover any breakfast item on the menu plus leave change for a nice Cappuccino or even a fresh squeezed fjuice. The breads are fresh out of the fire hearth. . Our focus is on quality vs quantity and the TripAdvisors reviews are good proof that is what most guests experience here.
http://www.lustbistro.com/our-menu/

The R45 runs up the length of the Franschhoek valley and understandably one will sometimes hear some traffic. Its a fairly narrow valley so one is never that far away from it. Its a rural road and normally quiet at night. You are the first person who has complained about it though.

In business one strives to make as many customers as possible happy but its very hard to please 100% of the customers 100% of the time. We can only do our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

That was my second visit to Vrede en Lust winery. I just love this place, stunning view, cozy, nice decor and great wines. Friendly staff. Worth to stop by just to appreciate the view, have a wine tasting or a lunch !!! Very nice smell of freshly baked bread coming from the restaurant when you park your car, wonderful!

Stayed: July 2016
Thank eddiebrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at Vrede en Lust during a week long tour of Cape Town. We stayed in one of their Vineyard Suites, which had spectacular views of both the vineyards and mountains, and was modern and stylishly furnished. The service at the estate was fantastic, and we thoroughly enjoyed the wine and Lindt Chocolate tasting that was on offer. The Lust restaurant/bistro on the estate had delicious options for breakfast, and the service was excellent.

The estate was in close proximity to both Paarl and Franschhoek, so we were able to visit a number of tourist attractions and retaurants, including the Babel restaurant at Baylonstoren.

Overall, it was an amazing part of our tour and we would certainly recommend it to anyone who is looking to spend a few nights in the winelands.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews