We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place, Large flavor”
Review of Senor Pepper

Senor Pepper
Ranked #26 of 156 Restaurants in Red Bank
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Tonight we went to Senor Pepper's, where the food is always good and the prices are reasonable. This place is real Mexican, not Tex-Mex and not dumbed down for people who don't know anything about Mexican food. The flavors are authentic, Not every dish from Mexico is full of jalapenos and hot sauce and not everything comes wrapped in a tortilla. The only weakness in their menu is that they can't seem to make a good soup. Not sure why, as everything elseis excellent, particularly the fish and shellfish dishes\. As a side benefit the staff is always willing to help you practice your Spanish.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LSGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

This is dreary fare. Sauces watery, food bland, limp and unappetizing, served in a greasy-spoon decor. Tried it as year ago. Same conditions prevail.
Try Juanito's on Monmouth St. Instead.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank SteamyDelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We were in the area for a wedding and asked around for a good Mexican Restaurant. The hotel desk recommended Senor Pepper and they were right on. There is nothing fancy about this storefront restaurant. There are only about a dozen tables, but they were full when we went for dinner on a Thursday night. The food was excellent and surprisingly inexpensive for the quality and quantity we received.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ecmenendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

If you're looking for a small, local place that offers something "different" for lunch give Senor Pepper a shot. Our group of 10 posed no problem. Tables were shifted and everyone seated quickly. The menu was very diverse and incredibly inexpensive! Our waitress was more than helpful! She answered every question and made recommendations to those in our group who were unfamiliar with Mexican cuisine. Our meals were prepared in the open kitchen to order with fresh ingredients and served together. Portions were more than adequate. The cascadillas, salads, and burritos were first rate. Even those in our group who had not tried Mexican cuisine before are looking to returning.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank jjflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

I am from NYC. I have access to the best food in the world from all parts of the world .
I have never had better Mexican food. I hate guacamole & we ended up getting 3 orders.
I would honestly give the place a 12 out of 10 on freshness / quality / taste of food, cleanliness, & service.
The restaurant itself as far as decor goes is dated. 5 out of 10. I could care less.
If an investor threw some money into this place and added a bar forget it. This would be the hot spot.
I did not have any seafood or shrimp so can't comment. Even the soft beef tacos that my kids ordered were actually marinated strip steak cuts. When there are only Mexican people eating in a Mexican restaurant then that says a lot
Just sit down and order the guacamole and go from there.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Senor Pepper also viewed

 

Been to Senor Pepper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing