We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food locally sourced and friendly atmosphere”
Review of Harvest Restaurant

Harvest Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Farmingdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: HARVEST Local Seasonal Cuisine is a full service restaurant offering both lunch and dinner. Our focus is preparing wholesome food, from local farmers, bakers and provayers while offering gluten free and healthy meals.
Reviewed 4 September 2015

I've eaten here on three occasions and each time the food was consistently excellent. Made fresh with locally grown foods, the management and staff seem to really put a lot into the restaurant to make the dining experience satisfying. I plan on going back soon.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Farmer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2015

The ambiance is adorable! Huge chalkboards telling you where their local ingredients are from! The food is fantastic and super fresh! I highly recommend the short rib lettuce wraps as an app! Can't wait to go again.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank megan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Fantastic! Went there with a bunch of friends and they all loved it. From the Fig appetizers to the Apple dessert everyone loved there meal, If you want fresh local sourced food, this is the place! Waitress was very attentive and the owner came over to see how everything was.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stormygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Dinner on a Wednesday nite. Restaurant was pretty full. (It seats about 30 people) food was fresh and good but not great. And it is pricey. Entrees run around $30, coffee is $3. Appetizers around $15. Desserts $8 Portions not huge. And I thought $110/couple was a bit hefty for what it was. Pork belly app was nice. Never had that before. . Special tomato app was good but not much different than what I do at home. Many reviews raved about the scallops. I had them. They were ok but nothing special. The duck is a very small portion....beware. For dessert we had the apple Napoleon and a cannoli. Don't expect to share desserts. Glad we tried. Won't be back

Date of visit: August 2015
2  Thank ladydeexyz011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

My husband had heard great things about Harvest, so we tried it on a Sat night for our anniversary. We made reservations and arrived on time. We noticed people sitting at the four tables outside and thought it odd as you’re on a main road across from a busy shopping center entrance. We went inside to check in, and realized that we WANTED to sit outside as well – the room felt as if it had no air conditioning. Others have said it – the place is VERY small and was PACKED, so outside we went. Our waitress brought us water and ice for our wine. We heard the specials, placed our order for the duck appetizer and 2 dinner specials, and the wait began. After about 15 minutes, our waitress apologized for not bringing over breadsticks, and said she’d fix that. 15 minutes after that, we needed to remind her that we were waiting for breadsticks, which we finally did get with delicious pats of butter. And we waited some more. Finally, a different server delivered our dinners. No appetizer to be seen. She was about to take them back, but no way….we were starving! I ordered the Fluke Milanese, which was absolutely delicious. My husband had the skirt steak special, which was very disappointing. It was a chewy and he would have liked ketchup, but by the time our server came out to address the missing appetizer, he was pretty much finished. The owner also came out to apologize for the mix-up, and they offered to give us the appy to go (or dessert) on the house, but we were ready to move on. Bottom line, we had one incredibly excellent meal, one not so enjoyable, and service that definitely needs refining. I understand that made fresh from scratch might mean a longer wait, but our experience was just badly managed. However, so many other people have had good experiences, we'll give them a second shot.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Food
1  Thank AMPSFreehold_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Harvest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing