We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated given rude service, poor quality of food”

Chung Sol Korean Restaurant BBQ
Ranked #64 of 328 Restaurants in Edison
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 September 2021

We were served 4 banchan dishes; fish cakes, Kim Chee, pickled zucchini chunks, bean sprouts - the bean sprouts were devoid of any flavor. When we asked for a 2nd helping of the fish cakes, Manager advised the 'you shouldn't have any banchan because you did not order enough food'! WOW - we were two people who ordered two dishes - what was enough? PRETTY RUDE! The seafood pancake was sooo overpriced for what we got. The 'large' was approximately a 8-9" diameter pancake - the same size as a small in other Korean restaurants I have visited. We asked for crispy pancake; it came out limp and oily. It went back to the kitchen and came out the 2nd time BURNT! No apology, no acknowledgement - very poor customer service, food at most a MEH! With the exception of the first waitress who spoke very good English - these people were pretty rude. Clearly you could not care less about return business and we will not be returning. Not when there are so many choices just up the block. Restaurants are considered a service business - how about giving some decent service?

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 191meilingc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018

Went here as reviews were positive. However, pressured to order as we were sitting down by the waitress literally standing by the table before we even looked at the menu. In addition, while waiting for return of my credit card charge receipt to sign, the waitress came by and stated that the BBQ table is popular and politely asked us to leave. BBQ experience was uneventful and food was average at best. Will not return.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 888Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

The BBQ was nice, though some of the non-BBQ items we had were not as good as in other Korean places we frequent.
Start with the Kalbi and the the chicken. The seafood pancake was disappointing.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Spw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Like most Korean restaurants, they gave you a bunch of small kimchi dishes (complementary) to start. But I didn't touch two of the plates (out of 6): pickled eggplant (I don't like eggplant) and salad greens.

I ordered the lunch special, Beef Short Ribs on a hot iron plate. It also came with a small bowl of Soft Tofu Seafood Stew. Both were tasty. And for $12.95, it was a great value! Definitely will be back again.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank JesstheFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Korean food is one of our favorite, especially the BBQ, the stews and all the little dishes which come for free.
We had the Galbi combo and Galbi box out of the lunch special menu.

The Galbi is average, really not as good as some of the Korean restaurants that we could find in New York City Korean town. Almost feel like the Galbi is one of those already marinated one sold in the Korean supermarket.

The service is good, despite the lady seems bit ‘cold’, but she was polite. So maybe just ‘reserved’.

I would recommend the restaurant as it is good value for the price vs quality.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Chung Sol Korean Restaurant BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Chung Sol Korean Restaurant BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.