We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Cape May House for Family and Friends to...”
The Abbey
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Abbey
Main Kitchen Main Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Abbey
Main Kitchen
Main Kitchen
Main Kitchen
First Floor Bathroom
Kitchen Powder Room
Laundry ROom
Front Parlor
Library
Dining Room
Charleston Bedroom
Natchez Bedroom
New Orleans Bedroom
Newport Bedroom
Brighton Suite Bunk Beds
Brighton Suite King Bedroom
San Francisco Bedroom
Brighton Bathroom
Saratoga Bedroom
Savannah Bedroom
Newport Bathroom
Newport Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Cape May, Cape May County, New Jersey

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
louiselmk
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Fabulous Cape May House for Family and Friends to Gather”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Abbey is without question the best place to stay for large families and friends. We celebrated our 40th Anniversary in Cape May from May 5-8 with our children, grandson, siblings and their spouses – 20 altogether. Everyone was taken aback by the beauty of their rooms and private baths. The two kitchens are amazing – we all left inspired by the thought that went into the planning, decorating and preservation of this grand home. We had the best time sitting in the dinning room the table for 12. There are additional tables that can be joined together for more seating. When not in the dinning, the kitchen island was the next fabulous site to hang out. Love, love, love the kitchen. Don’t be afraid to bring the kids. There is a closet full of games and toys, multiple carpeted staircases to climb, a wraparound porch t sit and wave to the continual passing of horses and carriages (love that clip clop sound) and the large beautifully landscaped yard for them to tumble in. We were within two blocks of the beach, one block from a bike rental business, eateries and a hop, skip and a jump to downtown shopping, restaurants, and pubs. No need to move the car once you are there. The owner was gracious and accommodating, assuring that we would have a great stay at The Abbey. Truly we just loved being at The Abbey and hope to return time and again. It was an experience we will never forget.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
We would love to welcome you and your family and friends back! Thank you for caring so beautifully for the house and grounds during your stay. It's always gratifying to hear the property met or exceeded your expectations and served your celebration well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLanders
Bordentown, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great stay with my cousins!”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Abbey is a lovely place to stay in Cape May! The home is beautiful and the kitchen is to die for! I think there were a total of 18 of us that stayed in the house for two nights and there was plenty of room for all. The is parking for 10-12 cars, so that was a big plus for Cape May. We come down every year and usually stay in a motel, but this was so much better and much less expensive, too. We are already planning next year's reunion at The Abbey, if they'll have us!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful home and the location with walking access to everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Of course, I'd love to welcome you back! Thank you for so respectfully caring for the property during your stay. I'm so glad the house met your needs so well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella...
Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
“A wonderful mansion to host family gathering for a wedding.”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The home is well maintained with modern conveniences while keeping with the period charm. We hosted our family in town for our daughters wedding and our goal was met. We wanted to rent a house that was a central location for us to gather and it worked wonderfully. The home was decorated for Christmas and all our guest thought the home was amazing, The home is also centrally located. We were able to walk to the beach as wee as the stores.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen is a fully equipped gourmet kitchen great for hosting a party.
Liked least: We had a young lady with physical disabilities and the steps were a bit of a challenge, but once she figured it all out it worked fine.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thank you! Your care of the home during your stay was exemplary! I hope you are enjoying many sweet memories of your time at The Abbey and your daughter's wedding! I'm so glad you were able to host your guests well in this setting. Please do consider visiting again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N c
Red Bank, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend getaway with our friends”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We just got back from a 2 night stay at the Breakers. I threw a surprise 35th birthday weekend in Cape May for my wife & planned it around the Christmas Parade & Christmas House Tours (which occurred the Saturday night we were staying at the house). We had 18 people stay in the home total, and everyone was BLOWN AWAY by how beautiful the home was. The pictures really don't do it justice since it's so much more amazing in person. The 2 kitchens are stocked with any cooking item you'd ever need, so it makes it really convenient to prepare food for a large group of people. We had a very minor issue with the home when we arrived, which I wouldn't even mention in this review since it was so minor....but the fact that the owner showed up almost immediately to see that the issue was resolved goes to show you how well this property is managed. The owner is also very responsive to emails/questions throughout the booking process. Everyone had so much fun that we said we have to do it again next year. I've traveled all over the world and have stayed in some impressive places, but this home will go down in memory as one of the best accommodations ever! Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The accommodations & location
Liked least: I wish towels/sheets were provided, but that's my only complaint, which is minor.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thank you! I so appreciate that you understand first hand how important it is to us that our guests are cared for well, can settle in right away and begin making good memories in this setting. Thank you for caring for the house during your stay; I would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen R
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“The perfect setting for my family gathering”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Abbey was a marvelous backdrop for my family (24 adults) to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday. The entire house is richly appointed with both Victorian and contemporary furnishings and the completely renovated kitchen is amazing! The posted pictures just don't do it justice. I spent a good deal of time in the kitchen and found everything I needed - with the exception of a rolling pin and a broom (though there were four vacuums). The location is great- offering both privacy and convenience to town as well as the beach. The landscaping was also gorgeous and we enjoyed the outdoor spaces as much as the indoor spaces (the outdoor shower was magnificent). The owners, Barbara and I.C., are very personable and accommodating and go out of their way to make their home warm and inviting for their tenants. I hope to reunite my family here again very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;