We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great lighthouse

While the park is small for a state park the highlight is the incredible Barnegat Light. Be sure to... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
MBaron85
,
Beachwood, New Jersey
via mobile
Come and see the Lighthouse!

Being lucky enough to have a view of this lighthouse everyday, I must encourage you to come and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Daniel W
,
Princeton, New Jersey
Read all 476 reviews
  
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
347
118
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
118
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light house long beach island barnegat lighthouse beautiful view picnic tables watch the boats catch your breath nature trail maritime forest nice place to visit gift shop nice walk small fee interpretive center new jersey climb the stairs the atlantic ocean
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

This state park around the Barnegat Lighthouse is wonderful! There are picnic tables next to the bay. We enjoyed a picnic lunch and watched the boats go by. There is a walkway over the bay out to where the bay meets the ocean. There are many people fishing. There are benches along the way for relaxing and people watching. It is a great spot for pictures of the lighthouse as well. This is a must do while on LBI!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank greenteanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I’s first trip to LBI was kicked off with a visit to Ol Barney. We loved climbing to the top for a low price and free parking! A must do to cool off after I’d walk the pathway along the bay and onto the rocks with the ocean flowing under you. We really enjoyed visiting this location. The bay filled with boats is a great view.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank raachmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We always go to Ol Barney! Sometimes we climb up & sometimes walk way out on the jetty. There also is a great walking path across the guest check-In. Bring a picnic lunch, fishing poles, cameras and you are set for quite a few hours no matter the weather!! Also,
It's a wonderful backdrop for a family photo!!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Mahananye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

A nice place to visit and see some history. I found it unusual that it is FREE to enter, park, tour to the gift shop, picnic, hike, bathrooms, etc. but you have to pay $3 to climb the lighthouse.

The lighthouse is a climb but many landings allow for breaks or passing people. The top has beautiful views and is well caged. Getting photos from the top can be a challenge. We saw days swimming below.

The park has plenty of walking trails and long breakwater path. The breakwater was filled with fishermen making it crowded to walk along.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank toscwolfstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

We took a drive down to the lighthouse. The whole island is 18 miles long, so not too far from anywhere. Very interesting and picturesque. Must see if you love lighthouses!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews