We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
5
6
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
6
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We are locals...Newburyport. Bought our Camper at Campers Inn in Kingston. We are first time camper owners and were very nervous how to operate it all. We wanted to stay local. The campground was extremely clean and well maintained. The office staff was very nice. There really was not a camp store only a ice cream machine/ ice/wood which was a little disappointing only because I like to poke around. I also wish there they had cable hookup. The campground was very quiet with family oriented guests. We did not use the pool but it looked well maintained. I would absolutely stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi Lisa, thank you for your review. Congratulations on your new camper and we hope you had a great experience as new camper owners and hope that you had a great time at Green Gate! We appreciate your feedback about the store as well as cable hookup - we will look into these suggestions. We are very glad that you found the campground to be family-friendly as well as well-maintained. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We were looking forward to our first stay here after talking to the new owners at a show and hearing good things about the campground. Unfortunately it was not too nice. First the good stuff; the entry way was night and paved, the playground looked ok and the owner was very nice. We did not look at the bathrooms so we cannot comment on those. Now for the bad, unfortunately; one of our reservations was lost so it too a long time to check in and figure everything out, the pool could be nice as the water was clear but the walls and the bottom were very dirty and did not look good, needed either a good cleaning or painting, the sites were in desperate need of some TLC some re-grading and general clean up and brush clearing. In addition some trees need to come down as they make it very difficult to get into some sites or even use others. Also some sites are very small and the smaller seasonal sites have items crossing over to other sites making things very crowded. Some seasonal sites were ok but others were very clutter and had 2-3 sheds or wood additions etc. in general we found the site area to very messy, if this is an improvement over what it was I sure would not have liked in before. There is no store to speak off, the office had 4 bundles of wood and a few ice creams and that was all. Also we had to sign a paper saying we had to burn there wood or face a $1000 fine. I guess I could go on but I think you can get my point. We had been on a great run of nice campgrounds until this one. Due to the location we hoped this would of been nice but we do not plan on returning.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GaryWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi GaryWT, thank you for your review and feedback. We strive to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We work hard to keep our campsites, and the campground as a whole, clean and organized. However please know that your comments are appreciated and that we will always work on improving our campground. The policy on out-of-state firewood and corresponding fine is per NH state law and is one that we are required to abide by. We do hope that you visit us again for a better experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights, which allowed us to visit many close attractions. The campground was well maintained and our site was huge. The owners were nice and helpful. It was awfully buggy, maybe spray for mosquitoes? We liked that it was away from town and the roads around it were scenic and convenient to the coast. There was a pool, but we didn't use it.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivyandbatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi Cheri, thank you for your review. We are very glad you had a chance to visit the nearby attractions and that you found the campground to be scenic as well as in a convenient location. We will look into your suggestion about possibly spraying for mosquitos. Take care and we hope you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

There are new owners and they are doing a nice job. The sites are close and laid out like a grid but pretty wooded. They have a pool but we did not use it. Too cool outside. It's a gated property so we felt secure. The bathrooms were nice too.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank eventgallb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Hi eventgallb, thank you for your review! We are so glad you had a nice stay (even with colder weather) and the new owners appreciate your kind compliments. We surely hope you come visit again! Happy holidays and warm regards -- The Green Gate Campground

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

My family has been going to this campground for roughly 10 years. We decided to join them camping for a 4 day week-end. The campground had about 25% occupancy so lots of sites available. The grass on the sites hadn't been mowed in a while, the bathrooms started out to be clean but after our 3rd day nothing had been cleaned and garbage bins were full. Showers were dirty, hair in the drains with left-over soap bars and rasor. Toilet-paper missing in the men's/women's bathrooms and light burned-out in the woman`s bathroom. We advised the office twice but when we checked out still nothing was done. Bundle of wood with 4 pieces sold for $6.00.
Apparently the campground has been sold. The new owners are lacking the terrific service that The Green Gate former owners established. A few coats of paint in the common areas and seasonal flowers would be nice too.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank raincloud30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Hi raincloud30, we appreciate your return and stay with us for a 4-day weekend. We are sorry you felt that 'nothing was done' after you had brought things to the attention of the office. While we understand your point of view, we would also like to reassure you that we did check the bathrooms, and noticed some sand in there from the beach. We also checked the garbage bins, bathroom lights, as well as made sure that the toilet paper was stocked. If there was left-over soap bars and razors, we will make sure to remind our campers to clean up after using the bathrooms. Additionally, our staff member who takes care of the cleanliness of the bathrooms has been working here for several years and she does a thorough job. Regarding the grass, we have 3 staff members who take care of lawn-mowing every week. For the bundle of wood sold at $6.00, all of our prices reflect the cost that we incur. Lastly, the ownership has indeed changed but we have a close relationship with the old owners and we strive to make all our campers happy and comfortable. We also strive to always keep the campground a clean and beautiful place. Thank you for your review and please let us know of any questions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews