We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Drangway Cottage, Stratton
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drangway Cottage, Stratton
Sitting Room, on the first floor and overlooking Church Square Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Drangway Cottage, Stratton
Sitting Room, on the first floor and overlooking Church Square
Sitting Room
Sitting room
Sitting room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen with beamed ceiling and slate floor.
Kitchen
First floor landing
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Single bedroom
Church Square with Drangway on the right
Bude canal
The sea at Bude from the breakwater
Bude canal with Crooklets beach in the background
The best way!
Looking down on Stratton with the sea in the distance
The beach at Bude
On the coastal footpath with Cam Beak in the background.
Crackington Haven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Stratton, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
130judi12...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Myself and my husband stayed at this super cottage in July and had a great time. We took our bikes and did a couple of nice rides exploring the area. There is a lovely walk to Bude from the cottage and Bude has a great sea pool which we enjoyed using and some excellent places to eat. Try The Deck on Summerleaze Crescent, they have the most amazing ribs I’ve ever tried- so good we went twice!

The cottage is very comfy and has a lot of history. Also it’s opposite the village church and on the hour it rings out the most charming tune I have ever heard from church bells. Peaceful location with lovely views from the bedroom across the countryside, with a village shop and a couple of good pubs too!

All in all a lovely stay in a very beautiful place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolabee...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely Cottage!”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely old cottage in a village location just outside Bude. The owner Diana was very helpful with any questions we had prior to our visit.

The cottage is very well equipped and has everything you need. It was perfect for my husband and I and our 14 year old son. The cottage is very clean and comfortable. The upstairs rooms were bright and airy and the beds were very comfy.

The bathroom is quite small and quirky but there is an adequate bath, shower, sink, loo, ample space for toiletries & a mirror. The bathroom has a small window and extractor fan. The ceiling is quite low but my son who is 6ft 1" said his hair just brushed the ceiling!

Local shop/post office in the village along with two lovely pubs within a minute walking distance of the property. The Kings Arms hold a quiz night every Tuesday evening however I would recommend booking in advance if you wish to eat too as it's very busy! Great atmosphere and the owners made us feel very welcome.

We never had any trouble parking close to the cottage.

This part of Cornwall is beautiful, and everyone in the village and Bude we met were very friendly. The area felt very safe.

We'd definitely go back to Drangway as a week wasn't long enough to visit all the wonderful places in North Cornwall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the cottage and in north Cornwall!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicks75
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in cosy cottage”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week at Drangway cottage in the beautiful village of Stratton.The location is perfect for visiting the north Cornwall and Devon coast and the sizeable town of Bude is a couple of miles away which has all the amenities you could need. The village itself has a post office and store which is open 7 days a week (including bank holidays) where you can pick up essential supplies and fresh bakery items every day. There is currently one pub open in the village - the Kings Arms which serves food all day, has a good selection of real ales and had live music when we were there.

The cottage is packed with character and tastefully decorated in traditional style with all essential items supplied. Ceilings are very low, and the kitchen and bathroom very compact, which was fine for us but taller people may struggle! Mobile signal is restricted to the main bedroom but it's a good excuse to sit in the window seat and gaze out over the rooftops and fields beyond. The only downside is that there is no private outside space but this didn't detract from our stay.

Diana provided all the information we needed in advance and answered queries promptly. Would recommend to anyone looking for cosy retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PandJ1926
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best part of our vacation”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 10 weeks travelling through 11 different countries. We never expected the highlight of our vacation to be spent in Stratton. When we booked the cottage, we were simply looking for a place to unwind midway through our travels but it was so much more than that. The village itself is lovely with a fine "corner store". There are wonderful walking trails right out the front door and we met many friendly locals on our wanders. The village is an easy drive to the beaches of Bude, Dartmoor National Park, Tintagel and the amazing Minack Theatre and, while we visited them all, our favourite times were spent simply reading in the cozy sitting room, drinking a cold glass of Chardonnay and eating a home cooked meal. And did I mention the bedroom with its inviting window seat overlooking fields of sheep in the distance? We were initially concerned with the lack of private outdoor space but this was easily overcome, we simply took our books and sat on a garden seat in the nearby church yard. Highly recommended, we would go back tomorrow....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the entire cottage
Liked least: initially no wi-fi but we came to see this as a positive!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful world away”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the cottage, it was very cosy and the perfect getaway for a couple. It was equipped with everything that we needed and was situated in a sleepy Cornish village, an ideal location for a break. The cottage was truly charming - flagstone floors, lots of period features, and homely decor. We were very close to the sea and the dramatic coast line, and everyone we met was friendly. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing