We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need reservations to eat here.”

Montana's Rib and Chop House
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in Livingston
Price range: $10 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Southwestern Montana, the Livingston location was the original Chop House that began May 22, 2001. In 2004 we relocated a few blocks down from the original location to an old railroad receiving warehouse just a few feet away from the main line of the Burlington Northern Santa Fe railroad now known as Montana Rail Link. The food is fun, the service is great and you will leave knowing you did't just have dinner, but a dining experience.
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

My friend’s wanted some steak and we decided to eat at this restaurant. Upon entering it was packed and the hostess asked us if we had reservations. We didn’t have one. We didn’t know we had to make one since we were from out of town. Luckily, there was a reservation that was canceled and we were seated right away. The rib was delicious. Tender that melted in your mouth. The food took quite a bit but the service was excellent.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Abel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2021 via mobile

We just had the worst restaurant experience ever as a family. This restaurant came highly recommended and we were severely disappointed with what should have been a memorable celebration as a family in Livingston. Service was poor, food was cold after waiting 90m to receive it, our glasses were not filled, and worst of all the server and manager made excuses.

I understand challenges (especially recently) when a business does not have adequate staff. However, I would expect the manager to own their mistakes rather than make excuses. Further, if you cannot maintain your standards with your customers, you should either shut your doors or limit the amount of customers you allow in the front door. Many more customer experiences like mine and you will be out of business.

As a business owner myself, I I tried to contact the owners through the website and never received any response.

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank henryjji
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2021

Did not realize you needed reservations for here but as long as the bar is open, it's first come first serve and the service at the bar was great! We wound up eating here twice during our stay! Their baked potatoes are huge and both steaks and ribs were cooked perfectly!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank A3434QFshannonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2021

We had a fine meal here. Food was delicious, service was good, and prices were half of what you would pay at a more swanky steakhouse such as Ruth’s Chris. Being from Maryland I wish we had this steakhouse chain there!

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trishDerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2021

Waited over 2 hours for a table. The table we were waiting for hadn’t left but paid and sat to visit and drink right in front of the bar.. we continuously asked if we could just find a solution like separating our party or eating outside but they told us to keep waiting and waiting. I love the Billings location and wanted to stop on my way home to have a great meal but with the attitude I was given and lack of courtesy we left with out notifying the staff and will not be back ever again. I’d rather eat fast food than wait for hours and not have any type of help or solution to waiting and wasting time. The owners of this company should train their staff to deal with busy nights better and to keep tables moving to allow others to spend money and time in your location in a timely fashion. That’s how you keep people coming back and making money!!!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank JAKE_Castillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Montana's Rib and Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Montana's Rib and Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.