We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good entrees, but consistently cold sides”

Montana's Rib and Chop House
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Livingston
Price range: $10 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Southwestern Montana, the Livingston location was the original Chop House that began May 22, 2001. In 2004 we relocated a few blocks down from the original location to an old railroad receiving warehouse just a few feet away from the main line of the Burlington Northern Santa Fe railroad now known as Montana Rail Link. The food is fun, the service is great and you will leave knowing you did't just have dinner, but a dining experience.
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Overall had a good experience and would recommend a visit however there were some flaws.

We came here twice for dinner after a long day in Yellowstone. The first dinner two of us ordered the ribeye and one the chicken fried chicken. The steaks and chicken were great. The sweet potato fries came out Luke warm and the Mac and cheese was not edible. It tasted like cheap store bought Mac and cheese. Our waitress was great and made for a great experience.

Came in the next day and it was a lot busier and we sat at the bar. We ordered pork chops and a burger with sides. The burger was ordered medium and came out well-done to burnt and tasted bad. The sweet potatoes fries this time were cold as were the onion rings and squash casserole.

If you’re in the area I’d recommend giving them a shot because for the most part the food was pretty good and at a good value.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2021

Read all the great reviews and we were excited for the meals. Cute cars that come with the kids meals were a hit and they even brought an extra one for our kid that didn't order off the kids menu. This is where the good drops off. The food was way over done, some even burnt to the point you couldn't eat it. All the food was way over seasoned. The steak was tough and dry. The waitress was very kind and did her best but it was obvious they were understaffed and the waitress later confirmed it. It may have been a bad night but when you can get a better steak at Golden Corral there is a big problem somewhere. I would not reccommend.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank robertsK1653WO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2021

The Rib and Chop house in Livingston is a very popular spot for families. Their service is fast and efficient, and you can have a massive lunch for a very reasonable price. My favorite is the crispy chicken salad,; there is always some left over to take home. They do daily lunch specials that are a favorite of Livingston.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank bonnieh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Nicely priced steakhouse. The staff is super friendly and the meat is center stage it doesn’t disappoint. We had Ribs— tender and flavorful, ready to fall off the bone. The steak was beautifully cooked and was available with sautéed mushrooms, onions or blue cheese as an add on.
The waitress, Rachel, was very attentive.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank santjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2021 via mobile

One of the places in town that serves steak. We waited about 15 min. Because there were several prom parties but not bad. Our server was super friendly and attended us immediately. I ordered the Pork chop and it came with a high Idaho baked potato that was really big and yummy. Had to return the chop a little to blackened for me taste but otherwise cooked perfectly. Ended up having the 1lb baby back ribs like my son and they were very good. Thumbs up for the service and friendly staff!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Montana's Rib and Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Montana's Rib and Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.