We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Montana French Bistrot”
Review of 2nd Street Bistro

2nd Street Bistro
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Livingston
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: 2nd Street Bistro opened its doors in the Historic Murray Hotel, Livingston, MT during the spring of 2004. We are rooted in the simple belief that great food and wine make life more enjoyable. Recently highlighted on Anthony Bourdain's "No Reservations", we are also the proud recipients of numerous regional 'Best Of' awards, including "Best Fine Dining", "Best Service", "Best Wine List", "Best Martini" and "Best Chef". Join us for a taste of refined authenticity! Above all else, we are committed to supporting the local economy and sustainable products. Our number one goal is to support our unique community of independent farmers, ranchers, artists, and professionals. If we can buy it locally, we will. If we can't buy it locally, we will seek out sustainable products. When you walk into the Bistro, you can be sure you are making a positive impact on our community and beyond.
Reviewed 9 June 2023 via mobile

This is the French bistrot seen from a Montana angle. Everything so good and fresh. I particularly enjoyed the ratatouille and the bison filet so tender and lean on a bed of parsnip puree.

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank jfmenu2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2022 via mobile

Gastronomic heaven, right here! If you want a foodie experience with amazing ambiance, this is the ticket!! Reservations required and get the wine flight to enhance. Petit filet the best I’ve ever had and the French onion soup top notch!!!

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank 496ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2022

Food & service outstanding, Every menu option delicious. Owner came by & gave us full story of restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rocknv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2022

The 2nd Street Bistro is decorated with many tall candles with long dripping wax tails. They also have a votive candle near the entrance with the image of Saint Anthony of Bourdain whose alcohol fueled visit to Livingston brought attention to this restaurant.

The food here is excellent. Our four course $85 prix fix meal started with poached artichoke hearts for my lover, and a single duck egg ravioli topped with asparagus for me. The ravioli surprise was the filling was a bright yellow yolk still liquid like a poached egg. My second was an outstanding French onion soup with rich beef broth and my wife had a traditional and tasty Caesar salad made with an intact Romain lettuce leaf. She chose perfectly cooked lamb riblet and an entree while i select a Waygu beef steak thinly sliced. Dessert was an espresso martini for her and a cheese plate for me.

The chef has some more adventurous selections on the monthly menu such as a tripe appetizer and a skate wing entree. Perhaps we would try something less traditional on a future visit.

They have a large and fairly priced wine list with both French and domestic bottles.

This is a special occasion restaurant with a civilized atmosphere, good service and great food.

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2021

Michelin awards three stars to restaurants which are worth a journey and the Second Street Bistro is certainly very well worth a journey. In its current mode of operation it is only open for dinner and only open three days a week. Reservations are absolutely essential. There is just one seating per table and so you have your table for the entire evening. The menu changes monthly and is four courses for $75. There are about four choices for each of the courses. We make the journey to the Bistro monthly and it has been absolutely superb each time in terms of food, ambience, and service. Some years ago Anthony Bourdain visited the Bistro, gave it an excellent review and featured it on his television show. It’s even better now. We have dined in fine restaurants all over the world and the Second Street Bistro is equal to the best of them.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peregrine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed 2nd Street Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 2nd Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.