We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Professional guide at Yellowstone

My wife and I wanted to make the most of our trip across the country to see Yellowstone so we... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Brian H
Incredible day in Lamar Valley with Gabriel!

Chris made booking so easy and was really flexible about start time. Gabriel was an absolutely... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
travelbug464KB
via mobile
Read all 479 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
464
9
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
464
9
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wildlife tour lamar valley mountain goats bison private tour black beans bald eagles day tour great tour knew exactly where every aspect northern part amazing wildlife geothermal features wildlife watching big horn sheep his knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2024

Incredible two days with Phil from Yellowstone Guidelines! So much wildlife, and we learned a ton about the park and its wolves. Found 3 different packs and had hours of safe viewing time. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

I first contacted Chris in December to book a two-day wildlife tour for early January. He was very friendly, reasonable, and flexible. We had some family emergency and was not sure if we could make it to Yellowstone in January. Chris was so kind and didn’t charge our credit card at all even though there is a 14-day cancellation policy, but just waited for us to let him know if we could make it. We did finally told him three days before the scheduled date that we could not make it on that day and had to canceled. He wished us the best and didn’t charged us at all. Things, however, got better for us a few days later and we decided to keep our Yellowstone trip and rebooked the two-day Lamar Valley wildlife tour with Chris!

We felt so blessed that we were able to make it to Yellowstone after the family emergency. We spent two wonderful days in Lamar Valley searching for wildlife with our guide, Gabe. Gabe was very friendly and has tons of knowledge about the park and its wildlife. We loved to hear all the interesting stories and facts of the wildlife he told us. We were educated! He also has sharp eyes that he can spot things from far. The snowy scenery along the road to Cooke City and at Lamar Valley was so beautiful. Our wildlife sightings were great. We spotted a total of six wolves at three different locations, also lots of bisons, coyotes, Bald Eagles, elks, pronghorns, and a huge herd of big horn sheep. We also loved the experience to have our picnic lunch inside the empty map room of the historic Mammoth Hot Spring Hotel. Thank you for the great memories!

If you are looking for a private tour with reasonable price at Lamar valley and also friendly and experienced guides, you should definitely want to consider Yellowstone Guidelines.

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank wenc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024

My wife always wanted to see a wolf in the wild so we contacted Chris at Yellowstone Guidelines to set up tours for two days. Chris was great to work with and made everything so easy. We got lucky, seeing wolves on both days, along with a ton of other wildlife. We've already told all of our friends about the trip and encouraged them to contact Chris.
If we had tried to spot the wolves on our own, we never would have seen one. The guides know where to look and can spot the animals that most of us would miss. It's definitely worth the money!

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank nauticruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2024

Just spent six days with Chris Hondorf as my guide. The purpose of my trip was photographing wildlife and landscapes of Yellowstone in the winter traveling from Gardiner to Cooke City. Even though the snow was light, Chris, with his great ability to find wildlife was able to provide me the opportunities to capture the photographs I was after.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2024

Great trip with Chris & Yellowstone Guidelines! Chris is passionate conservationist with a deep appreciation and connection to the park! He provided a unique perspective to the history and ecology!

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews