We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feast for the senses”

Yellowstone Valley Grill
Ranked #8 of 64 Restaurants in Livingston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

YVGrill is attached to Yellowstone Valley Lodge but not part of the lodge. YOU MUST HAVE RESERVATIONS FOR THE GRILL. MAKE YOUR RESERVATION WHEN YOU BOOK YOUR STAY AT YVL. I’ve seen many people turned away. This place is always full when we’re there. Okay, so we’ve been coming to YVG for as long as they’ve been here. We come to YVLodge every year to fish and if you book a fishing package dinner is included. We’ve gotten to know the staff and are greeted like family. We love catching up with this amazing group of hard working people. Chef Marcos and Sari run an amazingly efficient kitchen in a very small space. The dishes are amazing, not your usual Montana steak and potatoes. Yes, several steak items are on the menu, but so much more! Marcos smokes lamb ribs. Sari makes the most amazing sauces and desserts. Fresh fish is flown in for sashimi and poke. I had an amazing salmon special one night. Hubby had fresh halibut with Thai flavors on another night. The food just keeps getting better. We were fortunate to have my brother and sister in law join us for hubby’s birthday. They were on their cross country RV trip and planned to join us for dinner. We couldn’t have been more happy with our dinner that night. I’d asked ahead for a pitcher of iced tea prepared for my brother, and also a fresh fruit dessert and wow. All the little extras proved to my brother and sister in law that we were correct in the quality of the food and service at YVG. People come from all over to dine here. It is gourmet food in a spectacular setting. There were groups celebrating birthdays, and other special occasions. If you have room try the huckleberry or chocolate runs through it ice cream. Along with Chef Marcos and Sari, Amanda, Jin, Carolina, Erica, Venessa, Ruby and the guys in the back really know how to keep things running smoothly. I’m not just saying this because we’ve become “family”, this is truly one of the best restaurant in the country. Please make your reservations early.

Date of visit: September 2019
3  Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2019

You will leave with a great experience for sure, the scenery is great, and the small owner operator feel is outstanding. Polite staff, not overly friendly, certainly draws a crowd of big spenders...My $48 bison steak was ok, and I certainly needed a meal later on after dinner...The hamburger was reasonably priced if a $17 hamburger is reasonable and perhaps tasted better than the bison and the pork chops. The fish was tasty and the appetizers small for the price but you are paying for the scenery.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Our quiet night out was truly fabulous! The setting for the Yellowstone Valley Grill is phenomenal ! The sensation is like you are part of a beautiful picture. River, surrounding country side, ranches and mountains take your breath away. The food was absolutely brilliant! The food is beautifully presented, perfectly prepared and tastes were out of this world. The serving staff were all extremely pleasant, helpful and professional. An all around tasty gourmet treat for a special night out!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Compass603763
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2019 via mobile

Wonderful setting in both the casual dining room and especially the patio. The view is spectacular. The food as well. A creative a menu you will not find in much larger cities. If you are within 30 miles take the trek... it’s worth it.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank thomasdZ7787HS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Nice selection of food choices both local choices and flown in Seafood. The cooking is inventive and interesting. Truly an amazing place with lots of options. The salad selection was outstanding. The appetizers are really fun. The desserts have something for everyone.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank 472jana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Yellowstone Valley Grill also viewed

 
Livingston, MT
 

Been to Yellowstone Valley Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.