We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lindsay R
Sparta, Missouri

Best spot in the valley

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2021via mobile
We had the best time here. The best views in the valley and so relaxing. The lodge coordinated fishing trips and a Yellowstone tour for us. Their restaurant is the best in the valley! (Get reservations when you book) Kevin and Danielle are simply the best to work with. We have already reserved our cabin for next year. Don’t pass on this gem!
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danielle and Kevin Otero, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this review
Responded 19 Aug 2021
Thank you so very much for all the positive feedback! It was so nice to meet you all, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we're looking forward to your next visit. See you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $242
  • Hotels.com
22.9 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
$869
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $869
8.7 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
23.0 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
$582
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    $582
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
23.4 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
23.2 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Choice Hotels
23.2 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
  • Vio.com
25.1 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Cargill-Earl Guesthouse at twilight
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
8.7 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
  • Skyscanner.com
23.5 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $309
  • Hotels.com
25.8 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Livingston
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
194
55
14
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
194
55
14
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river back porch on site restaurant fire pit toaster oven horseback riding included breakfast comfortable room pine creek deck cabin mountains miles danielle grill yellowstone homemade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at YVL! We were in an Absaroka Deluxe cabin (#18) and it was perfect for us. 2 bedrooms with a kitchenette with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven, and coffee maker. Back patio with Adirondack chairs overlooking the Yellowstone River—the best!
Kevin and Danielle, the managers, are friendly, helpful and accommodating. The breakfast offerings were delicious and a great start for a day of fishing. Read reviews for the Yellowstone Valley Grill, the on-site restaurant, and book your dinner reservation WELL in advance—it’s fantastic!
My son and I enjoyed a float from a launch upriver to YVL. Rubber Ducky rentals in nearby Livingston provided all the tools for paddle boarding/rafting—highly recommend. Also enjoyed fly fishing from the bank on the grounds of the lodge. Great time all around!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 3Halls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danielle and Kevin Otero, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Thank you so much for staying with us! We certainly enjoyed meeting you and you family, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. We appreciate you sharing your experience and for all the positive feedback. We're looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in early July. The setting is fabulous right on the Yellowstone River. We enjoyed watching rafts and tubers float by on our back patio. The property is in a rural area south of Livingston, Montana, and north of Emigrant, so it isn’t kitschy like Gardiner. Our cabin was a duplex. The rooms are updated older cabins. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of fluffy towels and nice bath amenities. The sink and shower/commode were separate. A fabulous breakfast was provided in the excellent restaurant on the property. We made dinner reservations at the same time we booked the room, and it was wonderful.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 960nancya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danielle and Kevin Otero, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Thank you so much for staying with us! We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. :) Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2021

We stayed at this property after 3 days in the parks and what a perfect choice! The views were spectacular, the room (our room had a kind downstairs and twin beds upstairs, 2 bathrooms) was a welcome change from the lodges inside the parks. A private patio overlooking the yellowstone river was the perfect beginning and ending of the day. The wonderful complimentary breakfast was a wonderful compliment to the stay. Nice restaurant, beautiful views and great wine selection. Closer to Emigrant than Livingston and we enjoyed visiting the Old Saloon for dinner.

Room tip: The bigger cabins are 11-18, all cabins have the same amazing views
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 587laurieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danielle and Kevin Otero, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2021

Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time. Hope to see you next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

My family recently stayed in one of the two bedroom cabins and I must say this was one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. Our cabin was beautiful and the view spectacular!! When we arrived we discovered the air conditioning was not working and it could not be fixed. It was supposed to be in the 90’s everyday so I thought it was going to be awful. The manager, Kevin, went out of his way to make sure our stay was still incredible. He hooked up fans in each of the rooms and it was cool enough at night to cool the entire house. The porch with the view of the river was definitely one of the highlights!! Thank you for a perfect week!!

Room tip: Go to Yellowstone super early, like 6am. The rooms do not have ovens. Eat dinner there or the Rib and Chop House in town.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank OnAir37547108391
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danielle and Kevin Otero, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2021

Thank you so much for the kind words and for sharing your experience! We are so grateful for you're patience and understanding with us regarding the AC. We hope you can come back next time and enjoy your cabin in much cooler conditions. :)

-Kevin & Danielle, YVL Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021

Hands down, YVL is the best of all places to stay in the area. The big selling point is the Yellowstone River flows by (right to left) about 100 yards from your cabin. It's expensive, but very competitive for the region.

Another selling point is the dark, dark night sky. Bring a blueooth shutter release and a tripod for your phone camera for best effect.

Many cabins are duplexes so you can sometimes hear people with a heavy foot walking around. If it's exceptionally quiet you can make out sentences early in the morning. This only happened a couple times. Generally, your schedule will be different from your neighbor and you may never interact at all unless you choose to.

The back deck has a partition that extends about 90%, so you can expect visual privacy, but you can very easily hear each other. By no means should this discourage you from staying. It's entirely possible the could be an empty cabin next to you. The place is so inviting, you may end up making a new friend.

All the staff are as nice as can be, and are hard workers. The entire place is super-clean and I get the impression that everyone working here is very proud of this wonderful little gem.

They serve a very nice breakfast in the mornings with eggs, or sausage, or bacon, or cookies, or muffins. The proximity to the North Gate at Yellowstone is also a good selling point.

We absolutely loved this place and would love to come back to it some day. I almost don't want to tell anyone about it so I can have it all to myself. :)

Room tip: Many, if not all these cabins are duplexes. Not sure you can pick your cabin but I guess you can ask.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thebignance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danielle and Kevin Otero, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Wow! From all of us here at YVL, we would like to thank you for putting a big smile on our faces. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for such a thoughtful and positive review. It really gave us something to celebrate! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! -YVL Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews