We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Choice Privileges member rate available
Booking.com
$413
Breakfast included
Choice Hotels
$413
Save with Choice Privileges
Trip.com
$394
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Bombay2009
Denver
Very special place....
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Aug 2020
We spent the day in Yellowstone and arrived too early to check in at the Yellowstone Valley Inn... yet they checked us in and welcomed us to our room.... lovely 3 + star accommodations, and walking out to our patio/ deck brought us the reason for spending time here....Stunning views of the river and a peaceful resting spot! Loved this view. Due to COVID, dinner was ordered picked up and enjoyed in our room. The duck was perfectly cooked and our meal was delicious all through.... we only wish the dining room could have been allowed to open to see the presentation that might have been possible. The chef here is very special... I read the complaints.... we have none... we received more than expected and totally enjoyed this unique stay on Yellowstone River...
Date of stay: August 2020
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$202
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    $202
  • Hotels.com
    $202
  • Priceline
    $202
22.9 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$191
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $195
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Priceline
    $191
23.2 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$218
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $230
  • Hotels.com
    $224
  • Priceline
    $218
23.0 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$200
Fully refundable
  • Choice Hotels
    $197
  • Expedia.com
    $211
  • Priceline
    $200
23.2 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$416
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $420
  • Hotels.com
    $420
  • Vio.com
    $416
23.4 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$420
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $420
  • Vio.com
    $420
  • Skyscanner.com
    $420
25.1 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
$202
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    $202
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Priceline
    $202
23.4 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$164
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $166
  • Expedia.com
    $148
  • Priceline
    $164
25.8 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$413
  • Choice Hotels
    $413
  • Trip.com
    $394
  • Priceline
    $413
0.0 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$520
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $520
  • Priceline
    $520
  • Residence Inn
    $520
40.5 km from Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Livingston
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
192
55
14
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
192
55
14
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river back porch on site restaurant fire pit toaster oven horseback riding included breakfast comfortable room pine creek deck cabin mountains miles danielle grill yellowstone homemade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2020

We stayed at the Lodge for 2 nights the end of July. We had been so looking forward to our stay, but were very disappointed in the room. Our room was dark and needed some tender loving care. Paint chipping off wall. Very heavy drapes, which I do not think are wise to have with Covid. Our air conditioner struggled, but never made room comfortable. View was beautiful. Breakfast was very disappointing. I know with Covid, it is different now. However, giving just one choice out of 4 items, one being Cheerios, is a little ridiculous. Could have juice or fruit with item. Food from Yellowstone Valley Lodge was takeout now, but very tasty. For the cost of the room, we will not be staying there again.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loveinns03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Johnson, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2020

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
YVL Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2020 via mobile

My hubby and I stumbled upon this gem of a restaurant. We got super lucky that they had a last minute opening for dinner, typically you need reservations and I understand why! Everything about our experience here was perfect. We had the Tuna Poke appetizer, bison tenderloin and pork tenderloin and creme brulee which were made to perfection and delicious. It is a romantic spot and a lovely backdrop of the mountains to top off the entire experience. We will absolutely be back and highly recommend Yellowstone Valley Lodge for dinner.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 411jodir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2020

Thank you so much for such positive feedback! We appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019 via mobile

My experience at Yellowstone Valley Lodge was underwhelming and disappointing. For years I had heard about this comfortable resort with great food and decided to give it a try. When I made the reservation I asked about making a reservation for the dining room and was told it wasn’t necessary for guests to make a reservation simply tell them what time I wanted to dine and guests would be accommodated. I told the reservationist to make a note for a 7 pm dinner reservation just in case. At check in I asked about a dinner reservation and was told that they had been booked up for weeks and other restaurants in Livingston’s were suggested. I asked about breakfast the following morning and was told there would be a full breakfast with made to order eggs not a “continental breakfast”. The next morning when we arrived for breakfast there was a warming tray with oldish French toast and a few sausage links. When asked about eggs I was told that they didn’t have any that day. They also ran out of coffee. Near the end of my lackluster meal the server announced to the dining room that breakfast was over and they were removing the food and please bus your own tables. The dining room itself sits beneath the building and has the charm of a basement with poor decor and little light.

The cabins were adequate but dated. The views were nice. Nothing special about YVL other than the views and proximity to the Yellowstone River and Yellowstone National Park.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

We are very sorry to hear about your experience during your recent visit with us and we apologize for any miscommunications regarding reservations for the dinning room during your stay. We will use your feedback to review those procedures with our staff to avoid any issues in the future. We sincerely appreciate your business and we hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Danielle and Kevin Otero
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

Another perfect stay ay YVL. Before I write about the lodge, I must stress YVGrill is not part of the lodge. You MUST MAKE YOUR DINNER RESERVATION AT YELLOWSTONE VALLEY GRILL WHEN YOU MAKE YOUR LODGE RESERVATION!! I was in the lodge office twice hearing people wanted to stay AND eat at YVG. The Grill was booked solid. Dinner reservations are a must for one of the best restaurants in the country. We arrived 2 days before starting to fish, to relax and spend some time walking the trails around YVL. Joining Lauren, the new onsite managers Danielle and Kevin are wonderful. They are working hard to make improvements every day. The view from our cozy cabin never gets old. The room was clean and freshly painted. We always book cozy cabin 5, closer to the river sounds. We sleep with the sliding door open to let the river sing us to sleep. We come to fish, and usually wake before the sun, but the curtains do a good job of blocking out the light. Housekeeping took care of all my requests and made things very comfortable. Breakfast is included in your stay (again, not dinner. Make your dinner reservation at the Grill when you make your lodge reservation) Alisha and Carla really knows how to fill your tummy before a long day of fishing. So many freshly made baked goods to choose from and usually an egg special with bacon or sausage. Always juices, yogurt and fresh fruit too. If you fly fish or would like to try it, get in touch with Eric Adams of Montana Fly Fishing Guides LLC. Eric’s guides are top notch and there is a guide for every level of experience. Before I wrote this I looked back at all my reviews and realized we’ve been coming to YVL for 15 years. We’ve seen owners change. We’ve met many managers. There have been upgrades, WiFi and TVs in the rooms. Hubby used to have to go to the Cutthroat Lounge to see sports on the tv there. The lounge also has a microwave for heating up your leftovers from YVG, but more on the Grill later. The one thing that never changes is the view. We were fortunate to be able to host my brother and sister in law for a night at the lodge in the middle of their cross country RV trip. They walked into their cozy cabin room and directly out onto the patio to see the view. They worked out their trip to be here for hubby’s birthday, and dinner at the Grill. Now they understand why we have raved about YVL and for 15 years. Danielle and Kevin have plans to keep making improvements to the cabins, and things can only get better. Yes, we are booked for next year. Read my review of the Yellowstone Valley Grill.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2019

The BEST dinner we have had in awhile. The Elk special and my husbands ribeye were cooked to perfection. We enjoyed a glass of wine by the river before dinner and enjoyed an amazing wine selection with our meals. Service was perfect in every way. We wouldn’t change a thing.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews