We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From great to terrible”

Neptunes Taphouse and Eatery
Ranked #13 of 63 Restaurants in Livingston
Price range: $17 - $44
Description: We wanted to stand out and bring something incredible to our community. We brought in what we like to call "Surf Style Sushi" and paired it alongside burgers and fish fry. We have created a new, comfortable place where you can focus on the food and drink experience for our locals and tourists who love our quirky mountain town.
Restaurant details
Description: We wanted to stand out and bring something incredible to our community. We brought in what we like to call "Surf Style Sushi" and paired it alongside burgers and fish fry. We have created a new, comfortable place where you can focus on the food and drink experience for our locals and tourists who love our quirky mountain town.
Reviewed 20 September 2023

We have been staying in the area for three months and this was our fourth trip to Neptunes, coming from Bozeman. Until this experience we were quite satisfied with the food and service.

However, this trip was a disaster. We waited over fifteen minutes for water service and an hour before our food was served. The reason given was that they had a large to go order. But they never bothered to tell us that until we went looking for our food .

We did not eat our food, paid the bill and left. Ten minutes later we returned because I had forgotten my favorite hat. Our table had not been bused yet and my hat was gone. We spoke with the wait staff who said that they never saw it and it was probably stolen.

That was probably a correct assessment. The hat was stolen but by whom?

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2023

We live in Bozeman and put our name on the waitlist as we left and headed over the pass(where there is no phone reception) and looked forward to a wonderful meal that we knew in advance having eaten here several times before. When we arrived the staff informed us that they had given away our table because we didn’t answer their texts to us if we were still coming. We were both surprised how rude and uncaring the staff reacted to us when we showed our disappointment at the situation. They stuck us at a table in their outside dining area which was quite empty considering it was chilly and windy. I made a comment to the waitress that We didn’t appreciate the way we were being treated in such a freaky way. The waitress thought I was calling her a freak and got very ugly. After all of this we decided to leave. It was clearly not a good situation from beginning to end! Just ridiculous! Won’t be going back!

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank Quest546754
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2023 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise! Traveling with family from Yellowstone to Billings and stopped in this adorable town for shopping and lunch. I was a little skeptical but it looked fun and we were not disappointed. The food is fresh, tasty the service fantastic. But…. The tropical Craft cocktails were over the top the best Mai Tai, Pain killer, Daiquiris this group has ever had. No premade mixes here! The shrimp tacos and fish and chips were perfect not to mention the guacamole! Highly recommend

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank JoM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2023 via mobile

There are not a lot of dining options in Livingston on Sunday eve. Neptunes is very busy late June - possibly tourists. We expected the slow service but did not expect such bad food. The Bigger Boat Taco Plate was chosen and a side salad to substitute for fries. The “so-called wild caught cod” and “seahorse sauce” had a putrid taste. I could not identify what I was eating. As there were three tacos I tried each one looking for a bite worth eating. It got worse. The dish was “creative, to say the least”, in calling it tacos. The taco shells looked identifiable but were left behind with all of the rest of inedible food! No more Neptunes for us!

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2022

Stopped in for a drink (or 2) before going to a movie. Nice selection of draft beers and mixed cocktails. Friendly bartender. Met some nice people from town. I had the Golden Nymph and the wife had a Pain Killer. Nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Neptunes Taphouse and Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Neptunes Taphouse and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.