We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved this place!”

Neptunes Taphouse and Eatery
Ranked #13 of 63 Restaurants in Livingston
Price range: $17 - $44
Description: We wanted to stand out and bring something incredible to our community. We brought in what we like to call "Surf Style Sushi" and paired it alongside burgers and fish fry. We have created a new, comfortable place where you can focus on the food and drink experience for our locals and tourists who love our quirky mountain town.
Restaurant details
Description: We wanted to stand out and bring something incredible to our community. We brought in what we like to call "Surf Style Sushi" and paired it alongside burgers and fish fry. We have created a new, comfortable place where you can focus on the food and drink experience for our locals and tourists who love our quirky mountain town.
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place! Once inside, you would never believe that you aren’t in a little coastal town somewhere tropical. Fabulous atmosphere, exceptional service, and the food was amazing. My son even insisted on ordering the sirloin special (which we thought might not be great in a sushi type restaurant) but, we were so wrong! It was tender and juicy and the Brussels were the best I have ever tasted! Don’t change a thing Neptune’s! We live in Billings and will definitely be back!!!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank ThisSucks1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2020

Good place for seafood, local craft beer, and a variety of saki. A couple blocks from midtown, so easier parking.

Date of visit: August 2020
2  Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2020 via mobile

We almost went to a steak and rib place while passing through Livingston on the way to Billings. That seemed like the most logical thing to do. When in Montana ...(we are from Texas) However, I saw this place on Yelp and TripAdvisor. I hadn't had sushi in forever and suddenly, it seemed like we needed to make the stop. It's a cute place with unique decor that you wouldn't expect in Montana. It is NOT Japanese sushi. So if that is what you want, keep moving and get a steak. It is a nice twist on sushi and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I got the Hamachi sashimi 'surf style' and the Absaroka Sunrise roll. Both were awesome! Highly recommend the roll. I also had a couple El Corsarios to drink. Again, different, but very good. Where else can you have sushi where your guy enjoys a hamburger, fries and a coke? He also said they were good. Rachel was excellent and took great care of us. If you are in the area, try something off the beaten path! Ask for Rachel. She was the best!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Cinkin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

So disappointed, we were really looking forward to eating sushi here tonight. My husband stopped by at 7pm and was told there was no wait at all for 2 people, so we returned 5 minutes later to be told by a different person there was a 20 minute wait and she would text us. We accepted this, we understand that things are different right now, not all tables are being used and maybe they got busy in 5 minutes. We did not receive a text in 20 minutes, so we returned to the restaurant and politely waited. While we waited, 2 different couples walked in, said they didn’t have a reservation, and were seated immediately? So my husband explained we had been waiting for 20 minutes and we were told, with no apologies, we would need to wait another 15 minutes? At which point we decided to eat somewhere else, they just shrugged us off without a care.
The issue here seems to be that 3 different people are working as greeters at the same time, when really only one is needed, and unfortunately they are all on very different pages and are not communicating with each other at all?
Very very disappointing, we tried to be more than accommodating as customers in this current time, to be met with ambivalence unfortunately. On the bright side we went on to experience wonderful service and food at Glens just down the street, and we will be back there tomorrow!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank TraceyJ1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
laurens215, Owner at Neptunes Taphouse and Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

We've had a very hard time since Covid after losing almost 70% of our staff. We have had to hire brand new inexperienced people and train them. We know mistakes like this are difficult for guests to understand because we are all used to dining out at restaurants that are fully staffed and fully trained. Covid has affected local businesses in a myriad of ways and inexperienced new staff is only one of those ways. This is something we are working on improving and doing the best we can. I try to remind all of our guests (and myself) that during a pandemic the effects are further reaching than you can imagine. It's not over and we are still struggling to recover. Expectations need to be adjusted accordingly. Leaving negative reviews during this time is simply unfair and detrimental to small businesses who are just trying to stay a float and serve our town.

Glenn's has a much smaller restaurant, menu, and staff than we do. It's an apples to oranges comparison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2020 via mobile

Hidden gem and you won’t be sorry. The service is always impeccable and we have never had a bad sushi roll. They have a wide selection of fun drinks and something here to please everyone.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank K3703OF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Neptunes Taphouse and Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Neptunes Taphouse and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.