We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
356
231
88
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
356
231
88
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews empire builder glacier national park cross country skiing train tracks red caboose railroad history ski trails continental divide goat fun experience the main hotel fire pit cabooses amtrak isaak memorabilia snow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2021

I came here to visit Glacier for the first time and to visit a friend. Was served by Jersey John who went above and beyond to make our experience in Glacier memorable. Great conversation and excellent drinks. 10 out of 10 would recommend this great Inn on your next trip to the park!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 963laceym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2021

My husband and I celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary at the Izaak Walton Inn last night!! We had a most amazing chef named Chef Paul who created a glorious and sumptuous meal for us that we will not soon forget!!

We live in the Flathead lake area but it was well worth the drive to enjoy such an incredible meal in such a Majestic setting!! I think the Izaak Walton Inn is one of the best kept secrets in the Flathead Valley area!!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank clairemarie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021 via mobile

We just love this place!! We visit every Summer and every Winter!! We have been visiting for the past 5 years! The Red Caboose is our favorite and sits up on the hill across from the main hotel. We have stayed in almost each different accommodation the hotel has to offer.

During the winter, it's ski in, ski out and you have to park at the Hotel parking lot and the wonderful staff brings you and your family and all of the luggage and coolers up to the caboose! You are not able to drive on the Ski trails at all as it is a Forest Service restriction and posted on the road/trail. But, the staff is very helpful with assisting. We look forward to this every Winter as our family getaway! The kiddos love skiing and we even did a snowshoe trip this year with Glacier Treks and it was so much fun!

We visited during the Summer numerous times too just so we could take a nice break from our busy lives and go enjoy the beauty of Glacier and the surrounding recreation areas! During the Summer, you can drive up the Forest Service road and get parking right in front of your caboose! You can also start a great day hike right from the caboose once you arrive. There are firepits for BBQs and S'mores and the staff will always bring up firewood when you request it!

Every time we have visited it is so fun to see all the returning staff and get to meet any staff that is new. So many times we have shared stories with the staff from visits before and everyone remembers!

Our family highly recommends this as a must do for anyone looking for a unique and family friendly getaway!

See you this Summer at the Izaak! Can't wait! Be there in July!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SpokFam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2021

We recently completed our second stay in the Blue Caboose. We had enjoyed the uniqueness of the Caboose in October and wanted to come back when there was snow so we could cross country ski. We checked in late afternoon, received our keys and started the drive to the Caboose. While the Caboose is located within view of the the Inn it is about 400 yards up the "Hill" on the other side of the railroad tracks. To reach by car involves a 2 mile trip back down the highway, across the railroad tracks and then up a dirt road.. Shortly after turning off the highway we became stuck in the snow. Fortunately for us a couple of skiers who were staying at the Inn came by. They offered to ski back to the Inn and inform them of our predicament. After more than an hour and no signs of help I decided to walk back to the Inn. (Really, there is no cell phone service in the area.) The front desk person was not the one who had checked us in. He was however aware of our plight and very surprised that we were still stranded. He used his hand held radio to reach whomever with no results and then offered to take me back to the car so that we could at least get our personal belongings into the Caboose. Unfortunately we had barely left the Inn when he was called back to check in arriving guests. Eventually he made contact with someone and we made it into our Caboose before darkness fell.
We were surprised and disappointed that no one from management reached out to us during the remainder of our 3 night stay. Upon returning home I started an email exchange with the Izaak Walton Companies General Manager. They have now implemented a policy with the staff that no guests will be allowed to drive (in the wintertime) if they are staying in a Caboose on the "Hill". Assistance will be provided by the Inn in such cases as needed for individuals and their personal belongings.
We are still in the dark as to what procedures are or were put into place when we needed to be "rescued" after being stuck. We have no idea if or when someone would have come to assist us if I had not walked back to the Inn. The General Manager stated that the person responsible for and who eventually assisted us is in fact an independent contractor of the Izaak Walton Inn. We still are not sure why this information should have an impact on us as guests of the Inn. I think our experience was best summarized by an employee who commented that thank goodness this wasn't a medical emergency.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpalawSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2021

This place has a very festive atmosphere my grandson loved every minute. The staff and service were excellent all needs were met quickly. The restaurant's menu has something for even the pickiest eaters. Snowmobiling, horseback riding, and Seadoo just a few activities easy access.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AEROSMOOTHE117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews