We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Still Dreaming of this Place Months Later!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ennis, Montana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stacky197...
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still Dreaming of this Place Months Later!”
Reviewed 11 February 2018 for a stay in September 2017

My mom and I are fans of renting from Mountain Home and this house did not disappoint! You are minutes from Ennis with endless dirt roads to explore, yet you sit on the side of a hill overlooking the Madison Valley and Madison Range and have plenty of privacy without having to travel too far. After driving Gravelly Range Road all day (do this if you have the time - amazing drive) and touring Ennis and the surrounding area to take photos, my mom and I enjoyed returning home to this fully furnished cabin with a stellar view! The kitchen was fully equipped with all we needed to cook our meals but the high point of this cabin is sitting on the deck and enjoying the view! In the early morning or evening, gazing at the stars while enjoying the hot tub was another high point. As is always the case with any Mountain Home rental, we can't wait to go to the next one!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Madison Valley Overlook and Mountain Home Vacation Rentals! We are so very glad that you and your group had such a great time at the home. We love hearing that people enjoyed our properties! Let us know whenever you are ready to plan another trip to Montana. We would love to help you find the perfect place for your next getaway. Thanks again and have a wonderful day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryanneH...
Crystal Lake, IL
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Breathtaking !”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The location is beautiful - mountains and hills surround this home. Inside, the home has all the ammenities one could hope for ! We had a fantastic time !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAE2512
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful home”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We loved our stay at this beautiful home. The views are amazing. The home is spacious with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a loft with bed and piano, dining area, large family room, laundry area and a great kitchen. The kitchen is well stocked with everything to prepare and serve meals. There is a large deck with a BBQ, spa and patio table. Everything is very comfortable and relaxing.

The home overlooks the valley and is very private and peaceful, which is exactly what we were looking for. It was nice hearing and seeing birds, deer, bunnies and ground squirrels during our stay.

The dirt road leading to the home is very private and a little bumpy but we didn't mind the bumps.

The home is close to town and fishing is nearby. If you are looking for a beautiful home with amazing views.... this is it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thank you for your lovely review of the Madison Valley Overlook! We love hearing that our guests enjoyed the home and that the home was fully equipped allowing you to relax and take in the beauty of the Madison Valley. We definitely recommend four wheel drive for the road, as the dirt road is a bit bumpy, but worth it, to reach the solitude of the home. Thanks again for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again on your next adventure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraLo...
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at the Madison Valley Overlook for 21 days in July 2016 and wished we could have stayed longer. The house is exactly as advertised, but there is no way to describe the beautiful views and the peaceful feeling that you experience while there. The house is beautiful and very well appointed. The Master Bedroom offers wonderful privacy from the other bedrooms which are also private from the main living quarters. We enjoyed the hot tub almost every night. The deck is a a great place to sit and read and enjoy morning coffee or evening wine. The house is secluded without being isolated. A 10 minute drive to Ennis which has everything you need. Upon arrival, the outdoor grill wasn't working properly - we had a new one within 24 hours. The beds were unbelievably comfortable. WiFi was great which allowed us to do a little work while there (that is if you can tear yourself away the views). I cannot say enough good things about the house and the rental experience. Virginia City is a short drive away as well as the Gravely Mountain Range and outstanding fishing in the Madison River. I highly recommend this house to anyone who wants to experience the friendliness and peacefulness of Montana.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded and Private, but not isolated.
Liked least: everything was wonderful - no complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuietPers...
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Perfect”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Madison Valley Overlook felt very welcoming and comfortable. It had everything we needed and more. Loved our 10 days at this house! Views, wildlife, peace and quiet, lovely amenities. We felt like beloved guests in someone's nicely furnished home. The wood floors are great. Loved the dirt road, the sagebrush, the wildflowers, prairie dogs. A pronghorn walked by the porch one day. Kitchen was very well stocked and had nice appliances! Bathrooms were lovely and clean. We used the hot tub every evening. Our 15 year-old daughter enjoyed the piano in the loft. Drove past a few nice homes (neighbors' homes which you can see from the deck) on the dirt road that leads to this house. My husband is a fly fisherman (wading), so he drove about 30 minutes to get to various fishing spots on the Madison River--he favored the Palisades and Ruby Creek areas. He also went to Beartrap Canyon a couple of times. We stocked up at the grocery store in Ennis and ate most meals at the house, but enjoyed a delicious steak dinner at McAllister Inn. There was a nicely stocked pantry and kitchen cabinets had spices, oils, even cereal! We were there in late May/early June with some rainy, chilly days so we enjoyed the gas fireplace which warmed up the house quickly and gave it a cozy feeling. Plenty of books, guides, and magazines to read. Internet worked fine. Close to Virginia City & Nevada City, but we just passed through there on our drive to Dillon (beautiful scenery the entire way). Drove to Yellowstone NP twice, and saw the Tetons as well. Also a pretty drive to Bozeman from here. This area is a photographer's dream. Took one last look back through the big living room windows as we were heading out the front door for the final time, and I had a lump in my throat saying goodbye to this house and these soul-filling surroundings! And we surely miss the delicious taste of Montana water!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, amenities, spaciousness
Liked least: The set of waffle towels - lol
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing