We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Belcher river trail in Yellowstone National Park, it was total awesome

A little late, I did the Belcher river trail in Yellowstone National Park with big wild adventures... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2022
kennykaren1
,
Monroe, New York
via mobile
Seaway-Bitterroot hike

I had an excellent experience on this hike. The scenery was spectacular, the weather was perfect... read more

Reviewed 20 July 2018
curtson02
,
Iowa City, United States
Read all 6 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
4
0
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
0
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2018

I cannot recommend this company.

In 2016, I did a 6 day back pack with Big Wild Adventures. The quality of the guides was excellent. My husband & I then signed up with Big Wild for a May 2018 , 6 day float trip on the Missouri River. No prior canoeing experience was required.

The trip is planned for that time the year because it is just ahead of the snow pack coming down, and the river is quite mellow. But the winter of 2018/19 produced 150% of normal snowpack in Montana. By late April,, tributaries to the Missouri were running very high & dams controlling flooding on the Missouri River were filling rapidly.

A week before the trip start, I raised concerns about the size of the river. Two days before the trip start, NOA issued a “Minor Flood Stage” warning for the stretch of the river to be covered on last few days of the trip. The river normally runs at 19,000 cfs (cubic foot per second) that time of the year, but was forecasted to be at 35,000cfs. The final takeout point was already underwater.

We felt the NOA warnings made it clear the trip was unsafe for novice canoers. Big Wild felt the river was totally safe, refused to cancel the trip, did not offer a refund, and did not offer to reschedule the following year. We are out $3,800. Trip insurance? It is doubtful trip insurance would cover since the trip was not cancelled..

We accept the risk of forecasted and unexpected bad weather. But when NOA forecasts unsafe conditions in advance of a trip, the guide company should have accommodated our concerns.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank cathysE2749FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2018

I had an excellent experience on this hike. The scenery was spectacular, the weather was perfect, and Jesse, the guide, set a comfortable pace through rugged territory. This is a not a horizontal hike. 90% of the time you are climbing up the slope or going down it. 4 of the 5 nights we ended at a glacier-fed lake and had a "refreshing" swim that felt great.

We were generally done hiking by 2-3 PM. If you don't enjoy looking at scenery, bring a book. Otherwise, relax and enjoy the view.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank curtson02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

The owner had not properly assessed the conditions (worst mud he's ever seen), so on our week, we almost put 3 vehicles in the ditch on the way to the trailhead. Even then, the main access approach was impassable, and we had to walk back out. The tour as planned was a bust.

It was rather dull. There were some physical issues as well. 4 of our 8 guys left after 2 days.

We went to Plan B. The guides were nice. It was interesting but not worth it. Too expensive for too little.

I cannot recommend the trip.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Awesome! 6 days in the wilderness with no people! Bob our tour guide was amazing! Cooking over a campfire for breakfast and dinner each night. Great food....especially for backpacking! The hiking was great....about 9 miles each day. They take out any size group so your trip never gets cancelled even if you r the only one who signs up!
WARNING: if you decide to backpack, and not with Big Wild Adventures, always inquire as to whether there is a Younga Kwon signed up....if there is CHANGE YOUR TRIP AND DO NOT HIKE WITH HER.

Date of experience: July 2017
6  Thank DebiMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews