We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great way to stretch your legs

Super easy hike with a little bit of hard breathing. Nice to have the paved path, I’m nursing a bad... read more

Reviewed 25 October 2023
momof2wildchilds
,
Denver, Colorado
via mobile
Beautiful Falls and Good Walk!

Even though this is a short hike (less than 1.5 mile loop), the incline is steep for older people... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2023
elicas
,
Central New Jersey
Read all 329 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Bozeman
from $225.76
More Info
from $200.67
More Info
from $148.83
More Info
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
238
77
12
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
238
77
12
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paved trail easy hike beautiful hike reservoir yellowstone
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2022

Amazing hike that is easy and perfect for all seasons. beautiful both in winter and summer time. Family friendly and couple friendly.

Date of experience: February 2022
1  Thank Slopes_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2022 via mobile

We were “stranded” in Bozeman due to Yellowstone being closed for flooding and were scrambling for backup plans. This stop did not disappoint and 1.7k people in my Yellowstone travel group agreed it was a great choice after I posted photos. The drive alone is breathtaking with beautiful views of Hylalite Creek and Reservoir. Very grateful to TripAdvisor for filling me in about this local gem.

Date of experience: June 2022
3  Thank Kristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2022 via mobile

Very well maintained paved trail. Our small dog and older parents had no problems. My 75 year old mother (couch potato) who has had a knee replacement did fine by walking slow and taking breaks when needed. The falls are beautiful and worth the hike.

Date of experience: June 2022
3  Thank fewarechosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Easy 0.7 paved walk to the falls. Bring bear spray just in case. Did the walk in flip flops, due to the fact that we were not planning on any excursions that day and it was fine.

Date of experience: July 2021
2  Thank Pandy527
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2021

The hike itself is short and fairly easy. The entire trail is paved and when we went on a Friday evening, there were no crowds at all. There are a number of parking spots at the trail head but getting to the Palisade Falls trail involves some travel through gravel roads - not the smoothest experience but the scenery on the road, closer to the falls is simply stunning! Lovely views of the Hyalite reservoir and the surrounding mountains make for plenty of spots for some stunning vistas! Because the entire trail is paved with asphalt, I assume that it is accessible using a wheelchair too. The walk up the trail from the base is around 0.7 miles and while it is pretty much inclined throughout that distance, it is doable even for an occasional hiker. While the falls are sure tall, I wouldn't call it grand. I confess that I enjoyed the drive to and from the falls than the actual falls itself! The paved trail ends a short distance from the base of the falls (with a full view of the falls, of course!). Once there, one can opt to stay there and take in the view or else, climb through some rocks to reach closer to the falling water.

Date of experience: June 2021
7  Thank Nostalgiyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews