We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jim L
Birmingham, AL

Not the worst, but some to be desired

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jul 2014
OK, let's look at this for what it is. My daughter has a dog, this fit the bill. The rooms were cheap considering the town and time of year, but......... the bed was worn out, there were some nasties in the room. There is no refridge, micowave, coffee maker or much else. The AC unit is a self install window and makes me wonder about females traveling. All in all, for the price it wasn't that bad, and they have tried to up grade some things, but in the end, you can't polish a turd. I will not stay here again, just too far below my standards.
Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$485
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $537
  • ZenHotels.com
    $429
  • Hotels.com
    $536
1.5 km from Ranch House Motel
Free Wifi
$505
  • SpringHill Suites
    $504
  • Priceline
    $505
  • Expedia.com
    $504
3.8 km from Ranch House Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
$452
  • Priceline
    $452
  • Expedia.com
    $451
  • Hotels.com
    $450
3.0 km from Ranch House Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$416
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $415
  • Skyscanner.com
    $416
  • Vio.com
    $415
5.3 km from Ranch House Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$367
  • Choice Hotels
    $367
  • Priceline
    $367
  • Expedia.com
    $367
5.4 km from Ranch House Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$633
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $630
  • Kimpton
    $575
  • Priceline
    $633
1.4 km from Ranch House Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
$443
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $441
  • Expedia.com
    $442
  • Priceline
    $443
2.1 km from Ranch House Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$467
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $465
  • Skyscanner.com
    $430
  • Hotels.com
    $465
2.0 km from Ranch House Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$302
  • Wyndham
    $301
  • Algotels
    $270
  • Expedia.com
    $301
2.6 km from Ranch House Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$495
  • Priceline
    $495
  • Choice Hotels
    $494
  • Expedia.com
    $499
5.4 km from Ranch House Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bozeman
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
2
5
4
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
5
4
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Worst motel/hotel/hostel experience of my life. Would not recommend in a million years; sleeping in the car would be better. I did end up going to the Motel 6 in Bozeman after this, which was actually an incredible motel, especially considering it was the same price as the Ranch House. For the full story read below:

I called the Ranch House Motel in Bozeman a few days before I arrived. I asked what their rates would be for a single person with a dog. The person on the phone asked me how old the dog is, and if he has been house trained. I answered his questions (2 years old and yes,) and he told me it would cost 43 after tax, and they usually have space if I arrive the day of so I do not need to make a reservation.

I arrived in Bozeman and got to the Ranch House Motel. The girl at the front desk said that it is an extra 5.00/night for a dog. I told her that the guy on the phone said it was 43 after tax, and I had told him about my dog. She immediately said that the only guy there is the owner, so that 43 is fine. I booked a 2 night stay. She let me look at one room which had a smell which made me come very close to vomiting, which is a big deal as I work as a paramedic, but ended up putting me in a room which did not smell that bad, saying the smelly room was because the owner would have wanted her to show me it. She was very pleasant and was the only good thing about this hotel.

Later that evening, I received a call from the owner. He told me that it is an extra 5.00 a night for the dog, and that he never told me otherwise. I reminded him that I talked to him on the phone, and that he said it was 43.00 after tax. He got very mad and said he never said that, and hung up the phone.

The owner was clearly angry at this point, and I walked to the front desk in order to rectify the situation. I very calmly told him that we talked on the phone a few days ago, and that he told me it was 43 after tax - after asking about whether my dog had been house trained. I asked if any other male may have been working in the last few days, thinking he might have had a son or something filling in. He was furious at this point, and said "I don't care about 10.00. You're here for two nights, after that you are NEVER WELCOME HERE AGAIN." I was amazed by this, and while walking out the door I said that I'll definitely be writing a review now. Admittedly, that was not the mature thing to say, however I was angry as well by this point.

After I said the review comment he started screaming at me and said "ARE YOU THREATENING ME?!" (repeating that a few times,) and I put my hands in the air and said "No, no, I am really not threatening you at all." He said that all the guests who threaten to go on the internet have mental issues (pointing to my head,) and that we are all crazy. He told me that if I stay tomorrow he would throw all my stuff out of the room in to the parking lot, which was a very serious threat considering I traveled with two pairs of skis, avalanche safety gear, an expensive laptop, and all my textbooks. I asked for my money back and told him I would leave now if he gave me the money back for both nights, as I had enough with this. He said my dog had already been in the room (the dog is well house trained and did not make a mess in the least,) and that he would only give me the money for tomorrow. To his credit, he did immediately give me the cash back for the next night.

Never before have I been physically threatened (which I assume is what he was doing by yelling "ARE YOU THREATENING ME?!" in a very angry manner, looking like he was about to jump over the table at me. I never threatened him, all I said is that I was going to write a review about how ridiculous an owner of a motel was acting over a 5.00 charge which he forgot about when I talked to him on the phone. As I promised him, here is the review. The next day I went to the motel 6, which was actually a couple dollars cheaper with their internet rate (7.00 cheaper if you have a dog, as motel 6 does not charge for dogs,) and has a swimming pool/hot tub/sauna. The rooms are immaculate in cleanliness and all of the staff are very friendly.

If you want cheap accommodation in Bozeman DO NOT stay at the Ranch House Inn. The Motel 6 is an incredible alternative, and I am sure there are other alternatives as well.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Apollo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

The Ranch House is the epitome of the worn 1950s motor inn. The location is convenient - just off the interstate and close to downtown. But maintenance is lax (peeling paint), basic services missing (no wake-up calls, but they'll give you an alarm clock). All this was minor stuff for a cheap motel. But no bath towels? That's an impressive fail.

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AdventurousTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We paid $79 + tax for a very basic 2 double (not queen) room. If you have driven by the single story motels on the side of the road that are built right on the ground and thought "I would never stay there" you know the ranch house motel. On the plus side the service was friendly (how can you be so happy to work in a cheap motel?) and the location was close to the main road. The room had an old fridge and older microwave and a tiny shower with a strong flow. The sink was newer but very basic (no vanity). The beds were ok. There is a nice view of an empty field in the back and a nice view if cars in front. This is the very definition of cheap but ok.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank desi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

Dont even look at the other reviews. The complex is Very old and insecure. It has a door nob but it doesn't even look like it will protect me from something. The shower looks terrible and smell very bad. Lythols smell everywhere. Hard to breath. I would go some place else

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pocory
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2011

If you want cheap and old, then this is it. $49 for 2 people. The room was what would be expected. It was clean but smelled terribly of Lysol. The AC did work well

Date of stay: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruzin4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews