We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mtnmaryd
Shelby Township, Michigan

All Big Horn Units have these problems.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2016
Have been staying at the Big Horn Condos for the past 6 ski seasons. The floors are cold as these units have trouble providing warmth on the very cold days/nights. The hot shower limit is 2. If more in your party, you'll have to wait for water heater to warm up more water. A huge negative is when there isn't enough snow. The younger children in our group had problems with the poma lift seat being too high for them to saddle, to ride up the side of the run. Garage is for one car only, and we had a extra long Yukon that we had to park inside of garage because the condo lacked a driveway. The lighting is poor in most of these units. Could not read a book/newspaper and cook meals with enough lighting. Owners are not providing good mattresses. They are overused and worn. Hard to get a good nights rest to feel like skiing again the next day. The association or Big Sky Resort doesn't monitor the late night parties and noise by college students and ski clubs. We didn't get our sleep on the weekends due to the party noise. Even saw a few couches from these condos used as toboggans by these partiers as they sled down a hill in them in the backyard of unit #55. Won't be staying at these condos anymore, as there are other choices in the area.
Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BSRCentralReserv, Manager at Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky, responded to this review
Responded 28 Dec 2016
Dear @Mtnmaryd,
I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on your experience at the Big Horn Condos. Big Sky Resort Central Reservations and our property management team take your feedback serious and will address all issues. In order to accurately address your feedback, could you please email me the specific condo unit, your booking method and and your stay dates? I can be reached at katie.grice@bigskyresort.com.

Thank you again and we hope to see you next year.

Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$788
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $785
  • Skyscanner.com
    $710
  • Expedia.com
    $787
4.1 km from Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Free parking
Pool
$531
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $519
  • Hotels.com
    $481
  • Skyscanner.com
    $520
11.7 km from Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
$408
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $406
  • Skyscanner.com
    $408
  • StayForLong
11.7 km from Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
$398
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $413
  • Hotels.com
    $420
  • Skyscanner.com
    $414
11.8 km from Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
$498
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $456
  • Hotels.com
    $455
  • Tripadvisor
    $456
11.8 km from Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
$344
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $343
  • Hotels.com
    $343
  • Skyscanner.com
    $345
1.2 km from Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
$603
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $603
  • Lol.travel
  • Priceline
11.8 km from Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$3,133
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $3,468
  • Expedia.com
    $3,479
  • Skyscanner.com
    $3,136
5.7 km from Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
$2,462
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    $2,553
  • Expedia.com
    $2,447
  • Hotels.com
    $2,440
9.0 km from Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Free Wifi
Pool
$1,446
  • Agoda.com
    $1,448
  • Vio.com
    $1,448
  • Expedia.com
1.9 km from Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Big Sky
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
11
10
6
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
10
6
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds full kitchen base lift lines
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Unit #55 was our condo for a week in late March. This unit hasn't been updated since it was built many decades ago. Dirty, (ripped shower curtain with pink mold on it, and food chunks in the TV remote for example) out of date, and the worst part was the beds. Mattresses were about 4 inches thick, reminiscent of 30 years ago at a 2 star resort in Cancun Mexico. I would really, truly expect more out of a condo for the price I paid to Big Sky resort. Big Sky should definitely have and uphold some minimum standards for their units they rent out, but this is not happening. The only upside to these condos is the space, they are plenty big enough for everyone in my family of 6 to have space.

Room tip: Not sure about the other units, but do not choose #55
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 007steelhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We stayed in unit #37 as part of a group ski trip. Condo was well stocked & nicely decorated. Each bedroom had its own TV. Couldn't be much closer to walk to poma lift and then could ski to base area. Only thing that would have been nicer was to have a hot tub closer. Too far to trek to Huntley Lodge to use the one available, especially if you are wet afterwards. They did have a place to change there, though.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KimP734
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Our family of 6 stayed for a week in Big Horn #29 three bedroom unit for a ski vacation over Christmas. The unit is privately owned and was excellent. The rooms are of good size and it has 3 full bathrooms so that you can have plenty of privacy. The kitchen was large and very well stocked by the owner. We even had a Christmas tree that the owner left for us and it made our vacation special. The unit has a real fireplace with plenty of wood to burn. We had cable TV and WiFi. The heating system worked well.
Getting to the Pummel lift from unit 29 was a very short walk. In the afternoon it was easy to ski right back home. Skiing in Big sky was simply amazing. It is now my favorite kind of ski resort!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brin M, Big Sky Resort Social Media Manager at Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Hi Andre,
We are so pleased to hear that you and your family loved your stay with us!
We hope you'll visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Great place for a large group to put all you ski gear out of the way! Staff was amazing and brought my wife soup when they found out she was ill and couldn't go skiing.
Nice to have a real fireplace to work with.

Could have slept 10-12 people in the 3 bed 3bath condo!
Very nice! Full kitchen to accommodate any meal.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brin M, Big Sky Resort Social Media Manager at Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Hi Steve,
We are so pleased to hear that you and your family were happy and comfortable in your Big Horn Condo at Big Sky Resort. We hope your wife is feeling better, and that she's well enough to come back and have fun on the slopes next time!
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again son!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Six of us (two couples, 2 singles) stayed in Unit #44, which is a 3 BR, 3 Bath condo during a week-long ski trip to Big Sky. It was not deluxe accommodations but it was good value and comfortable (for 4 out of the 6 of us). I would rate this as a 3.5 property.

Pros:

1. The condo provides easy access to the slopes via the Black Bear Poma lift which is a very short walk from the condo. The Poma lift starts running at 9 am and takes less than 2 minutes to ride. From there, it is a quick ski run down to the base area. All in all, we could make it from our front door to the base area in less than 10 minutes. The Poma lift stops running at 2:30 pm. To get back to the condos, take the Silver Knife trail. On days when the roads were not plowed, we could ski all the way down, over the road, to our front door! (Just keep an eye out for road traffic.)
2. The main living area of the condo was large enough to accommodate 6 people without us feeling like we were tripping over each other. There was a nice, large dining table that could easily accommodate 8 people.
3. In addition to the TV in the living area, each BR also had a TV.
4. Each BR had an en suite bath. Big plus!
5. There is a nice mudroom/entryway to the condo, with nooks for everyone to store their gear (helmets, goggles, gloves, boots). Big plus!
6. This is an attached one-car garage for ski storage.
7. Toiletries are provided along with a blow dryer. While the room is only cleaned once during a 7 night stay, there were additional towels in the vanity.
8. There is a full size washer and dryer and laundry detergent is provided.
9. A fully equipped kitchen (including tea kettle) is provided.
10. Free wi-fi is available in the condo. When I called the Big Sky Resorts, I was told the Big Horn units did not have wi-fi. So I was pleasantly surprised. this amenity is dependent on the owner.
11. TVs were hooked up to DirecTV.

Cons:
1. The Big Horn condos are a little more isolated than the Huntley Hotel or Summit Hotel. We had to walk about 5 minutes to get to the base village (for dining/shopping). The rest of our ski group (60+ skiers) stayed at the Huntley Hotel so we felt a little isolated from them. But we had more room and the convenience of a kitchen at our disposal.
2. The 3rd BR in our unit was geared toward children. It was a small room with bunk beds. The two single males were too tall for the beds but managed. There is a sleeper sofa in the living room, but neither guy felt it would be any more comfortable. When reserving a condo, be sure to inquire about the bedding. We erroneously assumed that the 3rd BR would contain twin adult beds.
3. We ended up with the master BR which was quite large and comfortable. There is a nice walk-in closet too in that BR. Only drawback was that there were only 4 hangers in the closet so it seemed like a little bit of a tease to have that large closet. The guys in the small BR were cramped with limited space for their clothing.
4. This unit does not have a hot tub.
5. The unit was a little dated but, that said, it was comfortable.
6. If you want to ski home, you have to be able to ski a blue trail called Silver Knife. A true beginner would have difficulty. But such a skier, I believe, could ski down to the base area and then call for a free shuttle to take them to the condo.

I didn't get a chance to check out the hotel rooms at either the Huntley or Summit. Both lobbies looked nice. I got the impression that the Huntley rooms may be a little dated (but a nice breakfast buffet, so I was told, is included in the price.) It looked like the Summit was newer and had a better location with true ski-in, ski-out. Between the Big Horn Condos and the base village, we walked past other condos that looked newer and more upscale. But I couldn't see the names of those condos.

Other notes:

On our day-off from skiing, we went to the nordic center, called Lone Range Mountain, is one bus-stop away, maybe 10 minutes. (Shuttle bus is free and runs every hour or two). You can get the bus schedule from the concierge at the Huntley.) It is a very nice facility with over 50 miles of groomed trails. It is a historic dude ranch and has a nice dining room in addition to ski rental shop. Staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. It costs $20 for a trail pass and $20 to rent skis. They also will take people into Yellowstone for cross-country skiing. Had I known this ahead of time, I would have signed up for such a trip.

There is a nice little two-screen movie theatre in the Town Center which is a couple of bus stops from the resort, maybe a 20 minute drive. You are allowed to take beer into the theatre. In the Town Center, there are a couple of outfitter stores, a couple of art galleries and a handful of restaurants.

Finally, I will end with my observations about skiing at Big Sky. This was my second visit. It is a wonderful mountain for skiing. Lots of terrain and no lift lines. Very easy to maneuver and you are never more than 10 minutes from the Base Village (unlike Vail when you get into the back bowls and need more than an hour to get back to the base.) During this trip, the weather was good (no arctic air) though the mountain could have used a little more snow. If the apres-ski scene is important to you, then Big Sky may not be quite right for you. But, for skiing, it really is a great destination.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank debg926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews