We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peter G

Great Hotel / Not ready for the summer

Review of Montage Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jun 2024
Hotel property was amazing but most of the staff was brand new so just completely lacked expertise and wasn’t ready for the summer.
Date of stay: June 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this review
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please know this is not a reflection of our standards of service and your feedback is extremely valuable. We would like to learn more details of your experience, please contact me at (406) 993-8142 or email victorio.gonzalez@montage.com. We hope you will provide us an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager
Montage Big Sky

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$479
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $479
3.7 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
$455
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $455
3.9 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
$412
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
4.0 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
$620
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $620
3.9 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
$336
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
9.1 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $405
  • Algotels
3.9 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Residence Inn
    $663
  • Expedia.com
    $784
4.9 km from Montage Big Sky
Free parking
Pool
view of grounds
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
4.1 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
    9.3 km from Montage Big Sky
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Big Sky
    Reviews (124)
    Filter reviews
    124 results
    Traveller rating
    86
    9
    11
    10
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    86
    9
    11
    10
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews compass sports bowling alley s mores luxury hotel lewis clark star vacation raclette the hotel is absolutely beautiful hot apple cider signature restaurant wildflower cafe lobby bar mulled wine rustic montana enjoyed the outdoor hot tub a wonderful stay dining experiences
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 124 reviews
    Reviewed 10 June 2024

    Incredible property set in a very special part of Montana. What started as an exploration into a Yellowstone trip turned into 5-day, 4-night bliss at Montage Big Sky. My family will never forget the big things like the park and neighboring Big Sky hikes - however, what might stand out more will be the care the team took during our stay. We felt completely at home and at ease immediately and every step of the way. From acknowledging and celebrating my son's birthday to helping orchestrate a jam-packed itinerary to the smallest of requests or questions, Montage Big Sky associates delivered. Plus, the property is just insanely gorgeous - the pool/hot tub, morning coffee, shuttle service, nightly s'mores, well-stocked and beautiful rooms make this a one-of-a-kind place. Don't hesitate, just experience it for yourself!

    Date of stay: June 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank amandaashleyniz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

    Good Day Amanda,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your generous review on TripAdvisor. We are grateful you chose Montage Big Sky to celebrate your son's birthday and enjoyed your stay. As providing extraordinary service is our priority, your kind words regarding our team have been generously shared. We hope to welcome you back again for another mountain getaway.

    Sincerely,

    Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager
    Montage Big Sky

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 June 2024

    Exceptional stay! Probably the most impressive resort and staff we've ever experienced! True luxury across the board. The staff at every level was terrific and greatly enhanced our stay. Resort is beautiful with a large amount of family activities and excellent dining options. Highly recommend!

    Date of stay: May 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Dream455582
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

    Good day,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your generous review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay at Montage Big Sky and experienced the many amenities we offer. As providing extraordinary service is our priority, your kind words regarding our team have been generously shared. We hope to welcome you back again for another mountain getaway.

    Sincerely,

    Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager
    Montage Big Sky

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 June 2024

    We spent last weekend at the Montage in Big Sky. We absolutely love this property. The staff is so helpful and attentive. We celebrated my son's Birthday, they went above and beyond to make it special.

    The food was amazing and the desserts are the best I've ever had.

    We will visit anytime we can. This is a special place with an amazing and friendly staff.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jessica M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

    Dear Jessicam,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your generous review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to learn you chose Montage Big Sky to celebrate your son's birthday and experienced the many amenities we offer. As providing extraordinary service is our priority, your kind words regarding our team have been generously shared. We hope to welcome you back again for another mountain getaway.

    Sincerely,

    Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager
    Montage Big Sky

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 May 2024

    This resort is absolutely beautiful and by far the best ski vacation we've ever had! From the moment we arrived, the employees at Montage Big Sky Resort bent over backwards to make sure our every need was met! First of all, the big beautiful lobby area with fireplaces and view of snowy landscapes as well as our room with it's own fireplace and balcony with beautiful view! We were there for Super Bowl and Valentine's Day so we really appreciated the special events the hotel planned. What a fun atmosphere to watch the game from the Beartooth Pub where they not only had the game playing on screens all over the room, but delicious food and so many fun activities including pool table, darts, video games, & bowling! On Valentine's Day we had a special dinner at Cortina's and returned to our room to be presented with special Valentine treats during turn down service. The resort's location with ski in/ski out ability is so convenient and the best part was the wonderful care we received from the employees at Compass Sports who were so patient and helpful in helping us get fitted for ski gear and helping us figure out where everything was on map. Because of them, my husband and daughter had the best ski experience of their lives! We also signed up for the complimentary Snowshoe class with Brenden who was the absolute best! I was really worried I wouldn't be able to do it at all due to a previous knee injury, but he was so patient and kind and not only made me feel 100% comfortable but also was so kind to lead us to the best spot to take our photo with the resort in the background! The hotel was also able to arrange a couple outings for us which we loved: Snowmobiling and the Sleigh Ride Dinner at Lone Mountain Ranch! Other nice touches we appreciated were the free water bottles to help us stay hydrated, the beautiful spa, the delicious house made granola bars, the daily s'mores, Tubing Hill, live music in lobby area, & the delicious Ramen at Backcast Noodle Bar on a cold winter day!

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank wildcatmama2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

    Dear Wildcatmama,

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Montage Big Sky and more importantly for sharing your experience. We are grateful you and your family had a great experience in our restaurants and spa and enjoyed the activations throughout the resort. As providing extraordinary service is our priority, your kind words regarding our team have been generously shared. We hope to welcome you back again for another mountain getaway.

    Sincerely,

    Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager
    Montage Big Sky

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 May 2024 via mobile

    We had a lovely experience at The Montage! The property is stunning, the service was excellent, and the food at Cortina was delicious. The highlight of our stay was at the Spa. My masseuse, Shaka, delivered an unforgettable massage. Every movement done with intent and pressure. Spectacular.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank ericmI303JF
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2024

    Dear Eric,

    Thank you for writing your generous review of Montage Big Sky and more importantly for sharing your experience. We are grateful you had a great experience in our restaurants and spa and enjoyed the spring activities throughout the resort and Big Sky, Montana. As providing extraordinary service is our priority, your kind words regarding Shaka have been generously shared. We hope to welcome you back again for another mountain getaway.

    Sincerely,

    Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager
    Montage Big Sky

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews