We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
latz2024

Great hotel, food needs to improve

Review of Montage Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Mar 2024
Family skiing trip. our second visit. Gorgeous property, wonderful and very attentive staff. Great skiing. Large comfortable rooms. Food offering needs to improve, especially for non-meat eaters. Cortina is expensive, has only one option of non-meat protein and in general the quality of the food there is not at the level of a Montage property. Still would recommend the hotel overall
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this review
Responded 15 Apr 2024
Dear Latz2024,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are grateful you had a great experience and enjoyed the winter activities throughout the resort and Big Sky, Montana. Please know your feedback is extremely valuable regarding our Cortina menu. We would like to learn more details of your experience, please contact me at (406) 993-8142. We hope you will provide us with an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager
Montage Big Sky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$500
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $500
3.7 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $352
  • Booking.com
3.9 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $413
  • Hotels.com
4.0 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Skyscanner.com
3.9 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
4.9 km from Montage Big Sky
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
3.9 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
view of grounds
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
4.1 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
9.3 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,558
  • Agoda.com
8.7 km from Montage Big Sky
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Big Sky
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
79
6
11
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
79
6
11
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews compass sports bowling alley s mores luxury hotel lewis clark star vacation raclette the hotel is absolutely beautiful hot apple cider signature restaurant wildflower cafe lobby bar mulled wine rustic montana enjoyed the outdoor hot tub a wonderful stay dining experiences
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

We recently spent 5 lovely days at the Montage Big Sky, celebrating our wedding anniversary. The staff are all so welcoming and helpful. They really helped make our anniversary special. The ski in/ski out location is awesome, and the ski valet is really helpful. John took us on a great snow shoeing adventure and cross country ski excursion. Food at Backcast, Cortina, Wildflower Market, and Alpenglow was all great (we didn’t eat at the pub so can’t speak to that). The two outdoor hot tubs hit the spot after ski days. The gym is clean and well appointed. Our room was very nice, the heated floors in the bathroom were an added bonus! Overall, we were so pleased and highly recommend and hope to come back very soon!!!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ALR417
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2024

Dear ALR417

Thank you for writing your generous review and choosing Montage Big Sky to celebrate your wedding anniversary. We are grateful you had a great experience in our restaurants and spa and you both enjoyed the winter activities throughout the resort and Big Sky, Montana. We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager
Montage Big Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

We have been to many of the other top mountain / ski resorts, it’s very hard to beat Montage Big Sky - the mountain is enormous, putting nearly all others to shame, with 6 mountains and super long runs that span green to triple black diamond + they have the latest fast lifts from Doppelmayr with heated seats and bubble covers.

Director of Rooms Joan did an incredible job helping us with a few requests and making sure we had everything we needed.

Ski valet is the best we experienced. A++

Views were spectacular.

Italian restaurant Cortina has fantastic food and rare Sicilian desserts.

Highly recommended ! Our family LOVED it

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Aydin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Dear Aydin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous review of Montage Big Sky and more importantly for sharing your experience. We are grateful you had a great experience in our restaurants and your family enjoyed the winter activities throughout the resort and Big Sky, Montana. We hope to welcome you back again for another mountain getaway.

Sincerely,

Victorio Gonzalez
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024

The Montage Big Sky spa was an extraordinary experience. I had the best massage of my life with Sarah. I have many injuries and she address them all and helped me with my mobility in the joints. If you have an opportunity to go to the hotel for any reason, make an appointment at the spa with Sarah. You won’t regret it.

Room tip: The service is impeccable and the food is delish!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Dear Shanag665,

I am so happy to hear that you had the opportunity to experience one of our wellness treatments with Sarah - she is truly passionate about what she does and it shows. I look forward to sharing your kind words with her and know that she looks forward to the opportunity to see you again soon. Until then, travel well!

Sincerely,


Victorio Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

Shaka worked on me for 90 minutes and I never really had to say anything. He seems to be a very intuitive therapist and a kinesiologist to boot. Highly recommend for anyone who wants a personalized massage.😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank vinojoyceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Dear Vinojoyceh,

I am so happy to hear that you had the opportunity to experience one of our 90-minute treatments at Spa Montage. Shaka is truly passionate about what he does and it shows. I look forward to sharing your kind words with him and know that he looks forward to the opportunity to see you again soon. Until then, travel well.

Sincerely,

Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager
Montage Big Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2024

We had an amazing experience in Big Sky. Montana is beautiful! The people in the town of Big Sky and Bozeman are all super friendly. We mostly ate off property - tons of great local restaurants to choose from. Horn & Cantle was our top choice and I highly recommend.

We came primarily to ski. The snow wasn’t ideal on day one, but we still had a great time. It was warmer than I expected, which made for a very comfortable first day. There were no lift lines and quite a bit of terrain was open. For day two, we took advantage of the nice weather and drove to Yellowstone. We saw a wolf!

It snowed on day three and four, so we went back to skiing. I loved that the mountain wasn’t crowded at all - especially on the Montage side. Big Sky was a bit more crowded over the weekend with fresh snow, but the lift lines moved quickly.

The folks in Compass Sports at the Montage were fabulous. They fitted us for equipment on day one and held it for us through the weekend. When we wanted to ski, they set everything up for us right outside. The equipment itself was all basically new and great quality.

John in the ski shop was amazing to chat with and he offered some great advice for us as we were heading out each day.

I would caution that the only open ski run back to Montage was a tough blue. I found myself pretty frustrated and challenged, so we ended up having to take the shuttle back on the additional days. The shuttle was a little tricky to find (suggest better signage and more frequent timing).

We can’t wait to return!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jfieldsssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager at Montage Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Dear Jfieldsssi,

Thank you for writing your generous review of Montage Big Sky. We're thrilled to learn you enjoyed the winter activities throughout the resort and Big Sky, Montana. As providing exceptional service is our priority, your kind words regarding our team have been generously shared. Your feedback on the ski runs and shuttle service is also appreciated and will be taken into consideration. We can't wait to welcome you back for another mountain getaway.

Sincerely,

Victorio Gonzalez, General Manager
Montage Big Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews