We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stephanie C

LMR- God’s gift to Montana!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Mar 2024
Lone Mountain Ranch, where do we begin to express our gratitude for this experience? My husband and I are both from Florida, now currently living in Tennessee, and we have never been out West. We decided to elope, and once we discovered LMR, our hearts were set on being married there. To say that our experience was a dream would be putting it very lightly. This was the most hospitable stay with the kindest people. The accommodations were unreal. We stayed in the Aspen cabin, and every morning we woke up to what looked like a postcard. I would wake up multiple times throughout the night to check the time, as I was anxiously awaiting the arrival of our morning coffee (my favorite part about our stay) 😄 so much thought has been put into absolutely everything. We arrived to a beautiful charcuterie board and wine. We had relaxing pillow spray. The WATER- so pure I could cry. The heated floors. The hand written notes on our coffee. The friendly interactions with the locals. The horses! The campfires. THE FOOD. A special thanks to Caitlin, who helped coordinate our wedding and was so pleasant, always answering all of my questions. Our pastry chef made us a beautiful and delicious carrot cake that we finished off with our morning coffee during our honeymoon stay. WYATT, Chad, Miles, Bruce, Walter, and Danny… at Horn and Cantle, SHANNON, Mason, Jake, and Steven… can we please talk about the filet mignon?! The service was impeccable. Everyone was so personable and so full of knowledge and history. They wouldn’t let us pick up our luggage, and they helped us put on Yak tracks and catered to us every step of the way. Everyone on the ranch congratulated us the entire stay and made us feel like we were in a Hallmark movie. We can not wait to go back, and we loved our experience so much, we are planning to name our child Montana. WHAT A GIFT AND TRUE BLESSING YOU ARE, LMR. You are serving people in an unimaginable way and a way that has forever imprinted our hearts. May God bless the ranch and each and every one of you. So much love for you!!!!!!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$549
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $516
  • Skyscanner.com
    $549
  • Vio.com
    $549
6.0 km from Lone Mountain Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
$542
  • Hotels.com
    $542
  • Trip.com
    $542
  • Priceline
    $542
2.4 km from Lone Mountain Ranch
Free parking
Pool
$523
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $560
  • Hotels.com
    $560
  • Skyscanner.com
    $524
6.0 km from Lone Mountain Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
$550
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $550
  • ZenHotels.com
    $589
  • Tripadvisor
    $550
6.1 km from Lone Mountain Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
$486
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Skyscanner.com
    $487
  • Vio.com
    $486
  • ZenHotels.com
    $487
6.0 km from Lone Mountain Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
$481
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $481
  • Tripadvisor
    $481
  • Algotels
6.1 km from Lone Mountain Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
$481
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
6.0 km from Lone Mountain Ranch
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$1,042
  • Hotels.com
    $1,634
  • Expedia.com
    $1,660
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,681
6.1 km from Lone Mountain Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
$354
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $354
  • Skyscanner.com
    $354
  • Vio.com
    $354
6.2 km from Lone Mountain Ranch
Free Wifi
Free parking
$2,982
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    $2,981
  • Trip.com
    $2,983
  • Skyscanner.com
    $2,982
4.0 km from Lone Mountain Ranch
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Big Sky
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
308
32
12
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
308
32
12
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the sleigh ride dinner cross country skiing lone mountain discovery package north fork nordic skiing yellowstone tour all inclusive package downhill ski winter wonderland trout montana experience winter activities bozeman airport the entire staff minute drive ski vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2024 via mobile

I came to ski. Did not stay at lmr although I have previously. Trail passes are pricy. In the past signage was better. Maps were free. Now maps are unavailable. There is a trail map app but it eats up your phone charge. Grooming not as reliable as in past. Less groomed trail as in past. In past there were benches at strategic points on trails. Now all but one are gone. In general I love skiing here but sad to see the experience be less while prices go up.

Room tip: Consider other options. Lmr is good but pretty pricy for fewer benefits than in the past.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank annemH5465XO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2024

My husband and I stayed on the ranch for a week to go downhill skiing at Big Sky. We absolutely loved our cabin, Bitterroot, and getting to walk to our meals at Horn & Cantle. The staff were very friendly giving us recommendations during our stay. The transportation was convenient to get to the mountain and we went over to the Montage for a spa afternoon. We did the Sleigh Ride dinner and cross country skiing too. We'd love to find ourselves back there someday soon!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kristy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2024

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at LMR. The Ranch is picture perfect and the staff really go out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay. Pros: Cozy cabins, delicious breakfast, goats and horses to feed, Horn and Cantle meals, live music, convenient shuttle to Big Sky and miles and miles of world class XC country trails with breathtaking views of Lone Peak. Cons: The cabin you choose matters. We were able to experience 2 and the semi-detached has walls so thin we could hear everything in the adjacent room. I would only choose one of these if I was travelling with immediate family. The coffee delivery- although in theory it sounds heavenly, we are avid skiers and out of 6 mornings we only once received our coffee on time. The last morning there was no coffee delivered at all. Finally the wine selection at Horn and Cantle could be improved. There are a few reasonable bottles and some very expensive bottles but definite room to add some moderately priced wines. All in all it is a very special place and we would definitely return. Shout out to Shannon, one of the friendliest people we have met during our travels. It was lovely having you greet us at breakfast every morning and we appreciate all the information you shared, really enriched our trip!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susanjk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

Best place I have ever stayed in my life!! Love this place. We are avid skiers and cross country skiers. This place didn’t disappoint. I will definitely return. Cabins are spectacular. Great food and staff! Would highly recommend the sleigh ride dinner.

Room tip: Cabins are a little tight. Don’t overpack. They have beautiful laundry facilities.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kathy155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick McVey, General Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such kind feedback for your stay here at Lone Mountain Ranch. We do our best to provide every guest with a magical experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at the ranch in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024

This is a truly special and authentic upscale Montana Ranch experience! We absolutely loved our visit and took advantage of all the winter activities on ranch - XC ski, snowshoe, hiking and animal fun. The sleigh ride dinner is not to be missed. Randy in the Outpost is an extremely knowledgeable naturalist and we really enjoyed his guided woods snowshoe trek. Food is amazing, staff is from all over - each one very nice. They really think of every nice touch and our cabins Douglas Fir was rugged and cozy. It's really a once in a lifetime type of trip that we hope to get to do twice!

Room tip: Don't miss the horse drawn cabin sleigh ride dinner. All tips included in prices which I had forgotten but is good to know.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wendywZ1284PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick McVey, General Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such kind words about your stay. The sleigh ride diner is a very magical experience and has been a part of the experience for over 40 years now. I will certainly let Randy know that you enjoyed your time with him, it is employees like him that make the ranch such an amazing place. I hope we get the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews