We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mandy K
Nashville, Tennessee

Glamping or just camping with astronomical prices?

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jul 2018via mobile
My husband and I booked this as one of our only adult trips in several years for our anniversary. We were excited about being in the great outdoors while still having the luxury feel of a nice hotel.

We had to wait over an hour to be checked in while being bitten by horse flies and thousands of mosquitos. When I asked to have our very over priced bbq dinner ($80 for burgers, potatoes and veggies) cooked for us (as advertised on the website) I was told that is was a “hands on” experience and we would need to cook it ourselves.

There were no bathrobes as advertised, so going back and forth to the bathroom with just a towel between tents was not very luxurious. The shower was either scalding hot or freezing cold. The farm dinner was good but wildly over priced for 3 courses and no booze at $150 a person for salad, entree, and tiny dessert. It was our 10 year anniversary and we booked a private dinner. It was not private. The food was the same menu all 4 days of the trip. I had to ask multiple times for information on the activities we booked such as where to go, what time to be there and directions to get there. The electricity went out multiple times. Our room was not made up and we only got one towel and washcloth, no hand towel for the whole 4 day trip. At almost $600 a night, as well as advertised on the website, we expected an entire different experience. We were told Moonlight Basin was walking distance “right over the hill”. We tried to walk (walked for 2 hours) and never got there. We finally found it on our own after a 10 minute drive with multiple turns. The lodge was nice and the lake was great with fun activities like kayaking and paddle boarding, but the food at the lodge was terrible. The breakfast on the Collective grounds was a highlight of the trip! We only got to experience it one out of 4 days though because we had activities booked 2 mornings and therefore missed it and the last day the chef had an emergency so we were left without any breakfast. It would be nice if they had a grab and go option or could accommodate when one person is out for some reason.

All in all, the grounds were beautiful and it was a neat experience. However, we really didn’t feel there was much value in Collective. We will definitely return to Big Sky because it’s amazing, gorgeous, with many great activities and excellent guides. We will not be staying at this or any other Collective resort in the future.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $413
  • Booking.com
4.4 km from Collective Yellowstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $360
  • Booking.com
4.6 km from Collective Yellowstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $487
  • Booking.com
4.8 km from Collective Yellowstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
view of grounds
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from Collective Yellowstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $436
  • Algotels
4.6 km from Collective Yellowstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Residence Inn
    $511
  • Booking.com
11.7 km from Collective Yellowstone
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $2,160
  • Hotels.com
8.4 km from Collective Yellowstone
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.5 km from Collective Yellowstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
    16.2 km from Collective Yellowstone
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Big Sky
    Reviews (52)
    Filter reviews
    52 results
    Traveller rating
    39
    7
    1
    3
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    39
    7
    1
    3
    2
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    22 - 27 of 52 reviews
    Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

    The tents were well appointed, had everything you could need to be comfortable (the bedding was above and beyond!) all with a laid back completely unpretentious vibe. The scenery was beautiful, and having a community tent area you could be as isolated or as social as you want. The true perk here is the food. William has such a passion for food and it really shows in his unique and delicious meals. Can’t wait to come back

    Date of stay: July 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Margeaux G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

    Definitely not Glamping, just high priced camping. First, in their directions they instruct you to call when about 20 minutes from arrival. We did, no answer, also sent text. Arrived at gate, still no response. Happily we had a gate access code. Once within ‘resort’ be prepared for minimal signage and very dusty, bad dirt roads. Definitely bring a 4 wheel drive car that you don’t love. You will see old wood piles, bags of dirt, and trash along the way, not well maintained. At check-in the girl seemed more interested in her dog than helping us. The waiver you need to sign is extensive by the way. The tents are comfortable, but we had muddy dog prints throughout our room. Definitely bring old slippers to wear. Your shower has a choice of HOT or COLD, nothing in between. Water also smells strongly of suphur. There are also no bathrobes or blow dryers. The tents have some power but very limited. You can’t run the heater and the coffee pot at the same time. If you are bringing any nice clothes be sure to pack them in a suit carrier as there is not a place to easily hang any long garments. They have amazing fly swatting rackets in the room.
    Breakfast Is served 8-10am. It is very good - eggs, pancakes, sausage. Chefs were great! The views are beautiful!!! The Moonlight lodge is not within walking distance but rather a 10-15 minute drive up the mountain. There you will have access to a worn gym and locker rooms with decent showers and a blow dryer. The hot tub didn’t work while we were there. You may think I am whiny but for $600 a night I expected more than a tent with a bed! I think if it would have been $300 a night we would have found these quirks acceptable, but at the rate charged it was just disappointing.

    Date of stay: July 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    4  Thank 2travelingscientists
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

    We stayed 4 nights recently at Collective retreat Yellowstone last week. Weather aside (as always unpredictable) our other main issues were that we had informed collective retreats several times that we would be traveling with our 4 year daughter and were assured (again several times) that the amenities that we would be permitted to use at Moonlight Basin -which included the restaurant, pool, gym, and lake facility - were a brisk walk away. I am not sure what their definition of “brisk walk” is but if it includes a mostly unpaved, very windy, and over a mile long possibly more DRIVE away then that is one brisk walk !!! I actually Pretty positive it would not be possibly to walk due to length and steepness of the drive getting up to the gym, restaurant and pool. The outdoor hot tub was not working . The steam room was not working. And we were told we were not permitted to use the spa as it was members only. Ok....
    The showers and sink in the actual tents left a slimy residue on your skin which bothered my daughters allergies so we had to make the drive each day to the lodge to shower. Also the water in the shower in the tents was either freezing cold or burning hot. Our toilet overflowed....yes that’s right.
    inside floors of the tent were filthy and frankly less clean and way more mosquitos, spiders and flies then any other tent you could put up as the floors of the “tent” were just deck flooring so bugs could come in from below or from any of the sides of the canvas tent as you could easily push it aside with your fingers-( not strapped to sides of decking. )

    The staff at the retreat were very friendly. However everyone at the lodge with the exception of one waiter was extremely rude and treated us as though we were not suppose to be there .
    The only saving grace each morning was the delicious breakfast that the retreat staff served in the main tent.
    unfortunately the poor design of the showers/sink which pours water used directly beneath your floor boards becomes a breeding ground for mosquitos!!

    Overall I would not return and only give experience a 2 out of 5 stars at best. Glamping certainly not. I have been on camping trips that I haven’t paid for where I was more relaxed,clean, and content. Never once sat in tent as the mosquitos found a way in at all times.

    Date of stay: July 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    5  Thank jcruth13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 December 2017

    Me, my wife, and 2 kids (9 year old and 6 year old) made the trek from Brooklyn and Montana over the 4th of July weekend last year and spent 4 nights at Collective. Not only is the location stunning, and accommodations extremely charming, clean and comfortable, but everyone took great care of us (in addition to being really, really nice people). To say that we enjoyed our stay would be an understatement.

    The food was top-notch all-around, and you can tell that Chef William loves to cook and takes great pride in his work. Daniella and others were consistently able to address whatever questions and requests we had. Our entire family enjoyed the nature and amazing views, as well as the hikes, the horseback riding (arranged by Collective), whitewater river rafting (arranged by Collective), and trips to Yellowstone. It was a really memorable trip for our family, and we look forward coming back to visit again.

    Date of stay: July 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank SHR75
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 October 2017

    The staff was superb! Very engaged about our days and helping us to make last minute plans. Quick with a recommendation and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. From the moment we arrived, we felt very welcomed. The room was perfect - clean and so well furnished for a tent in the woods. Super comfortable bed and yet rustic enough so that you truly felt like you were camping. Perfect touches with books and board games in the rooms. Plenty of water every day to drink and extra blankets were everywhere since we were there in late September when it was a bit cold. The farm to table dinners are a must - bring your own wine or liquor, as they can't sell/serve there, but the food is spectacular. Amazing that they accomplish so much with the meal prep-and how beautifully it's plated, all from a kitchen in a tent. Breakfast was great too, can't speak to lunch as we were away during the day times. That said, I couldn't imagine any of the food would be bad. And the views, you'll find yourself taking pictures everywhere you go on the property. Make sure to dress for camping - you need structured shoes, because you are out in the woods and it's still camping end of the day, even if you are in a super plush bed with an electric blanket! Truly will make sure to visit other locations...this place is unbelievable!

    Date of stay: September 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank amandahg1221
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews