We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mik S
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Superb.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Nov 2023
Superb park-like setting and friendly owners, complete with a range of livestock. Everything you need as a vehicle or two-wheeled travellor and a great alternative to the hustle of Te Anau. Good meals just up the road at the Railway Hotel.
Check it out, we loved it.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Drummond, Owner at Mossburn Country Park, responded to this review
Responded 26 Nov 2023
It was great to meet you both!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mossburn - Railway Hotel 1
eDreams
  • Vio.com
3.2 km from Mossburn Country Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
    3.1 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    49.0 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    50.7 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Lounge Room
    74.4 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    50.3 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    73.2 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    50.0 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    70.4 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    46.2 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Mossburn
    Reviews (88)
    Filter reviews
    88 results
    Traveller rating
    70
    15
    1
    0
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    70
    15
    1
    0
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews country park shower facilities dump station the kitchen campground cabin nz wifi van pets cutlery pressure toilets cooking
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 88 reviews
    Reviewed 7 October 2023

    Mossburn Country Park is becoming our home away from home! Always so welcoming, great kitchen and bathrooms, manicured gardens with the peace of the countryside. Thank-you Colleen and Stuart! We will be back!

    Room tip: Great value if you are looking for a well positioned overnight spot while exploring Southland!
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Departure49722104498
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Stuart Drummond, Owner at Mossburn Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

    Thank you very much! It's always a pleasure seeing you both and you are always welcome!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 February 2023 via mobile

    We stayed in a Queen bed cabin, in this beautiful country setting. It was about 4km from the township of Mossburn, on rural roads so not really a walk back to town (we biked).
    The cabin and the facilities were beautifully clean, and the bed was very comfortable.
    There were plates, cups and cutlery in our room, along with a jug and a fridge. To get water or do any cooking we had to go to the kitchen. (There were hot plates and a small bench top oven)
    This seemed like a lovely place to bring children.

    Date of stay: February 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    1  Thank 182ruthg
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 March 2022 via mobile

    We stopped here while riding Sounds2Sounds. Very pleasantly surprised with the value for money. Clean and tidy place with fantastic cabins. It has a warm vibe on a cold windy day. Absolutely love the extra cabins for reading, working or just chilling. Nice planting too. Extra drying rooms are a treat!

    Room tip: Very silent- nice distance from the road
    Date of stay: March 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    2  Thank NooxWGN
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 January 2022

    I can't say I've ever been to a better campground than this one. We've been living in NZ now for a couple of years or so and we travel extensively around the country but we love this place most of all.
    Everything was so clean and tidy and so beautifully presented. Gorgeous grounds and situated right off the main highway so it's peaceful which is perfect for a great nights sleep.
    The owners are just wonderful and they have a new puppy named Charlotte, she's a real treat. We are so sorry about your loss of Andrew who we have met when we stayed quite some time ago now. We sincerly hope you guys survive covid and keep going strong.
    You have a beautiful place and we hope things pick up for you soon.
    If you're travelling through the Southland area, Mossburn Country Park is a must stay. Great for kids and they welcome pets.
    C'mon NZ'ers, support the small businessess through these tough times or we'll lose them forever!

    Date of stay: January 2022
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    3  Thank Colleen L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 January 2022 via mobile

    A lovely quiet campsite in a picturesque location. We stayed there in a van. Check in was straightforward. There were plenty of powered sites and it wasn't busy.

    The toilets and shower facilities were a bit dated but clean and functional, and the showers were hot and had a good pressure. There was a large kitchen with all the basic equipment, you just have to bring your own dishwashing liquid. There's a dump station and recycling bins too. The WiFi had good coverage throughout the campsite, it wasn't the fastest, but more than good enough for general browsing.

    We'd happily stay here again, a very peaceful location and well maintained campsite.

    Date of stay: January 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank NZexplorerduo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews