We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
AlvinTSingapore
Singapore, Singapore

Great stopover enroute travelling the South

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jan 2020
Very large, peaceful and well maintained property by Stuart and Collin as well as all their pets.

We booked for a powered campervan spot and had the entire view at the back facing the mountain to select for ourselves when we checkin.

Goats, sheeps, free range chickens, peacocks and alpacas to feed for kids to explore and enjoy. Their friendly dog is also a delight to pat. There is also a small, simple outdoor playground set in a very picturesque landscape for kids

A small kitchen with bbq stove and outdoor seating completes the dining facilities, shower is clean and water pressure is good with selection of warm / cold with no issue.

Overall, I would recommend this property as a cross country stop over to recharge before continuing the NZ roadtrip
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mossburn - Railway Hotel 1
  • Vio.com
3.2 km from Mossburn Country Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
    3.1 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Lounge Room
    74.4 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    50.7 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    73.2 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    79.5 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free parking
    70.5 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    50.3 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    50.0 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    46.2 km from Mossburn Country Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Mossburn
    Reviews (88)
    Filter reviews
    88 results
    Traveller rating
    70
    15
    1
    0
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    70
    15
    1
    0
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews country park shower facilities dump station the kitchen campground cabin nz wifi van pets cutlery pressure toilets cooking
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    21 - 26 of 88 reviews
    Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

    We stopped in for one night on a road trip and it was one of the best places we stayed! Spacious, farm park surroundings with alpacas, goats, chickens. Very clean, good showers and laundry facilities. Everything you would want from a camp site.

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank gl0betr0tting2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

    Fantastic camp! Facilities were spotless. Very welcoming and loved being able to feed the animals and for our toddler to ride the bike trail through the paddock. Nice hot showers with room to get changed in the cubicle etc. Can’t fault it, would love to go back next time we are here.

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank Travelweave
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 January 2020

    I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. It was my first time camping alone with my children and this place was family friendly, spacious, and had everything we needed to make this experience great, I'll definitely be back! We loved feeding the animals, and the winding path through the long grass. The amenities were clean and well equipped, there were even free eggs courtesy of the resident chooks! The park was "full" at least one of the nights we stayed but it didn't feel crowded or too busy.

    Date of stay: December 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank ellen2109
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 December 2019

    This place is wonderful! What makes it so special is the wonderful welcome you get from the owners. Stuart helped us out when our van wouldn't start. He didn't even bat an eye, just helped out straight away which we really appreciated. The campground itself is immaculate, just loved it. The birdsong, the peace and quiet, perfect. I have to say to this to you gys personally. Don't pay any attention to that bad review you guys. It's clearly wrong and spiteful. And for anyone else reading this, it just isn't true. You won't get a more friendly welcome or find a better campground!

    Room tip: The cabins are spectacular.
    Date of stay: December 2019
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank MichelleHadfield
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 December 2019

    Very rude and racist owners. Don’t understand that people come here from other countries to view and experience the beauty of NZ. And they kept referring to us as “you people”. I will never come back and do not recommend this place for any tourist, especially those coming from other places. There are two people that run this park a man and a woman. Right from the outset it was nightmarish attitude and outburst from both these owners. It was just before 10 PM in the night on November 21, 2019, that we drove over 300 KM to reach and rest at this place. We just entered the camp site, the camper was still running, a man knocked at the door and said get out of here…you sneaked in. I asked him what made him think I sneaked in, I was about to come to the reception but you were too aggressive too soon. They he calmed down and apologized for being aggressive. The whole night was a nightmare due to high winds gusts up to a 100 Km/hr, we couldn’t sleep. However, we completed our task were ready to leave before 10AM checkout time and pulled the camper to the front of the park and was making the route plan for the day just past the checkout time. The woman approached us furious with racist banter and angry outbursts as if she would assault us. I told the woman on her face that “you are a racist” and what else could explain this kind of behavior. In reading other reviews it became clear that we are not the only ones. This couple has been atrocious to other people in the past and this should be noted by potential guests.
    Overall, our experience in New Zealand was good with nice people, we know that there are always a few bad apples everywhere.

    Date of stay: November 2019
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank emeliyas
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mossburn-Park, Owner at Mossburn Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

    Ok, let's start from the beginning and work our way through this review one issue at a time and why this review came to be.
    First and foremost, we are not racist nor are we rude. We have no idea where you are from or what race you are. You are using this as a weapon against us and it is not only appalling, it is ugly.
    We referred to you as "you people". Yes, we did but let's put this into context of the conversation as it actually happened. "You people need to leave immediately". That's it, nothing more. Why "you people"? Because, we didn't know your names, you are strangers to us. As people call us "you people" when they don't know us. You are calling us racist for reasons that are beyond us however, one thing springs to mind immediately, you are calling us racist because we are white, not our fault, it just happens to be the colour we were born as.
    Next point, You can't come back as you were told by us to never come back, you were trespassed. Remember that part or have you conveniently forgotten?
    Next point, there were no outbursts or attitude from either of us. This is where the truth comes out as to why you were approached at all and why you have been trespassed.
    It wasn't 10pm you arrived, it was before 9:30pm, our reception was still open and it was still light. We heard our driveway alarms go off so we knew someone was coming up the driveway. Stuart (the owner) got up and looked down the drive and he saw a large Britz campervan coming up. We looked to our cameras (you see emeliyas, we could see what you were doing the whole time) and neither of us recognised the number plate so we knew it was a new arrival. Then you stopped at the top of the driveway. At the top of the driveway there are several signs pointing new arrivals in the direction to go and where reception is. There is also a fence to stop people from driving straight into the campground. We watched you as you read these signs, we watched you as you pointed towards the other campervans all the while having a conversation between to pair of you. We then watched you backed up and manoeuvred your large camper awkwardly around the fence then drive slowly with your lights turned off to the furtherest site away from sight behind one of the large trees at the back of the campground. It was at this point that Stuart starting walking over, got the number plate to make absolutely sure that you weren't a guest who had already checked in. You weren't. You'd driven into the campground without seeing us first to pay for your nights stay. You deliberately avoided reception and parked up. As Stuart was walking slowly over to your van, he'd seen you get out, plug in to one of our power supplies, get into the back of the van, close the blinds, the door, and when he reached the van, heard the lock on the door click. He knocked on the door (he didn't want to draw attention to himself so he was calm and reserved). You refused to answer. He knocked again. You still refused to answer. He knocked a third time. You didn't open the door, you peered out of a window and said, "what?" You were then asked why you had failed to come to reception as the entrance sign advised you to do upon arrival. You didn't reply. He then told you you had to come to pay for your nights stay. You finally came out of the vehicle and started lying straight away. "How do you know I wasn't coming to pay?" You were told that anyone who has just behaved like you have just behaved generally don't come to reception at all. We have years of experience to rely on. You then said, "I didn't realise I had to." You were told, we watched you as you read to signs to come to reception. You then said, "This is the first campground we've been to." If it was the first, then you would have paid much more attention to the signs guiding you in the right direction. You then said, "Every other campground we'd been to, we didn't have to pay." Eh? No answer for that one! You were then asked how many people were in the van. "Two", you said. There were four of you. You finally paid up, you definitely weren't happy about this, and we found out later that you had been doing this throughout your stay in NZ. Driving into campgrounds late at night, parking up, not paying and leaving very early before the campground owners/operators could catch up with you. You were then told checkout was 10am, no later.
    At NO point was Stuart aggressive and at NO point did he apoligise for being in such a manner.
    In the morning, we went over to start cleaning. It was after 10:30am, we always start cleaning after 10:30am. I (Colleen) noticed there were two vans left, one van had paid for another night and your van. By this time, it was 10:45am. I realised who you were, the wannabe thieves from the night before. I went over to ask why you were still here. You refused to answer. I then told you to leave immediately and also pointed out you were never to come back, you had been trespassed and we had told other campgrounds in the area to keep a lookout for you as you had been travelling NZ without paying for your nights stay. At no point at all was there any 'racist banter and angry outbursts as if she would assault us' as you put it but you were very quick to use this as a weapon against me to try to shut me down. You didn't call me racist to my face but you certainly did call me a few other choice words that I can't repeat here. At this point, Stuart came to back me up. He told you to leave. You then started swearing and cursing at him.
    Again, you were told to leave immediately, and never come back.
    Your behaviour was appalling. The worst thing out of all of this is that you have children and they were in the back of the vehicle listening to all that was going on. What are you teaching these children? That if you get caught doing the wrong thing and you don't get your own way, call the people racist, say anything to make them back down. It's disgusting. We fear for those children, it's not their fault they have terrible parents who are willing to use any weapon in their arsenal to win a battle.
    You are thieves, you were caught red-handed and you are angry. You are trolling us online and trying your best to ruin our good reputation. We are both hard-working, honest people and we don't deserve this behaviour from anyone.
    We love what we do, we love the fact that the vast majority of our guests are from overseas, every race, every colour, every religion, every creed. We gain so much pleasure from our park and meeting almost (I say almost because we had to meet you unfortunately) every person who comes up our driveway and into our home.
    We don't often have to deal with people who want to steal from us, occasionally we do an we will always act swiftly and appropriately to minimise the damage inflicted by those such as yourselves.
    Again, I hope those children of yours grow up without your prejudiced, ugly and revolting influence. To use racism as a weapon is just repugnant.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews