We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
chilliechicken
Wellington, New Zealand

Hidden gem

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Aug 2020via mobile
Stayed here on the way to Milford sound. Great place to stay ,super warm. Rooms are big and all double glazed , bathroom and shower are very clean and excellent condition. Free use of washing machine and dryer with a donation if you wish. You only have to pay for laundry powder at the bar which only costs a DOLLAR! very modern accommodation with good WiFi . awesome pub/restaurant just across the road which has great food and a friendly Tom (bartender). Definitely recommend staying here en route to/from Milford.
Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Bedroom
Booking.com
$146
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $146
  • Agoda.com
35.4 km from Wheels and Reels Accommodation
Superior Room (128)
Booking.com
$123
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $148
  • Expedia.com
    $120
  • Hotels.com
    $120
48.7 km from Wheels and Reels Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Expedia.com
    $70
  • Hotels.com
    $73
48.8 km from Wheels and Reels Accommodation
Free parking
Balcony/Terrace
Booking.com
$184
  • Priceline
    $201
  • Agoda.com
    $180
48.9 km from Wheels and Reels Accommodation
 Amber Court Motel, 4 Star Self Contained Motel Apartments
Booking.com
$156
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $134
  • Agoda.com
    $132
  • Hotels.com
    $149
48.9 km from Wheels and Reels Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
48.9 km from Wheels and Reels Accommodation
Booking.com
$156
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $156
  • Hotels.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $154
49.0 km from Wheels and Reels Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$164
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $198
  • Vio.com
    $146
  • Hotels.com
    $178
49.0 km from Wheels and Reels Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 Bedroom Apartment with 2 Queen Beds
Booking.com
$267
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $290
  • eDreams
    $267
  • Vio.com
    $290
49.0 km from Wheels and Reels Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$145
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $145
  • StayForLong
    $141
  • Hotels.com
    $145
49.1 km from Wheels and Reels Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mossburn
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
9
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway hotel across the road bike trail tom mountains shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2020

We booked online for three nights - big mistake. While the room is very modern and clean, there were a few oddities for a motel. There was a double and single bed, which on the face of it is good, BUT there was nowhere to hang your clothes i.e. No cupboard, no hangers. There was only one old wooden seat and a bar stool so nowhere comfortable to sit except the bed. There were coffee and tea making facilities, but instead of spoons there were only wooden stirrers, so no cutlery. There is no table to sit at to drink your coffee. There was a very unfriendly sign on the wall warning of a $100 fine if you prepare food in the room. Finally, there is no fridge in the room, only a communal fridge in the outside corridor. This fridge turned out to be unsafe to use as our food was stolen overnight. We left after one night.

Room tip: Don't use this motel if you need decent seat and a table
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howdidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2020

Great accomodation with parking outside bedroom window, and a n apple tree with ready fruit to eat, yum. Very clean room and shower-room, whole place is immaculate. Laundry fACILITY, FRIDGE/FREEZER AVAILABLE, OUTSIDE SEATING AREA. Restaurant across the road for dinner and lovely cafe up the road for breakfast. Nice walks nearby, petrol station end of the road. This place was perfect for our travelling trip. Nice people too.

Room tip: all rooms good we prefered the rooms at the back.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxylady49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2019

We were recently in New Zealand to visit Milford Sound and we found this lovely Hotel in the country. We booked a room with an on suite for 2 nights which was very comfortable and clean. Access and parking is great. There is a laundry and communal fridge which is very handy. Meals are available at the Railway hotel across the road and they were great and the service was excellent.

Room tip: Ask for a room with an on suite
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevemarie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2019

The rooms are very nice and it does have a small laundry!
Cannot go wrong for the price! Thre is not much for food around but up the road about an housr there is plenty.

All and all a very good value!!!

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank gckhd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2018

This accommodation is new, having only opened a few months ago, and particularly catering to cyclists and fishermen, hence the name. I stayed here for two nights recently. The room I had wasn't big, but was enough for what I needed. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I loved the pillows here.

There are no cooking facilities in the room, just a kettle for tea and coffee. There is also no fridge but there is a fridge in the building that can be shared with other guests.
There also wasn't a desk or table, but then, there's probably not many cyclists and fishermen who need one.

The motels are owned by the same people that have The Railway Hotel directly across the road, which is also where you check in and get your keys. You can also get a large range of evening meals there. They have quite an extensive range of meal options. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Room tip: Check-in is at The Railway Hotel across the road.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews