We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, wonderful view”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ellingham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Michael P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, wonderful view”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at outlook cottage for a relaxing weekend in February. Well equipped, comfortable and good value for money but it's main feature is the fabulous view, now I realise why it's called outlook

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maccy_gee
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for Christmas and it was ideal for 'getting away from it all'. A stone throw from the A1 but placed well enough to feel remote. It is a great base for exploring Northumberland with a gorgeous view out of the patio doors, the comments in the visitor's book will attest to both. The cottage is clean, well presented and well equipped enough for a short stay.
Outlook cottage is advertised as having internet access and Wi-Fi and I want to mention it because I think that's a bit misleading. Outlook cottage does not have Wi-Fi. The cottage next door has it and the signal can be picked up in the single bedroom of Outlook cottage but nowhere else. This impacted our stay. We have a teenage daughter.
A word about the noise. We didn't find it as bad as some previous guests based on earlier reviews but the heating generator is audible in the master bedroom permanently, some times louder than others. Although we found the sound of the fridge in the living room bothered us more proving that as with anything it's entirely subjective. The noise is notable because it is so at odds with the otherwise tranquil setting but it isn't an issue for most of the guests who wrote in the visitor book, some of whom return to Outlook cottage for future visits. Whether or not this cottage would suit you depends on your preferences. We enjoyed our stay but probably wouldn't return.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherb3...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and. excellent location”
Reviewed 25 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nice little cottage with outstanding views. Good walks and pubs nearby. Hob a bit difficult to use. No washing machine which is not ideal when travelling with babies.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: not enough dishwasher tablets
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staciejan...
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Absolutely beautiful setting, can't wait to go back! We stayed here with our little boy for 2 nights and the cottage was perfect, amazing views and great for children (enclosed garden)

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M c
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, great location and modern accomodation.”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during September. The location is easy to find, with great parking. The best part of the cottage has to be the views from the French doors! Overall, the accommodation is modern and has everything you'd need in the kitchen, living area, bathroom and bedrooms.
The only slight downsides are the constant drone of the boiler, along with the running water sound from the boiler constantly! Additionally, the main bedroom bed is quite uncomfortable (bedding all fresh and clean, mattress uncomfortable). I couldn't find a Wi-Fi signal, though didn't bother us.
A great place to stay, immaculate and really peaceful! The booking and communication was easy.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views and cleanliness.
Liked least: Noisy boiler on constantly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.