We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful peaceful choice for a holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Sea view from veranda over Lyme Bay Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
53 reviews
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Sea view from veranda over Lyme Bay
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Sea view from lounge
Kitchen
Dining table
Countryside views from garden towards Portland
View of Chesil Lodge Cottage from garden
Veranda seating area
Countryside views over organic farmland and National Trust land
Sunset on Chesil Beach
Gate to private garden and parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
West Bexington, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claud H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful choice for a holiday”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Very well equipped chalet set back in a beautiful setting. Only a few steps to beach with rolling country side views as a back drop. We really enjoyed our stay. Coming from London it was a real treat to settle easily into such a very peaceful place. Our children 8 and 5 years loved being so close to the sea and were even more happy with the cafe on the beach that sold ice creams!!
At night we could hear the waves and loved the very starry skies. There was also a pub/restaurant just up the road with a children's menu. It wasn't open every day but we figured it was low season.
We would have loved to stay on but unfortunately the chalet was booked from the day we left. We will definitely book again, and still have lots to explore as there is a wealth of things to do within close distance.
It was also very nice to have a welcome bottle of wine and some biscuits and tea left for us on our arrival.
Thank you for having such a lovely home for people to enjoy their holidays in. Look forward to booking it again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: Nothing to note
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissRance
1 review
“Would love to return!”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I stayed at Chesil lodge with my family for a few nights over new years eve. What a beautiful location, so close to the ocean you can hear the waves crashing!
The beautiful town of Bridport is just a few miles away and the ancient little village of Abbotsbury a few miles in the opposite direction.
Our welcome bottle of wine was very much appreciated, thanks Chis! and everything was freshly cleaned an ready for our arrival.
We all had such a lovely time and will definitely recommend Chesil lodge to friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellee...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic haven,the view of the sea were magical”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

As before, the chalet was very well equipped,warm, cosy & comfortable.
We immediately felt able to relax,& unwind.There were no disturbances...even the seagulls seemed quiet this time!
Although not on the actual beach-the sea view from the kitchen/living room area was marvelous & gave me many soothing vibes watching as the rain & wind hurled around & we battened down & ate a wonderful roast dinner with a few beers!
Bridport is a 15min drive,& a town which we found quirky & individual...but also had a supermarket which was useful
Best was the peacefulness,worse was the weather...but it was mid November!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmacguffi...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“beautiful location”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a fantastic time at Chesil lodge cottage. The location is superb. You can see and hear gee sea from the lodge. It was amazing to sit on the patio having a cup of tea listening to the waves. The beach us stunning and only and few steps away. The cottage is very well equipped and I particularly a precise the welcome basket of milk teabags, biscuits and nd wine. The cottage us well place for exploring the local and area and I recommend and dreams visit to west bay harbour which us excellent for fishing and dread crabbing.
Overall it was gard to fault the accommodation there where the of us 3 adults and 2 children and dreadnought we found it very comfortable. I would certainly recommend and I small lol looking to revisit next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: shower
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent chalet, well equipped, relaxing time”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We found the chalet finished to a high standard with everything you need. The space worked well for all of us to relax. The owner is v nice and was on hand to help as needed and nothing was too much trouble to ensure our stay was comfortable. We liked the secluded location and it is sheltered and quiet, which is nice after long hot breezy days on the beach! Nothing really to find fault with and we recommend Chesil Lodge cottage. The only thing was v poor internet, phone reception but for a holiday I didnt miss it !!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing