We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect anniversary dinner location!”
Review of Char Restaurant

Char Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Char Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 394 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E Northside Dr.
Description: Char restaurant offers modern Southern cuisine with distinct spirit and charm. Char offers great lunch specials during the week and a jazz brunch on Sunday. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. At Char we give you excellent service and food in a warm and entertaining atmosphere. Char is locally owned by the same folks that brought you Amerigo Italian Restaurant, Sombra Mexican Kitchen, Anjou Restaurant and Saltine Oyster Bar. Located in Highland Village, Char offers reservations and private dining rooms for special events. If you prefer to host your event at your venue of choice, we'll bring fine dining to you! Char offers delivery and full-service catering options for groups of any size. Our Sales Manager will work with you to create a customized menu with flawless execution of your special day.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I enjoyed our anniversary dinner here. We both had steaks which were cooked perfect! The caramel cheesecake was divine! Service a little slow but I think the waitress was giving us space since we were celebrating.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cathy,

Thank you for the review! We appreciate you choosing to celebrate your anniversary at CHAR. It sounds like a delicious dinner was enjoyed from start to finish-- the cheesecake is always a wonderful way to end an evening! Thanks again for sharing your experience; we hope to see you and your husband back again soon!

Allison Williams
CHAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to Char with a board meeting group, and they had us in a back, private room. The service provided was excellent. They were attentive and made sure everyone was taken care off. We ordered off the normal menu. My filet was well prepared and very tasty. The baked sweet potato was enormous! Definitely a place to be considered if you're in the mood for a great steak!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JWK1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for your recent visit to CHAR! It was a pleasure hosting your group, and we're thrilled to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your private dining event. We strive to provide outstanding food and service to each and every guest, and it sounds like your experience was no exception! Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback; we hope to see you back again in the near future!

Allison Williams
CHAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Char is one of the best steak restaurants in and around Jackson. The cowboy ribeye is fantastic and the service is always good.

Thank JustinEstes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Justin,

Thank you for the five stars! It's a pleasure to hear that your visits to CHAR have been memorable ones. We strive to provide outstanding food and service to each and every guest, so it's wonderful knowing that your experiences have been no exception. Thanks again for the review; we look forward to seeing you back again in the near future!

Allison Williams
CHAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch with business colleagues. The food took a little longer to come out than I thought it should but it was delicious and worth the wait. The pecan pie is WOW! This would probably be a nice spot to treat the wife, it seemed like it had lots of potential for a dinner date.

Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Nick,

Thank you for the review! It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your recent lunch visit, although I am sorry to learn of the delay you encountered in receiving your meals. We appreciate your feedback as it's the best way for our team to improve! Thanks again for sharing your experience; we hope to see you back again soon!

Allison Williams
CHAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Food was very nice. Three of us tried different dishes. Salad, friend chicken, and rotisserie chicken were all very good.

Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hi Tammy,

Thank you for the feedback! It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to CHAR. We strive to provide a five-star dining experience to each and every guest, so it's wonderful knowing that yours was no exception. Thanks again for the review; we hope you'll return to see us again in the near future!

Allison Williams
CHAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Char Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Char Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing