We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zoo Trip”
Review of Hattiesburg Zoo

Hattiesburg Zoo
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Hattiesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: 12-acre Zoo featuring 100 species of animals including tiger, tapir, capybara, zebras, alpacas, primates, birds, sloths, reptiles, flamingos, servals, porcupines, etc. Attactions include train, carousel, 4-story high ropes adventure course, splash pad and Safari Grill Cafe. Open Tuesday through Sunday, 10a - 4pm. Admission is $5 for ages 2 years and older.
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised how big the Zoo was, and how many attractions they had. I enjoyed the fountains you can go get into to cool off. I was very impressed.

2  Thank bcagle4542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Good morning! We appreciate your lovely review! Thank you for coming to visit us, and we hope to see you again soon. Glad you enjoyed your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"train ride"
in 24 reviews
"splash pad"
in 41 reviews
"ropes course"
in 8 reviews
"small children"
in 14 reviews
"merry go round"
in 6 reviews
"small town"
in 6 reviews
"cool off"
in 7 reviews
"playground area"
in 4 reviews
"well worth the price"
in 4 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 7 reviews
"perfect size"
in 3 reviews
"a great place to spend"
in 3 reviews
"new orleans"
in 8 reviews
"enjoyed our visit"
in 4 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 6 reviews
"great price"
in 3 reviews
"concession stand"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2018

The Hattiesburg Zoo is really one of the most unique things to do in the city. Although it is only about 2 acres, they have really come a long way in recent years with their events and things to do everyday in the zoo. They have such cute sitting and eating areas, and tons of play areas for children. They have a huge range of animals now, and offer amazing experiences like the Sloth Experience which I just did last week with my family. We were able to go behind the scenes and help prepare food for the sloths, and see all kinds of animals that hang out away from the everyday visitors. Then we were able to pet, hold, and feed the most adorable sloth Chewy! We also got a up close and personal look at the new, very precious, baby sloth which most people do not get. The zoo just has so many opportunities that large zoos can't really offer. Many of their animals you get to know on a personal basis after multiple visits. If you are looking for something to do on your own, with a significant other, with kids, or with anyone I highly recommend checking out the Hattiesburg zoo! (I mean...its only $5 to get in!!)

1  Thank Mallorylaine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hi, Mallory! I am so glad to hear that you enjoy visiting the Hattiesburg Zoo! We are thankful to have customers like you to visit and leave such kind words about your experience. We hope to see you again, soon! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

The grandkids were asking for a zoo on vacation but we kept ending up not around one. Saw this one in Hattiesburg so we stayed the night to go early next day. Yes it is small but the kiddos 4yr, 5 yr and 10 yr all thought it was awesome. They enjoyed the train ride greatly. The younger ones were especially excited to see the tigers so well. Plus petting area. It’s a two hour adventure and yes small, but cost is small $5 and what was there seemed healthy and well adjusted.

1  Thank CLTLRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi! We are THRILLED to hear that you all enjoyed the zoo! Thank you for leaving us a nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend going to this zoo. It is small, but it's just the right size if you're looking for something to do with your kids for an hour or so. Always love visiting!

1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi, Sandra! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving us a lovely review! We appreciate it, and hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

I’d never been to this particular zoo before. Even though it was extremely hot out, we had a great time! There are quite a few “misting fans” around to get cooled off. There’s also a splash pad. The staff was friendly. There’s a digital board that shows a schedule of events (feeding times for certain animals and the train schedule). We rode the train which costs a few extra dollars, and the kids rode the carousel, also costs extra. (You purchase tickets for the extras at the gate.) Some of the areas had an employee stationed there to tell you about the animal. There is a gift shop, places to eat and clean restrooms. This is not a large zoo, but well worth the price!

1  Thank Djpeterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Hi, Djpeterman! Thank you so much for visiting the Hattiesburg Zoo! We are so glad you enjoyed your day and hope you come back again soon! Thanks for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hattiesburg Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Hattiesburg Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing