We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Small Zoo

Small but very clean and well planned. Great experience for all ages. Well planned for kids with... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
willieds
,
United States
Great place

Small zoo but staff is friendly and the grounds are maintained I was impressed for such a small zoo... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
David P
via mobile
Read all 254 reviews
  
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
155
69
23
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
69
23
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train ride splash pad small children ropes course merry go round small town cool off perfect size playground area well worth the price couple of hours a great place to spend animals seem enjoyed our visit new orleans great price concession stand
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018

The Hattiesburg Zoo is really one of the most unique things to do in the city. Although it is only about 2 acres, they have really come a long way in recent years with their events and things to do everyday in the zoo. They have such cute sitting and eating areas, and tons of play areas for children. They have a huge range of animals now, and offer amazing experiences like the Sloth Experience which I just did last week with my family. We were able to go behind the scenes and help prepare food for the sloths, and see all kinds of animals that hang out away from the everyday visitors. Then we were able to pet, hold, and feed the most adorable sloth Chewy! We also got a up close and personal look at the new, very precious, baby sloth which most people do not get. The zoo just has so many opportunities that large zoos can't really offer. Many of their animals you get to know on a personal basis after multiple visits. If you are looking for something to do on your own, with a significant other, with kids, or with anyone I highly recommend checking out the Hattiesburg zoo! (I mean...its only $5 to get in!!)

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Mallorylaine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hi, Mallory! I am so glad to hear that you enjoy visiting the Hattiesburg Zoo! We are thankful to have customers like you to visit and leave such kind words about your experience. We hope to see you again, soon! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

The grandkids were asking for a zoo on vacation but we kept ending up not around one. Saw this one in Hattiesburg so we stayed the night to go early next day. Yes it is small but the kiddos 4yr, 5 yr and 10 yr all thought it was awesome. They enjoyed the train ride greatly. The younger ones were especially excited to see the tigers so well. Plus petting area. It’s a two hour adventure and yes small, but cost is small $5 and what was there seemed healthy and well adjusted.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank CLTLRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi! We are THRILLED to hear that you all enjoyed the zoo! Thank you for leaving us a nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend going to this zoo. It is small, but it's just the right size if you're looking for something to do with your kids for an hour or so. Always love visiting!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi, Sandra! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving us a lovely review! We appreciate it, and hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

I’d never been to this particular zoo before. Even though it was extremely hot out, we had a great time! There are quite a few “misting fans” around to get cooled off. There’s also a splash pad. The staff was friendly. There’s a digital board that shows a schedule of events (feeding times for certain animals and the train schedule). We rode the train which costs a few extra dollars, and the kids rode the carousel, also costs extra. (You purchase tickets for the extras at the gate.) Some of the areas had an employee stationed there to tell you about the animal. There is a gift shop, places to eat and clean restrooms. This is not a large zoo, but well worth the price!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Djpeterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Hi, Djpeterman! Thank you so much for visiting the Hattiesburg Zoo! We are so glad you enjoyed your day and hope you come back again soon! Thanks for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

The zoo is pretty small but is very affordable and is very well done! Lots is packed into a small space. The animals seem very well cared for. It’s clean and great fun for families.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank 956angelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hello, Angel! Thank you for coming to visit the Hattiesburg Zoo! We appreciate your sweet review, and hope you will come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews