We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Small Zoo

Small but very clean and well planned. Great experience for all ages. Well planned for kids with... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
willieds
,
United States
Great place

Small zoo but staff is friendly and the grounds are maintained I was impressed for such a small zoo... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
David P
via mobile
Read all 254 reviews
  
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
155
69
23
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
69
23
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train ride splash pad small children ropes course merry go round small town cool off perfect size playground area well worth the price couple of hours a great place to spend animals seem enjoyed our visit new orleans great price concession stand
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Was really hot that day. Most animals had found any available shade trying to stay cool and could not be seen - understandable. Zoo was clean and well kept. Employees were pleasant. My wife had a slot experience which made the visit great. Good place for families. Admission was very reasonable.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

While on a road trip to New Orleans, we intended to visit a couple museums in Hatttiesburg, but discovered none of them were open on Sundays (this particular Sunday happened to be Mother's Day, but they are closed each Sunday). Even the visitor's center is closed on Sundays! So, we looked at our AAA guidebook and plugged the zoo into the GPS. At least it was open and what a delight it turned out to be.

The cost is negligible, even with the train ride around the park. My wife thought the animals were very well displayed and cared for, the surroundings of each enclosure similar to their homes in the wild she wrote.

Yes, it is just a small zoo, but we were there for over 2 hours. There is a lot to see despite its size and it is well laid out. Children especially should enjoy it.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Small zoo, but very friendly staff. Perfect for an afternoon or half-day outing. My niece had a great time.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank M2458TMcarrieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed looking at the animals. I like the size of the zoo. You can see the entire zoo in 1-2 hours. The price is reasonable -$5 per person. The kids enjoyed the play areas and the train. They really liked the Splash Pad to cool off. We had a great time!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank mjb282003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi! Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you were able to bring your family and enjoy your day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Perfect size for a quick trip or you can rent a cabana and stay all day. Great burgers in the snack cafe, too!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Cherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi, Cherry! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are thrilled to hear that you took advantage of our cabana rentals! They are the perfect place to cool off and hang out! It's nice to hear how we are doing at Safari Grill, too! We hope you come again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews