We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice treat”
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We visited the restaurant on the jetty for lunch. What a brilliant day. Nice to sit in the sun with a great bottle of wine, a fantastic lunch, in the sun with friends. The duck meal was very good! Need to get there by boat - which adds to the coast if you are getting a water taxi, but a nice day out for a treat.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pipi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback and for joining us in the Bight Cafe, where you literally do sit over the water enjoying a lovely meal and glass of wine as nature unfolds in front of you.
We have recently changed our menu in readiness for a really busy Summer season so you must call back and let us know your thoughts. We welcome all our locals and visitors to the Bight Cafe and enjoy sharing a story or two along the way.
Look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Wow what can I say! This place should be on your bucket list. I have been home in Australia 3 weeks now and planning when we can go back again.
The hospitality you receive at the resort is the best we have ever encountered.
The apartments have absolutely everything you need for your stay. The bed is lush!
The regular service of your room by the aka ‘room fairies’ - amazing!
The food and wine - wow my mouth waters thinking about it!
The views, the walks,nature, sunrises and sunsets - breathtaking.
Graeme - top host! - thank you for everything!
This is the best 5 Star luxury accommodation that I have stayed in. A hidden gem! Do yourself a favour and experience this yourself. We will be back and look forward to doing it all again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PappsDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

That has to be the first time I have heard the reference 'Room Fairies", but they certainly are aren't they. The teams aim here at the Bay of Many Coves Resort is to make you feel as relaxed and comfortable as we possibly can, so you can enjoy the uninterrupted beauty that is the Marlborough Sounds and we just want to make that experience as memorable as possible.
Thank you for your kind words about our team and of your visit - we are enormously proud of each and every one of them - all of whom play their part in making your stay an enjoyable one.
Whilst it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us, it will be an even greater pleasure to welcome you back. Till next time . . . . ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This secluded resort reachable only by boat (water taxi from Picton or private boat) or helicopter, is a lovely retreat from the rest of the world. Rooms are small apartments complete with kitchenette and lovely window walls overlooking the bay. There's a swimming pool and kayaks plus some trails for the ambitious ones or you an just relax. I found the staff here to be some of the friendliest anywhere. Chef Fran gave us our arrival tour of the property and Philip and the young French woman who served us dinner were helpful, friendly, and happy to chat. Breakfast and lunch are served in Kumage and both were excellent--a continental breakfast that included bits of ham, cheese and smoked salmon along with toast and a croissant plus a lovely fish and chips at noon are hard to beat. A super place!

Room Tip: We liked 101 which has no one above or below you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bi-coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for recognising our wonderful team here at the Bay of Many Coves Resort - all of whom are passionate about ensuring you have a comforting stay and all of whom we are immensely proud of.
We boast an enviable reputation for our food at he resort - arguably the very best dining experience in Marlborough, with views to die for from our Foredeck Restaurant.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and more-so for choosing to stay with us at the Bay of Many Coves. We hope you will return some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed here for a couple of nights. There are a few ways to reach BOMC - swim is one, take the Cougar Line Water Taxi, or land by helicopter if you want to pay for a dramatic and quick trip. It's simply spectacular. Rooms are luxurious individual cabins, though the word "cabin" doesn't do them justice. Each has a fabulous view of the bay. The food is excellent thanks to a really good chef. The service is outstanding. You can hike or swim or boat or kayak or just read and veg. I like to veg now and then and this is a seriously good vegging place. If you can't sleep in MOBC's comfy beds after a day of activity or reading or general vegging, well, it may be hopeless. You may just have to try again the next day. Eventually you'll get this "away from the grid" thing down and you'll be really happy you did, if only for a few days.

Room Tip: I didn't see any bad room. They all looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words following your stay here at the Bay of Many Coves Resort. You have summed up some of the great activities you an enjoy during your stay, like the water craft and the swimming - but a 'cruise and walk' up the Marlborough Sounds and onto the Queen Charlotte Track, or maybe a nature trek onto Motuara Island, our fabulous 'predator free' bird sanctuary - or maybe a wine trip to one of Marlborough's 140 vineyards could take your fancy - there is certainly plenty to do.
We loved having you stay with us and would love to welcome you back again some day.
Nga Mihi and kind wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed several nights at the Bay. It is an ocean oasis - the staff, accommodations, food and setting are superb.

Every room has gorgeous views of the Sound.

Lots of hiking, kayaking, swimming available as well as a day spa. Or you can just do nothing and relax, listening to the many birds around the property.

If you want to detox from the world, please go here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Every room does boast uninterrupted views across Arthur's Bay here at he Bay of Many Coves Resort and I am so glad that this view has resonated with you, as it truly is fabulous. We are excited to have Ingrith, our wonderful spa therapist back with us again for 2017/18 and she has already soothed the pains of many guests here at he resort.
Thank you so much for staying with us and also for writing these kind words. We hope to welcome you back again some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
12.6 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
13.6 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
39.3 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
7.1 km away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
353 reviews
37 km away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range: $820 - $2,235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing