We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
324
47
18
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
324
47
18
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi queen charlotte track new zealand marlborough sounds degustation dinner floor to ceiling windows very special place spa treatments food and wine motuara island star resort hot tub row boat stunning location slice of heaven bird song one bedroom apartment
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Wow what can I say! This place should be on your bucket list. I have been home in Australia 3 weeks now and planning when we can go back again.
The hospitality you receive at the resort is the best we have ever encountered.
The apartments have absolutely everything you need for your stay. The bed is lush!
The regular service of your room by the aka ‘room fairies’ - amazing!
The food and wine - wow my mouth waters thinking about it!
The views, the walks,nature, sunrises and sunsets - breathtaking.
Graeme - top host! - thank you for everything!
This is the best 5 Star luxury accommodation that I have stayed in. A hidden gem! Do yourself a favour and experience this yourself. We will be back and look forward to doing it all again!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PappsDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

That has to be the first time I have heard the reference 'Room Fairies", but they certainly are aren't they. The teams aim here at the Bay of Many Coves Resort is to make you feel as relaxed and comfortable as we possibly can, so you can enjoy the uninterrupted beauty that is the Marlborough Sounds and we just want to make that experience as memorable as possible.
Thank you for your kind words about our team and of your visit - we are enormously proud of each and every one of them - all of whom play their part in making your stay an enjoyable one.
Whilst it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us, it will be an even greater pleasure to welcome you back. Till next time . . . . ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This secluded resort reachable only by boat (water taxi from Picton or private boat) or helicopter, is a lovely retreat from the rest of the world. Rooms are small apartments complete with kitchenette and lovely window walls overlooking the bay. There's a swimming pool and kayaks plus some trails for the ambitious ones or you an just relax. I found the staff here to be some of the friendliest anywhere. Chef Fran gave us our arrival tour of the property and Philip and the young French woman who served us dinner were helpful, friendly, and happy to chat. Breakfast and lunch are served in Kumage and both were excellent--a continental breakfast that included bits of ham, cheese and smoked salmon along with toast and a croissant plus a lovely fish and chips at noon are hard to beat. A super place!

Room tip: We liked 101 which has no one above or below you.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bi-coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for recognising our wonderful team here at the Bay of Many Coves Resort - all of whom are passionate about ensuring you have a comforting stay and all of whom we are immensely proud of.
We boast an enviable reputation for our food at he resort - arguably the very best dining experience in Marlborough, with views to die for from our Foredeck Restaurant.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and more-so for choosing to stay with us at the Bay of Many Coves. We hope you will return some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed here for a couple of nights. There are a few ways to reach BOMC - swim is one, take the Cougar Line Water Taxi, or land by helicopter if you want to pay for a dramatic and quick trip. It's simply spectacular. Rooms are luxurious individual cabins, though the word "cabin" doesn't do them justice. Each has a fabulous view of the bay. The food is excellent thanks to a really good chef. The service is outstanding. You can hike or swim or boat or kayak or just read and veg. I like to veg now and then and this is a seriously good vegging place. If you can't sleep in MOBC's comfy beds after a day of activity or reading or general vegging, well, it may be hopeless. You may just have to try again the next day. Eventually you'll get this "away from the grid" thing down and you'll be really happy you did, if only for a few days.

Room tip: I didn't see any bad room. They all looked great.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words following your stay here at the Bay of Many Coves Resort. You have summed up some of the great activities you an enjoy during your stay, like the water craft and the swimming - but a 'cruise and walk' up the Marlborough Sounds and onto the Queen Charlotte Track, or maybe a nature trek onto Motuara Island, our fabulous 'predator free' bird sanctuary - or maybe a wine trip to one of Marlborough's 140 vineyards could take your fancy - there is certainly plenty to do.
We loved having you stay with us and would love to welcome you back again some day.
Nga Mihi and kind wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed several nights at the Bay. It is an ocean oasis - the staff, accommodations, food and setting are superb.

Every room has gorgeous views of the Sound.

Lots of hiking, kayaking, swimming available as well as a day spa. Or you can just do nothing and relax, listening to the many birds around the property.

If you want to detox from the world, please go here.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Every room does boast uninterrupted views across Arthur's Bay here at he Bay of Many Coves Resort and I am so glad that this view has resonated with you, as it truly is fabulous. We are excited to have Ingrith, our wonderful spa therapist back with us again for 2017/18 and she has already soothed the pains of many guests here at he resort.
Thank you so much for staying with us and also for writing these kind words. We hope to welcome you back again some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

From arriving we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was well equipped and had amazing views.

It's a tranquil place that just wants you to appreciate the quiet ambience and the surroundings. Even the rain didn't dampen our experience.

We did accept the peanut challenge and did walk to the viewpoint, I must admit I found it hard and glad we had the appropriate footwear as it was very wet and steep! The view was well worth it!

Graeme and Kim are the perfect hosts and very knowledgable about the area. Graeme offered to take us on a trip round the bay and we are so glad we did, we saw a variety of birds, a lazy seal who just posed for photos and then to top it all we had Hector dolphins swimming around the boat - amazing experience. Thanks Graeme.

The food and staff are also worth a mention. We had breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant and the chefs are amazing. Well worth having 5 course degustation menu, it was delicious! All the team are there to help but not in your face, just there if you need them.

It's definitely a luxury place but welcoming and not pretentious, we would definitely recommend if you want to chill and recharge your batteries!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrandMrsAckworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2017

Thanks so much guys for your review and for taking the time out to stay with us here at the Bay of Many Coves. I guess the thing that most people comment ion here is the peace and quiet and the tranquility of Arthur's Bay - not to mention the sensational food prepared by out team of award winning chefs.
Our trip around the bay was great - in fact it was the friendliest I have ever seen the Hector Dolphins. That was a real treat for me also. There is always an abundance of sea and bird-life in the bay - meaning there is always something to look at.
I am so glad our team were able to make you feel relaxed and welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back again some day soon.
PS: Thanks for sending the photos through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews