We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place, fabulous”
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Nothing but good words to say about this wonderful spot, despite it's taken me 3 months to post our comments! Such fabulous days doing nothing but relaxing, watching the world go by, a wonderful massage in the spa, a spin round the coves in the dingy, was that a seal or not? The most peaceful, relaxing place, so much so we could have stayed longer. Beautiful misty mornings, magical. Graham and Kim were the most attentive hosts, as were the staff. The food was amazing and although we were almost the only guests at the time (end of season) the standards did not fall. Highly recommend this spot and would hope we could revisit sometime.... soon please! Oh and Graham we haven't forgot your Poppy pin..lol x

Room Tip: The higher you go the bigger the view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 August 2017

Thank you so much Kathryn for this lovely review and may I say it was a delight to have you staying with us here at the Bay of Many Coves. I argue that perhaps the most amazing time to visit the resort is in fact during the shoulder of the high season and during the Winter months - where the winter days are still warm and sunny and the mist off Arthurs Bay giving that alluring sense of peace and tranquility. I enjoyed our chat about our ANZAC's, as it is always nice to speak to people who share in a passion for efforts of our brave soldiers of the past. I will wear my new poppy with pride next Anzac Day - you can be sure of that!
Thank you again for your kind words. Kim and I enjoyed our time with you and look forward to your return. "Fortes Fortuna Juvat".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights being absolutely spoiled by the team at Bay of Many Coves. The accomodation is beautifully fitted out and maintained. Each 'cabin' is separated enough from others to give you the impression of being the only ones there. We didn't visit at peak time but this was great because the weather was still beautiful while there were very few guests. The restaurant was magnificent with a daily change to the offerings which were impeccably prepared and presented. There are massages available in a very comfortable spa, water activities like kayaking and easy access to the Queen Charlotte track. Each morning we woke to the sight of seals swimming around in the bay. It is such a gorgeous peaceful place just brilliant for relaxing. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bronwen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2017

Thank you Bronwen for your wonderful feedback and we are so glad you and Norris chose to spend 3 days with us here at the Bay of Many Coves.
You highlighted a really good point and that is that the off season is indeed a fabulous time to stay at the resort. The weather is settled and the views are to die for - plus there is not a lot of people around so it is nice and peaceful.
We had a huge pod of dolphins just in front of the jetty this last week. You would have loved it!
Thanks again to you both for staying and sharing your experience with others. We would love to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Having grown up sailing in the Marlborough Sounds I may be a bit biased, but I think this is one of the most magical places on earth. Depending on time of year and your luck, from the luxurious comfort of the resort you may see orcas chasing stingrays, seals playing with octopus, dolphins showing off, large range of birds chasing fish, and delight in the sweet song of the local birds whilst constantly amused by the antics of the wekas roaming the resort like they own the place.
Graeme and Kim have recently taken over managing Bay of Many Coves and are the most wonderful hosts. This is luxury in the wilderness, beautiful suite accommodation a overlooking the gorgeous bay, and an amazing chef team showing off local produce and the best of the regional wines.
Bush walks and kayaking allow you to get up close and personal with the stunning beauty of the sounds, and Graeme, Kim, and the team can organise a large range of activities for you.
And whilst popular over the summer months, they are open all year round, take it from the local sailors, the sounds are at their most beautiful in winter, albeit a little chillier.
We stayed there whilst looking for a place to buy, can't wait to be neighbours and be stopping in regularly for "refreshments".
Cannot recommend Bay of Many Coves Resort highly enough.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2017

I cant help but agree with your bias as it truly is a magical place here at the Bay of Many Coves and we are very excited at the possibility of having you guys as our new 'neighbors'.
You are right in that whilst the Summer is spectacular in the Marlborough Sounds - the Winter is equally so with abundant wildlife, stunning birdsong and crisp nights.
As I sit here typing, the sun is coming up across the resort on what is going to be another spectacular Winters day. You have much to look forward to.
Thank you for your feedback and for the time you spent with us. We look forward to sharing a quiet one with you on your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We arrived after a boat trip if you have a car it is some what difficult to find a parking space I think the hotel should have a designated area for people who are leaving their cars on the mainland.
The owners were very welcoming the room was lovely with a welcome bottle of champagne in the package that we had paid for food staff and accommodation and surroundings were beautiful .
Would've liked to stayed for longer however we didn't have much time after our three week trip in New Zealand ;-)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank chalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us here at The Bay of Many Coves. Just to clarify one point for you - we do have signposted, complimentary car parking available in Picton for our guests. This is detailed in your booking confirmation email you would have received. I apologise if this was not highlighted clearly enough.
Hopefully when you return next time - it will be for longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Graeme and Kim and their great crew really know how to look after their guests. We stayed to celebrate a "significant" birthday and celebrate we did. The food was amazing and the 7 course degustation dinner was superb, especially matched with local wines, thanks Kitty! The activities are there IF you can tear yourself away from the tranquility of the views and bush. Graeme will go above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to kayaking, especially when launching. He can fill in the details...
A truly wonderful place that we will return to.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neilxrbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2017

Such kind words which we truly appreciate. I do hope you have recovered from your unexpected mid-winter 'swim'.
Kim and I are very proud of the resort and the team that work here. Perfect location, great food, fantastic staff - all makes for a fabulous holiday and I am so pleased we were able to deliver that for you both.
We are in the middle of finalising our 2017/18 activity programme, which includes some exciting new options - sounds like the perfect time to return, don't you think?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
12.6 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
13.6 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
9.8 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
667 reviews
7.1 km away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
354 reviews
37 km away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range: $812 - $2,389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing