We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay of Many Coves
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$127
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beachside Sunnyvale Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Picton Beachcomber Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel Picton(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Punga Cove Resort(Endeavour Inlet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
294
44
14
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
294
44
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taximarlborough soundsqueen charlotte tracknew zealanddegustation dinnerfloor to ceiling windowslady karenspa treatmentswine tastingmotuara islandvery special placestar resortpool and hot tubstunning locationwell worth the effortbird songpod of dolphins
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights being absolutely spoiled by the team at Bay of Many Coves. The accomodation is beautifully fitted out and maintained. Each 'cabin' is separated enough from others to give you the impression of being the only ones there. We didn't visit at peak time but this was great because the weather was still beautiful while there were very few guests. The restaurant was magnificent with a daily change to the offerings which were impeccably prepared and presented. There are massages available in a very comfortable spa, water activities like kayaking and easy access to the Queen Charlotte track. Each morning we woke to the sight of seals swimming around in the bay. It is such a gorgeous peaceful place just brilliant for relaxing. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bronwen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2017

Thank you Bronwen for your wonderful feedback and we are so glad you and Norris chose to spend 3 days with us here at the Bay of Many Coves.
You highlighted a really good point and that is that the off season is indeed a fabulous time to stay at the resort. The weather is settled and the views are to die for - plus there is not a lot of people around so it is nice and peaceful.
We had a huge pod of dolphins just in front of the jetty this last week. You would have loved it!
Thanks again to you both for staying and sharing your experience with others. We would love to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Having grown up sailing in the Marlborough Sounds I may be a bit biased, but I think this is one of the most magical places on earth. Depending on time of year and your luck, from the luxurious comfort of the resort you may see orcas chasing stingrays, seals playing with octopus, dolphins showing off, large range of birds chasing fish, and delight in the sweet song of the local birds whilst constantly amused by the antics of the wekas roaming the resort like they own the place.
Graeme and Kim have recently taken over managing Bay of Many Coves and are the most wonderful hosts. This is luxury in the wilderness, beautiful suite accommodation a overlooking the gorgeous bay, and an amazing chef team showing off local produce and the best of the regional wines.
Bush walks and kayaking allow you to get up close and personal with the stunning beauty of the sounds, and Graeme, Kim, and the team can organise a large range of activities for you.
And whilst popular over the summer months, they are open all year round, take it from the local sailors, the sounds are at their most beautiful in winter, albeit a little chillier.
We stayed there whilst looking for a place to buy, can't wait to be neighbours and be stopping in regularly for "refreshments".
Cannot recommend Bay of Many Coves Resort highly enough.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2017

I cant help but agree with your bias as it truly is a magical place here at the Bay of Many Coves and we are very excited at the possibility of having you guys as our new 'neighbors'.
You are right in that whilst the Summer is spectacular in the Marlborough Sounds - the Winter is equally so with abundant wildlife, stunning birdsong and crisp nights.
As I sit here typing, the sun is coming up across the resort on what is going to be another spectacular Winters day. You have much to look forward to.
Thank you for your feedback and for the time you spent with us. We look forward to sharing a quiet one with you on your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We arrived after a boat trip if you have a car it is some what difficult to find a parking space I think the hotel should have a designated area for people who are leaving their cars on the mainland.
The owners were very welcoming the room was lovely with a welcome bottle of champagne in the package that we had paid for food staff and accommodation and surroundings were beautiful .
Would've liked to stayed for longer however we didn't have much time after our three week trip in New Zealand ;-)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank chalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us here at The Bay of Many Coves. Just to clarify one point for you - we do have signposted, complimentary car parking available in Picton for our guests. This is detailed in your booking confirmation email you would have received. I apologise if this was not highlighted clearly enough.
Hopefully when you return next time - it will be for longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Graeme and Kim and their great crew really know how to look after their guests. We stayed to celebrate a "significant" birthday and celebrate we did. The food was amazing and the 7 course degustation dinner was superb, especially matched with local wines, thanks Kitty! The activities are there IF you can tear yourself away from the tranquility of the views and bush. Graeme will go above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to kayaking, especially when launching. He can fill in the details...
A truly wonderful place that we will return to.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neilxrbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2017

Such kind words which we truly appreciate. I do hope you have recovered from your unexpected mid-winter 'swim'.
Kim and I are very proud of the resort and the team that work here. Perfect location, great food, fantastic staff - all makes for a fabulous holiday and I am so pleased we were able to deliver that for you both.
We are in the middle of finalising our 2017/18 activity programme, which includes some exciting new options - sounds like the perfect time to return, don't you think?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We would like to say a huge thanks to Graeme and Kim and their amazing staff for their incredible service and hospitality they provided over our two night stay at Bay of Many Coves.
We rocked up out of the bush at Bay of Many Coves early afternoon from the Queen Charlotte track, no sooner had we sat down on the deck of the Kurmatage Restaurant overlooking the water to rest our weary legs, We were enthusiastically met by Graeme and Kim.
Within minutes we had glasses of wine in our hands and were enjoying the view and feeling completely at home.
What an amazing, relaxing place, the incredibly attentive staff, the view, the authentic bush setting and amazing bird life!
We were also lucky enough to get a personal Sauvignon Blanc tasting on our second night pre dinner, which was entertaining, and went down very well, thanks Graeme!
Special mention must also go to the incredible team of young chefs they have on board,
The food was amazing, these guys deserve a Michelin star at the very least!
P.S.
A very special place that I would be very happy to recommend to anyone!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 June 2017

It was our absolute pleasure to spend time with you both Alan and as usual - sad to have to say goodbye. It is great to welcome guests who have walked down from the Queen Charlotte track - and the glass of wine is certainly the only way to start your stay here at the Bay of Many Coves.
Our Sauvignon Blanc tasting is something that we offer all guests here at the resort, as it showcases 2 of Marlborough's finest Savvy's and lets you understand the impact the weather and land extremities have on these wines. So glad you enjoyed it!
We remain enormously proud of Fran, Steve and Nick in the kitchen. They are indeed a world class team of chefs and are well complimented by an equally outstanding front of house team in Kate and Kitty.
Don't take too long to come back will you Alan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews