We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful (albeit belated) family Christmas...”
other travellers have booked this property
Lupine Lodge on Lake Superior in June
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lupine Lodge on Lake Superior in June
Living Room w/ gas fireplace View from Day Hill trail at Split Rock Lighthouse State Park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Lupine Lodge on Lake Superior in June
Living Room w/ gas fireplace
View from Day Hill trail at Split Rock Lighthouse State Park
View from the Bike Trail towards Lupine Lodge
The woods open up--Day Hill, Split Rock Lighthouse State Park
Oldenburg Point, Jay Cooke State Park
Tidal Pools at Split Rock Lighthouse State Park
Master Bedroom:  queen bed
Northwoods Room:  queen log bed
Sunflower Room:  double bed
Sunflower Room:  double bed
Lighthouse Room:  double bed & crib
View of the Lake
Downstairs bath & shower
Kitchen w/ center island & double oven
Dining Area w/ lake view
Living Room/Dining Area
Living Room w/ gas fireplace
The screen house is up for the summer
Early spring sunrise from the seawall
Waves crash on the boulder-strewn shore
March sunrise view from the seawall
Pebbled beaches at Tettegouche, Gooseberry and Splitrock
Fishing on the Gooseberry River (9 mi. south)
Gooseberry Falls (9 mi. south) spring thaw in April
Gooseberry River's rapids
Upper Falls at Gooseberry State Park (9 mi. south)
Beaver River falls (3 mi. north)
Split Rock Lighthouse State Park (2.3 mi. south)
Split Rock Lighthouse State Park (2.3 mi. south)
Split Rock Lighthouse (2.3 mi. south)
Split Rock Lighthouse State Park (2.3 mi. south)
Split Rock Lighthouse Keeper's Station (2.3 mi. south)
Split Rock Lighthouse (2.3 mi. south)
Gooseberry Falls swimmin' hole (9 mi. south)
Gooseberry Falls in summer (9 mi. south)
Middle Falls at Gooseberry State Park (9 mi. south)
Arch at Tettegouche frames Shovel Point at Tettegouche State Park (9 mi. north)
Winter sunrise at Tettegouche State Park (9 mi. north)
Tettegouche State Park in summer (9 mi. north)
Sunrise at the beach at Tettegouche State Park (9 mi. north)
Arch from the beach at Tettegouche State Park (9 mi. north)
Arch at Tettegouche State Park (9 mi. north)
Looking south from Shovel Point trail at Tettegouche State Park (9 mi. north)
Looking north from Shovel Point at Tettegouche State Park (9 mi. north)
View from Shovel Point trail at Tettegouche State Park (9 mi. north)
Shovel Point at Tettegouche State Park (9 mi. north)
Split Rock LIghthouse lit at night (2.3 mi. south)
Split Rock Lighthouse lit at dusk (2.3 mi. south)
Jay Cooke State Park (1:15 min. south) stop here on the way up north
Jay Cooke State Park (1:15 min. south) stop here on the way up north
Fall Color from Mt. Oberg
Mt. Oberg loop trail in fall
Mt. Oberg near Onion River in fall (1 hr. north)
St. Louis River, Jay Cooke State Park
St. Louis River rapids, Jay Cooke State Park
Oldenburg Point, Jay Cooke State Park
Iona's Beach, Twin Points, Gooseberry Falls State Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Two Harbors, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ArkansasT...
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful (albeit belated) family Christmas Celebration”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I am not sure who would consider traveling north of Two Harbors, Minnesota in mid-January; but this is our third year -- and Lupine Lodge continues to be the perfect destination for our belated family Christmas celebrations. The warm comfort of this four bedroom, lake-front home -- complete with it's captivating gas fireplace -- affords us the ideal setting for opening gifts and gab. And the large kitchen -- just off of the dining room -- gives us room for 8 or more around the well-worn table. Of course there is the minus 18 degree January weather (and that long, steep drive); but Betty's Pies was still within reach; and the sun was still shining. So God willing, we will make that winter trek again in 2019. We can also add that property owners Rick and Kris could not have been more accommodating -- both before, during and after our stay.....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiSier...
1 review
“Amazing location and views!”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have been coming to the Lupine Lodge for a few years. We just love the North Shore. Rick is such a great guy and responds to questions and concerns right away! We can't wait until our next trip to Lupine Lodge!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elctrk
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lupine Is a Great Place to Stay on the North Shore”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lupine worked out great for us and the 4 of our kids we stayed with. The home is very comfortable and easy to relax in. Some of us have some food allergies, so we wanted a place with a full kitchen to prepare our meals, and that worked out great. The large kitchen is fully stocked with dishes and pans, etc. The gas grill was out of propane. No problem - Rick another full tank in the garage and I was grillin' (dinner) & chillin" (with a cold brew) in a couple minutes.

The views of the lake are great, with the Apostle Islands visible on clear days. We saw several freighters over the week, made easier to see with the binoculars. We had fires several nights down by the sea wall.

It takes a good week to explore the north shore. You just can't go wrong with any of the state parks, so many beautiful water falls.

I brought my own home brew, but couldn't resist a growler of stout from Castle Danger in Two harbors. A full sized pint glass is the only thing the kitchen was missing, and I'd thought about bringing my own up, too, but didn't.

Lupine would be a great place to spend Thanksgiving weekend. We took a vote and it was 5 to 1 in favor, but Ma's vote was the only one against so I'm not sure it will happen. With two ovens in the kitchen and 4 bedrooms, a good sized family could easily be accommodated.

WiFi was reliable, and the land line has free calls in the US. So if it's rainy you can call the bowling alley in Silver Bay or Two Harbors to find out of they're open.

One or two minor issues came up, but Rick was readily available by phone and very helpful. Other than the pint beer glass, the only improvement I can think of is a butler.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateRose7...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get!”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I spent the weekend at the lupine lodge with 5 other girls and a baby to celebrate our friend who is getting married. Rick was very responsive in booking the weekend at lupine lodge and kindly provided necessary information such as directions, ideas for activities and much more. Lupine lodge was easy to locate and was nested right off of Highway 61. Upon arriving, I was very impressed with the home as it looked almost identical to the pictures. The two-story home was well stocked with everything we needed, including kitchen items, towels, games, etc. There was a crib and high-chair in the house and a lovely screen gazebo seating area, which came in handy for the one buggy evening we had. The house was situated right on the lake and we spent a lot of time outside at the house. The lodge is near split rock lighthouse and nine miles from the falls. I highly recommend staying at the lupine lodge! Like many reviewers, I also wish we had another full day to spend at the lodge. I certainly would return here again with friends, family or my significant other. Thank you very much for a wonderful experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the lake and the spaciousness of the home.
Liked least: Occasionally you could hear a car drive by off highway 61.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmcdonald...
Anoka, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet....very relaxing!”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (as a group) have gone up to Lupine Lodge as an annual event. We have such a good time that come Feb-March, we start getting phone calls about the next weekend there! I think next time we are talking about staying a week. Great place for family an friends. No cell service (ify with Verizon in house but no problem up on highway) but nice to get away from that too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Could use more wood. Would be nice to be able to buy a cord.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing